Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a jaggy bunnett
Returning to the sound that made their first album so memorable, this is an excellent exercise in taking the melodic best from the past (Postcard Records?), infusing it with modern day angst and prickly lyrics and fusing it into a tuneful yet hard edged whole. James Allan's strong Scottish singing accent may put some off but at least he has stayed true to his roots and...
Published 14 months ago by Big Jim

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Ok, nice tracks no surprised me and different sounds, it's ok to listen on saturdays afternoon!But not an essential album!
Published 12 months ago by Frank Bozic Jr.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a jaggy bunnett, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Later...When The TV Turns To Static (Audio CD)
Returning to the sound that made their first album so memorable, this is an excellent exercise in taking the melodic best from the past (Postcard Records?), infusing it with modern day angst and prickly lyrics and fusing it into a tuneful yet hard edged whole. James Allan's strong Scottish singing accent may put some off but at least he has stayed true to his roots and not adopted a faux American voice. The band are in fine rocking fettle and there are some genuinely great songs on here. This album propels Glasvegas firmly into the forefront of todays "indie" bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Later...When The TV Turns To Static (Audio CD)
Don't believe what you read in the NME..this is as good as their other albums..alright I am a fan..love them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Alisdair Fleming "Al F" (Glasgow Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Later...When The TV Turns To Static (Audio CD)
Brilliant new album from the Gasvegars gang! Some great atmospheric music and it's playing all the time in my car. Great! aF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: Later...When The TV Turns To Static (Audio CD)
Like a lot of people I was amazed at the brilliance of Glasvegas' debut album and somewhat nonplussed at the follow up although that album does contain 2 or 3 bona fide classic songs.
Were they a one album wonder? Thankfully any such doubts have been kicked firmly into touch with a quite superb return to form with this latest album.
Just brilliant. Nothing comes near when Glasvegas are on form.
See you in Belfast!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glasvegas' 3rd album., 19 Sep 2013
This review is from: Later...When The TV Turns To Static (Audio CD)
Glasvegas return after 2 years after the failure of their 2nd album, in my opinion was very poor. Only one track stood out and the rest was just forgettable.

On first listens I was not impressed by this album. The single If being the standout track. So I gave it another go today and liked what I heard. It's a grower, and far superior to the 2nd album in every way possible. So if you liked their debut album, you will like this. If you lost faith in the band after their 2nd album, you will like this!

Give them a chance. They deserve it on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Frank Bozic Jr. (brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Later...When The TV Turns To Static (Audio CD)
Ok, nice tracks no surprised me and different sounds, it's ok to listen on saturdays afternoon!But not an essential album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why no tunes?, 7 Sep 2013
This review is from: Later...When The TV Turns To Static (Audio CD)
I'm sorry but this album is nothing like their brilliant debut. With the exception of two very good tacks (IF, and track 10) the rest are very unforgettable indeed. The band should have gone back to Rich Costy as the nob twiddler because Glasvegas clearly have no expertise in production. The exciting promise of what was to come sadly fizzled out halfway trough album 2. Gone with the intense wall of sound, amazing anthems and slick production and replaced with an under produced mess. If album 2 was too bombastic for some, you may (just) like their underwhelming direction. Talk about slamming on the breaks.

Again, such a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Later...When The TV Turns To Static
Later...When The TV Turns To Static by Glasvegas (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews