Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.85
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2000
11 year old Cherry is finding life very difficult. Her English teacher has suggested that her class keep diaries and this is the form in which we hear about Cherry's daily upheavals; her friendship with Melanie Skinner, the Skinny Melon of the title, her battle with the appalling quality of school food, her desperate wish for a dog but mostly her incomprehension as to what her mother can possibly see in her new husband, Roland Butter or 'Slime.' The book is wonderfully illustrated by Cherry and Slime, who in an attempt to win Cherry's friendship sends her postcards written in symbols. Will Slime's clever wheeze win through, will Cherry get a dog, will you be able to decipher the symbols? Read this book, it will make you laugh through the writing as well as the illustrations. Suitable KS2/KS3.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
I loved this book as it was not boring and it had a lot of interesting ways to draw you into it as of the code writing! I would reccomend this book to kids because once you start to read it you can't put it down! Im only ten but this was by far one of the best books I have read! I am quite a bookworm and I love to read Jean Ure's books! A really good read I'd buy it NOW if I were u!!!! :D xx
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
I was in awe with this book when I read it
as it was the first Jean ure book I ever
read. I loved de-coding roland butter's
messages and especially loved the
'please don't eat us.' sign with the animals
underneath and from now on jean ure is
strictly my favourite author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Have just read, albeit a few pages of this book with a 10 year old. It was a section that spoke first of all about photos of people 'starkers', OK, but then the next page referred to this calling the photo's 'porno'. Is it really necessary to talk about porno photo's in a children's book?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2000
Cherry's mum marries Roland Butter, much to Cherry's embarrassment. He dosn't believe in cars, he's allergic to dogs, he draws elves for a living and he keeps leaving stupid notes under Cherry's door at night. Then, when things couldn't get worse, Cherry's mum has another little suprise for her. So, we find out all about Roland, Cherry's mum, Cherry's best friend, Cherry, school lunches and elves in Cherry's diary!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
Arrived very quickly as usual well packaged, my daughter loves these books and was very happy with this she read it in no time and i will be looking for more soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
This is a brill book i loved it. My favourite character was Cherry. I really want to know what the baby is called and whether it's a boy or a girl. Read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2007
This was a great book to teach. The whole class enjoyed it, and had fun decoding Roly's messages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2005
This book is really good, with clever pictures and code language! It's really funny and I recommend it to pre-/teens!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Quite sweet and it was a bit long but overall it is a great book! ! ! ! ! !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.