Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars American army 1#
Ok but good
Very interesting and the action bit I think was the the beast bit had the sudden action
Published 16 months ago by Cameron Moore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a review for #1 - 8 of this Kindle magazine.
The America Army series isn't something I'd come across before. I was aware of the game as a sort of online recruitment drive; in the Last Starfighter mould of things. So the comics shouldn't really have been a surprise.
Despite being a veiled recruitment magazine they aren't as "gung ho" and "Murcan" as I was expecting, the American Army has...
Published 2 months ago by Goatboy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars This is a review for #1 - 8 of this Kindle magazine., 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Army #1 - Knowledge is Power (America's Army) (Kindle Edition)
The America Army series isn't something I'd come across before. I was aware of the game as a sort of online recruitment drive; in the Last Starfighter mould of things. So the comics shouldn't really have been a surprise.
Despite being a veiled recruitment magazine they aren't as "gung ho" and "Murcan" as I was expecting, the American Army has obviously put a bit of thought into the product and prevented it becoming the "cheese-fest" I was expecting.
The story telling was reasonably well paced, giving a mix of background and action in each issue while building up to the main arc point of the story.
The art work was average, but then I've rarely found a war comic where it was excellent. Just think of all those "Commando" comics you've ploughed through.
My one bug bear is the lettering. On the 7inch Kindle screen while the main speech bubbles are readable, the background plot boxes are fuzzy and faint. This may be some sort of rendering problem, but it's darn annoying. (It's not as pronounced when I read it on my laptop). The only other negative point is that it's like a straight photocopy, some graphic novels allow you to either zoom in or rotate the screen to allow you to get a better idea of the art work or flow of the action, this doesn't, so double landscape pages are shrunk into a single portrait sized one making them pretty unreadable.
These first 8 issues were free and though I enjoyed reading something new I don't know if I'll be shelling out hard cash to keep up with the later issues.
Give them a swirl though and see what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American army 1#, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Army #1 - Knowledge is Power (America's Army) (Kindle Edition)
Ok but good
Very interesting and the action bit I think was the the beast bit had the sudden action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Army #1 - Knowledge is Power (America's Army) (Kindle Edition)
this is a good comic with very good art. It will keep you gripped from start to finish. very very well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Army #1 - Knowledge is Power (America's Army) (Kindle Edition)
This comic kept you gripped from the start with action and more action. I would recommend this comic to anyone for a thirst for army action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No, I don't hate it, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
R. Higgins "Electronically challenged" (Shropshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Army #1 - Knowledge is Power (America's Army) (Kindle Edition)
Actually, this never delivered for some reason. Being as it was a Kindle book I'm not bothered. Just seemed to be a good book to read, never got the chance. So, the 1 star is because I need to put something up there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No no no, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Army #1 - Knowledge is Power (America's Army) (Kindle Edition)
This book is a recruitment drive for the U.S. army. It stars Tom Cruise, Tom Hanks, Zac Effron, Marty McFly and Eminem. It's paler than pale. And none of those people are in it. Drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Army #1 - Knowledge is Power (America's Army) (Kindle Edition)
Looks like the grunts can at least tell a good story in addition to stopping bullets. Good story and writing, good art, worth the download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Army #1 - Knowledge is Power (America's Army) (Kindle Edition)
I think the comic was a bit hard to read overall it's a good book for children and adults I'll give it a three star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, not my kind of thing tho. ..., 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Army #1 - Knowledge is Power (America's Army) (Kindle Edition)
It's ok, not my kind of thing tho. It's very USA but being British it was a bit pro gun for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America's Army #1 - Knowledge is Power (America's Army) (Kindle Edition)
Rubbish American army marketing content. Not impressed. It may suit the taste of others though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews