Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2010
Great read and an interesting counterpoint to Brian Taylor's Crazy Horses. I'd forgotten the camping, the inevitable Transit and the almost equally inevitable rain. And it's reminded me that I've always wondered how Gauloises came to sponsor drag racing, not the most obvious product fit really. Thanks to Liz for bringing this all back so neatly.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2010
Drag racing with the bits most books leave out. Anyone who was around drag strips in the 70's will identify with this book, and those that weren't will wish they were! If only we'd all kept diaries!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
If your into nostailgia drag racing, you're love this. Liz tells you how it was, running 2 top cars, a farm and looking after the children. Great insight to how it was. Great read
Tony Smith
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2010
We both really enjoyed the book and loved the stories, and the interesting insight into what went on behind the scenes preparing and campaigning a variety of drag racing cars in the 70's. Great to read the progress from one level to another, through all the trials and tribulations, and eventually great success. It's also written in an easy to read style and very entertaining along the way. And, though the technology of drag racing has made advances over the years, we especially liked reading about the camaraderie that existed in the early days, and knowing that it is still there today amongst all the racers, and we're still having the same fun nowadays! We highly recommend it! 'Crazy' Chris & Claire, Wild Bunch racers
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
A very funny read of what one British drag racing team got up to in the 1970's. Not just the usual things that went on at the track, but all the little trivia that helped the team to perform.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
I can remember when Liz and Ollie were racing and its great to read about it.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Bought for my dads bday,but read before I wrapped it,I couldn't put it down! True insight to British drag racing,full of humour too.we need more women racers out there .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
EXCELLENT ACCOUNT OF A DRAG RACING FAMILY IN THE EARLY DAYS WHEN BRITISH DRAG RACING WAS A FUN SPORT.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
A very enjoyable book. Well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)