Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy
I loved the story, sexy and so felt for Frank and Sofia. Would like to read all the series but feel a bit expensive for so few pages. Might have been better to have a box set.
Published 9 months ago by Ada Arnold

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring
So pleased this was free. I almost gave up by chapter 5. There were 2 sex scenes but in no way I would class this book as erotic.
Published 14 months ago by Kay


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Closer (Erotic Romance) Book 1 (The DeLuca Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
So pleased this was free. I almost gave up by chapter 5. There were 2 sex scenes but in no way I would class this book as erotic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No. Just...no., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Closer (Erotic Romance) Book 1 (The DeLuca Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
** spoiler alert ** This is the third book - out of 581 that I've read since joining Goodreads - that I've rated 1-star. I hate rating things 1-star. I don't even like rating them 2-star. Gah.

It started out okay - a little flat, but okay. Frank seemed decent enough, although the first quarter or so was an info dump with little action or conversation, so I didn't feel like I really got to see the man's good points.

But then we met Sofia. And I hated Sofia.

This is why:

1) She gets pregnant because she forgets to take her contraceptive pills with her on vacation, and rather than a) finding a doctor who'll prescribe more; b) getting the morning-after pill; or c) admitting to Frank she forgot them and letting them both decide to either use condoms or forgo the sex for the weekend, she decided to just hope for the best and not tell him - so she didn't worry him.

2) She decides unilaterally that Frank's work means more to him than she could and that he shouldn't be allowed to take time away from his career for such unimportant things as love and family. (His career btw is running a travel business, which is a fine job but he's hardly a superhero, destined to sacrifice all else for this noble calling.)

3) She leaves him (with a note, not even in person) and coldheartedly calls up the guy who loved her throughout high school - a guy who happens to be Frank's cousin - and gets him to marry her and pretend to everyone that the baby is his. She knows that he loves her, and that she doesn't love him, but she asks him to help her anyway. She doesn't tell Frank that he has a son. For eight years.

4) She ends up divorcing the cousin, and during the book we get to hear her whingy thoughts about how she'd been careful to never make him feel like she was comparing him to Frank. Which is horses***. People know when they're being compared to their partner's ex, especially when they're the one who doesn't measure up.

5) When Frank finally finds out and is initially angry, after he comes to talk it out with her, her first reaction is to want to tell him he missed his chance. Because, of course, he had the audacity to be mad.

I pretty much hated the way the other characters reacted to this, too. Frank's mother - who knew all along that the kid was Frank's, and who never bothered to call him once in eight years and say, Oh, by the way, you have a son - Frank's mother is angry with FRANK for reacting badly. She tells him he's being selfish. Why Frank, how dare you a) not stick around for the girl who dumped you for your cousin and the child you didn't know you had, and b) be angry that she lied to you and kept your son from you for eight years? How selfish you are!

And Frank, the poor sap, doesn't even ask for an apology from Sofia, he just goes right back to loving her. Not that she offers one. She shows no hint of guilt or remorse for her behaviour.

"Love means never having to say you're sorry." (Love Story, 1970)

If you love that quote, this may well be the book for you.

Me, I'll pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Closer (Erotic Romance) Book 1 (The DeLuca Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
I loved the story, sexy and so felt for Frank and Sofia. Would like to read all the series but feel a bit expensive for so few pages. Might have been better to have a box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars one Step Closer, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Closer (Erotic Romance) Book 1 (The DeLuca Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
Not really much of a story or what I would call erotic just an ordinary romance that had been put on hold you can guess the rest.
Aimed at the teen to twenty s market I would guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Read, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Closer (Erotic Romance) Book 1 (The DeLuca Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
really enjoyed this story a nice easy read. I thought it was going to be a bit like the godfather at first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A really disappointing book, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Closer (Erotic Romance) Book 1 (The DeLuca Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
A really disappointing book with a good storyline. I felt this book could have been a great book/story if not for the fact the author rushed the story and I felt, missed out on important things. I needed more especially at the end. As for would I read the rest of this series? the answer is no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Closer (Erotic Romance) Book 1 (The DeLuca Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
its ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Closer (Erotic Romance) Book 1 (The DeLuca Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
Great a++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Closer (Erotic Romance) Book 1 (The DeLuca Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
excelent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not one I would recommend, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Step Closer (Erotic Romance) Book 1 (The DeLuca Brothers) (Kindle Edition)
Glad this was free. I almost gave up several times.
There were 2 sex scenes but in no way I would class this book as erotic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews