Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
Never seemed to be able to obtain a book, particularly a concise publication, on this war. I have previously purchased a number of History in an Hour publications, and found them interesting, and a good starting point for further reading on the topics dealt with. When I saw that this book was going to be published, I bought it straight away, and have thoroughly enjoyed...
Published 12 months ago by John Reddish

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very informative
For such a relatively unknown event this was very a informative "one hour's" worth. Add's meaning to all the issues the west have with all the "Kim" North Korean leaders.
Published 13 months ago by drew steele


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 13 Dec 2013
By 
John Reddish (Shardlow, Derbyshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Korean War: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Never seemed to be able to obtain a book, particularly a concise publication, on this war. I have previously purchased a number of History in an Hour publications, and found them interesting, and a good starting point for further reading on the topics dealt with. When I saw that this book was going to be published, I bought it straight away, and have thoroughly enjoyed the account it gives on the historical background to Korea, why and how it became a divided nation and the background to the war itself. Detail on the conflict dealt with in less detail than a dedicated military publication would, but this book gets across well the general futility and stalemate of this war. Good appendices on detail aspects of main events and protagonists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of a book!, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Korean War: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
This is a great little book for those that know very little about the Korean War or for those that need a quick and accurate refresher on the topic. It is actually very accurate in its content, well written and a very enjoyable read. It gives you a very concise overview of the military and political context of the war along with the main campaigns, battles and offensives and much more. I will be keeping an eye out for more such books from Mr Mulholland. Excellent little book, buy that man a pint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Korean War: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent introduction for those new to the subject. The political, social and military dynamics of this critical episode in world history are clearly explained in a very readable style. Highly recommended, I look forward to Andrew Mulholland's next publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars korean war, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Korean War: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
very interesting history book downloaded to my kindle with a few problems, one of the many books that i hold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Korean War in one hour., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Korean War: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Clearly factual and well written. We lost a boy from our village in this conflict. Easy now to visualize the horrors he faced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what says on the tin., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Korean War: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
A good informative read about the basics of The Korean War. Having only read this on the conflict, I have no comparison to other material but it seems to provide a good basis from which to start further reading / research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very informative, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Korean War: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
For such a relatively unknown event this was very a informative "one hour's" worth. Add's meaning to all the issues the west have with all the "Kim" North Korean leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Give a break down, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Korean War: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Gives a good break down of what happened and why and an understanding of why it was important it's easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good primer on the Korean War, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Korean War: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
For those that know little about this war, it is an excellent primer. Concise and written in easy to follow language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incisive, informative and interesting 5 stars, 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Korean War: History in an Hour (Kindle Edition)
Andrew Mullholland has done a masterful job of condensing a complex and significant war, that many are less familair with in to so short a space. he is right to emphasise it's importance as a 'limited war' during the era of superpower clashes and the tensions that existsed around U.S. political control of an occasionally gun-ho military.

Even in such a short space Mullholland revealed new insights to me such as the implications for and by regional powers such as China and Japan as well as some of the extreme drama of the military conflict itself. His description of the military aspects of the war is the standout achievement of this book being done with the deft skill of someone who really knows their stuff.

It would be excellent to see more from this author on other less well-known wars, such as the Malaya campaign, Boer war or even the US Civil War, something I have always wanted a primer on and have never found an adequate one up to the task. More like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Korean War: History in an Hour
£1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews