Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stone Book Quartet by Alan Garner
This is an intriguing and imaginative book, which follows four generations of the same family. In each generation, a child/teenager has a "defining" moment when they find or experience something which shapes their future. As always with Garner's writing, the interconnected stories are placed strongly in their place and time. Highly recommended.
Published on 16 April 2009 by Ms. Sue Bennett

versus
1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reasonably good book
I expected to enjoy this book as ti was written by Alan Garner - but was slightly disappointed. If you go in with no expectations,you will enjopy it.
Published on 2 Feb. 2009 by E. J. Gregory


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stone Book Quartet by Alan Garner, 16 April 2009
By 
Ms. Sue Bennett (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an intriguing and imaginative book, which follows four generations of the same family. In each generation, a child/teenager has a "defining" moment when they find or experience something which shapes their future. As always with Garner's writing, the interconnected stories are placed strongly in their place and time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The heart of Garner, 14 Dec. 2010
By 
ARD13 (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is perhaps Alan Garner's defining masterpiece. He has moved on from his early plot-led fantasies and in these jewel-like miniatures, almost prose poems, he has found a way to concentrate on language and atmosphere without being as impenetrable as his later novels.

Is it all about craftsmanship? Is it about continuity through the generations? Does it have to be about anything? To me it sounds like the voice of his native land, expressing what his people are. Sometimes I felt that a glossary would have been helpful, but on reflection it would have detracted from the immersion in the lives that he describes.

This PS edition (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) includes some helpful ancillary material, including an interview with the author and suggested further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectly my favourite Garner book so far, 9 Jan. 2011
By 
P. J. Dunn "Peter Dunn" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been working my way through Alan Garner's books over the last few weeks and this is the best so far of an excellent bunch. I am always intrigued by the Neolithic and what appealed most to me in the previous Garner book I read (Thursbitch) was the well researched use of actual megalithic stones, and other real geography, to underpin an engaging and dark fantasy and the fact that it did engage was amazing as I rarely like fantasy per se.

Considering the title of this book I was expecting much of the same. However while it starts with a possibly Neolithic encounter with a more modern age you realise by the end that the whole quartet can be read has having no fantasy elements at all. Also unlike Thursbitch it is an essentially upbeat tale. I wasn't expecting this to be my favourite Garner novel but it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful jewel-like stories, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here is Garner at his most jewel-like; four short tales that, between them, span four generations of his own family at Alderley Edge. Each is essentially a defining moment in the development of the child in the story. They start with the oldest generation, the master stone-mason who is building the local church steeple and young Mary who first climbs the high ladders and is lifted to ride the cockerel on the wind-vane at the top. She is then taken, in what is a rite performed by each successive generation, deep into the caves beneath the Edge to make for herself an amazing discovery - one that changes her.
Each story in the Quartet moves us nearer to the present, via the first and then the second world war, where we finally encounter a boy who is largely based on Alan Garner himself. His simple-yet-profound writing style is thrilling. He writes like a poet in love with words and the deep resonances that they conjure up. These are not myths and yet they carry the same power and weight of meaning. These are windows into a slower, less talkative, more reflective age. Knowledge was less but wisdom was more. We need the work of Alan Garner and this collection is among the very best he ever wrote. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alan Garner has written some of the most imaginative and magical fiction for young people of the past 50 years.

This is, I think, his masterpiece.

It is magical - but there is no magic in it.
Mysterious - but nothing mysterious happens.
Haunting - but there are no ghosts.

It is life enhancing, beautifully written, thought provoking, moving, enthralling ...

If ONLY they had kept the beautiful pen and ink illustrations from the original edtions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Each time you read this you discover more, 10 April 2014
By 
G. JEPSON (Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this book-it captures the simplicity of years gone by and leaves us with a strong sense of place and time. The stories connect us with the ancestors and the pattern and sequence of the lives of the characters could be echoed across anyone's family. Alan Garner expresses the presence of the past in all our lives and demonstrates how tied to it we are and how it travels with us, unseen into the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into Alan Garner's history, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of Alan Garner. I've read his books since I turned double figures and also love his work on restoration/preservation in Cheshire. This was an extremely interesting read of his ancestral history in fictional form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb masterpiece of young adults' literature for all ages, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Masterly writing, a classic of young adults' literature which, like all classics, can and must be read by all ages. This is a generational family history, its leitmotif the craftsmanship and legacies transmitted over years (and over ages). It describes poignant to heart-breaking moments of contact between generations when something almost sacred is passed on or understood and something changes. Beautifully crafted, like the work it describes, the writing resembles a perfectly executed piece of stone carving. Economical to the point of obscurity on occasion, but 100 times worth the reread: the book yields more each time. I have read the Stone Book Quartet three times and expect to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful interlinked stories based on Garner`s own family history.Draws you into the lives of our forebears and moves you with their courage and determination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stone Book Quartet (Harper Perennial Modern Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly written, haunting tales which create resonances with your own (and everybody else's) family history. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews