Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know what you're getting into and you'll get a LOT of value from this book
Having recently finished my first pass on this excellent book I thought I'd post a review for it on Amazon.

I was very surprised and confused by the mediocre rating.

Then I read the existing reviews and the issue became clearer to me. In short people are rating it down as it's thin on explanations and mostly focuses on the code for how to get stuff...
Published 12 months ago by Kostas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book, if your looking for a few heads up.
I like this book, its brief, to the point, the author doesn't spend pointless paragraphs driveling on about stuff just to make up the page count. I learned some new things from this one, and isn't that what a book is supposed to do, teach you, to advance you further.
All the code is in C# and thats a big plus with me, the recipes are good, I particularly liked...
Published 12 months ago by Wizberry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know what you're getting into and you'll get a LOT of value from this book, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Unity 4.X Cookbook (Paperback)
Having recently finished my first pass on this excellent book I thought I'd post a review for it on Amazon.

I was very surprised and confused by the mediocre rating.

Then I read the existing reviews and the issue became clearer to me. In short people are rating it down as it's thin on explanations and mostly focuses on the code for how to get stuff done.

While I understand how that might be a problem for some, for me it was the BEST property of this book. Far too often you come across books where you just want to get to the practical meaty stuff and instead you have to wade through self explanatory description after description only for your mind to be completely numb by the time you get to what you need (or worse, give up and never get to it!)

So yeah to just give you the important gist (exactly as the author of this book does!) you should

GET THIS BOOK IF

- You have intermediate (or higher) knowledge of C#
- You have messed around with Unity a little bit (and I really mean a little bit, you really don't need to be an expert user like some of the other reviews seem to suggest, just understand the basic objects of gameobjects, components and achieving simple tasks in the Unity editor)
- You are familiar with basic games development concepts, maybe have used another engine in the past and you just need to understand quickly, practically and with real world examples how Unity specifically achieves certain tasks

DO NOT GET THIS BOOK IF

- You have absolutely no prior knowledge of C#
- You don't have any familiarity with very basic Unity concepts
- You have not done ANY games dev in the past and you're looking for your first book to introduce you to the field (this is not it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book, if your looking for a few heads up., 19 July 2013
This review is from: Unity 4.X Cookbook (Paperback)
I like this book, its brief, to the point, the author doesn't spend pointless paragraphs driveling on about stuff just to make up the page count. I learned some new things from this one, and isn't that what a book is supposed to do, teach you, to advance you further.
All the code is in C# and thats a big plus with me, the recipes are good, I particularly liked chapters 5 about the mechanim, and chapter 9 which is giving me some heads up about AI. You will need to be able to code in C# if you wish to understand the code as it's not documented, but the author does explain what each recipe and the corresponding code is doing.
Over all I like this book, and will use it as a companion to Unity, it's not meant to teach you Unity, it's meant to solve coding problems you may have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unity 4.X Cookbook (Paperback)
Contary to the description, this is not a beginners book nor a book to help you learn Unity. It is a collection of techniques and code to do certain things in Unity. Personally, I'm finding it useful, but it should be a supplement, not your only book. The By Example and Beginners Guide books are better suited for a tutorial.
But if you know the basics of Unity, this will be useful...if the sort of thing you want is covered in the contents page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book. Provides a number of solutions to problems, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unity 4.X Cookbook (Paperback)
Brilliant book. Provides a number of solutions to problems. If you have every though how do I do that, it will probably been in here. The book doesn't waffle or blow smoke it just gets on with it and you will need a good understanding of C#.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good text but, the lack of detail makes it hard to follow for anyone who isn't already a Unity 4 programmer, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unity 4.x Cookbook (Kindle Edition)
This book covers various techniques and features that you can implement in your own games. It isn't a teach you programming book though and assumes you already own and use Unity 4. Buy this if you are just looking for inspiration for your Unity game but, if that is the case then you'll likely want to pick up "A book of lenses" instead as that will serve your creative mind, no matter what game or language you are working on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it!, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unity 4.X Cookbook (Paperback)
Being new to Unity and having read the contents, it seemed like this book was going to be really useful and help me implement some of the things I'm trying to do. Unfortunately, it is the exact opposite.

Every topic is introduced with :

Download our example,
Modify these settings
Type this code
Done.

There is no explanation of the theory, no explanation of how or why they set their example up how they did, or how you could set it up, no explanation of what the code does and there are no comments in the code, all you get is their solution to a problem with absolutely no explanation of how, when, where or why, and no way to modify it to suit your own needs.

If they had included a few pages of the theory behind each project and then annotated their code so you could understand what was happening and why, this could have been a really good book. As it is, if you don't know how to do any of these things, then you still won't have a clue after following their "recipes". If you can follow the "recipes" and know how it all worked and why, then you more than likely have absolutely no use for this book in the first place.

All in all, don't waste your money, because the chances are, a 12 year old has made a youTube video that will explain what you want to know, and they'll do it a hell of a lot better than these authors have.

Very Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unity 4.x Cookbook
Unity 4.x Cookbook by Chico Queiroz
14.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews