Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old classic in urgent need of rediscovery!, 5 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Little House (Paperback)
My brothers and I had this book when we were little and loved it, so I was delighted to find it again for my children. One one level, it is a charming, moving tale, beautifully illustrated, of a little country house being swallowed up by the city. But the story also teaches children about so many things - seasons and the passage of time, urban development and different kinds of transport - in a completely undidactic and subtle way. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic which stays with you, 16 July 2008
This review is from: Little House (Paperback)
This book is the first of which I have a memory. It's charm and impact have proven the test of time and I've actively sought it out as a gift for the next generation.
It tells the tale of a simple house built in the countryside, which watches the seasons passing by and the world growing up around it. I could feel the loss of innocence, as the little house is eventually consumed by and then lost within the big, anonymous city. I remember being lifted along with the little house, when it is eventually transported back into a new space in an undisturbed area of open countryside.
I reckon it's one of the timeless children's tales, whose simple power will still be resonating with the kids in your life when they eventually grow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars little house children book., 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little House (Paperback)
my son who is 3 really loves this book he never gets bored of it.
really nice story with plenty of pictures too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful illustrations, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little House (Paperback)
This was originally published seventy-one years ago and is a story about a house in the countryside which, over time, becomes a house in the city as a result of transport development etc. The artist's drawing style is attractive and colour is used effectively in the illustrations. I read it with three little boys (two of three-years-old and one six-year-old) and they all found it appealing with much to look at and discuss in the picures. This was more enjoyable to read with children than many of the more recent books I've seen. I'd not heard of Virginia Lee Burton before seeing this at a friend's house very recently (who had just bought it from Amazon), but would recommend her work and I will probably get some more of her books.
Delivery was astonishingly swift; it seems that, within moments of raising my fingers from the keyboard after making the purchase, the postman is at the door with it! Incredibly low price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little House (Paperback)
This is a lovely classic children's book - well written, great pics, colourful. Def a great buy for any children's bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Little House story, 6 Jun 2012
By 
New book reviewer (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little House (Paperback)
Wonderful book that I had and enjoyed as a child many years ago. Was delighted that the book features the original illustrations which are great to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memory Lane, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little House (Paperback)
The Little House is a real trip down memory lane for me. I read it over and over again as a child but then the book was lost. It covers night and day, the changing of the seasons and the encroachment of the city on the countryside. This little house has feelings and the reader is totally drawn into it's decline and eventual happiness. I missed being able to read this story to my sons so I can't wait to read it to my grandson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and Enduring, 30 Sep 2010
By 
Reflection Haiku "Lily Wang, Author" (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little House (Paperback)
The resonant story of THE LITTLE HOUSE is also a story of mine (and those) who grew up to see the wonder of day and night, experience the changes of four seasons and as time passing by, witness the disappearance of green meadows and replacement of more houses and then towering skyscrapers all over us and finally the urge to return to a place simpler and closer to nature was answered and we settled down in countryside for the content with the little house and birds' song than the hectic pace with polluted air.

To convey this progression, Virginia Burton, the Caldecott Medal Winner, places the Little House on the center of each page, and through her lucid storytelling and amazing touch of drawings, enchant the readers with activities that constitutes each theme - sun rise, starry night, spring robin, summer swim, fall leaves, winter skating, then comes the paving of the road and the birth of the city - with apartments, train stations, subways, and commercial building gradually constructing on subsequent pages. The Little House in the darkest stage is almost invisible. But this pretty house that "was strong and well built will never be sold for gold or silver but live to see the great-great-granddaughter" of the builder who shall make her rescue discovery and bring her back to a new hill to unite with her old friends from nature. By accident (or not), I also stood in front of this Little House and could not believe it has been in print for more than 60 years because it is still shiny bright and her story a moving and enduring one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Was pleased to find it as it was a favourite of ..., 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little House (Paperback)
Written years ago. Very lovely illustrations. Was pleased to find it as it was a favourite of mine as a child. But was a bit surprised how sentimental it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little House
The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton
£3.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews