Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable
Mention the "Motown sound" and you are probably thinking of their golden period in the 1960s, when groups like Smokey Robinson & The Miracles, The Supremes, and Martha Reeves & The Vandellas put out timeless hit after hit.

But Motown, and its artists, actually adapted well to the disco boom, and the fierce competition that was provided by labels such as Salsoul...
Published 20 months ago by S Bailey

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but could have been better
I do feel that Motown is ripping us off a bit these days. It seems as every year comes round, another must-have Motown collection is out there.

Ok here's my real gripe: On a "Motown Disco" CD, where is 'Brick House' by the Commodores? Where is 'All Night Long (All Night)' (US 12" Mix) by Lionel Richie; where is Stevie Wonder's 'I Wish' ?? Where is 'Let It All...
Published 21 months ago by A rhythm person


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but could have been better, 29 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Motown Disco (Audio CD)
I do feel that Motown is ripping us off a bit these days. It seems as every year comes round, another must-have Motown collection is out there.

Ok here's my real gripe: On a "Motown Disco" CD, where is 'Brick House' by the Commodores? Where is 'All Night Long (All Night)' (US 12" Mix) by Lionel Richie; where is Stevie Wonder's 'I Wish' ?? Where is 'Let It All Blow' by the Dazz Band?? Where is 'Big Time' by Rick James???

Why don't we get the full length versions of Marvin Gaye's 'Got To Give It Up'? and Jermaine Jackson's fantastic 'Let's Get Serious.'??

We do get the full version of Thelma Houston's 'Don't Leave Me This Way' we do get the full length versions of Teena Marie's classic and Willie Hutch's excellent 'In and Out' (though there is a better version available by Junior Walker and the All Stars of 'In and Out' which Willie actually preferred!!!!)...

Well, lots of questions and very little answers in this CD. I have given it 3 stars as it is Motown after all, but one suspects we all have most of the tracks elsewhere on other compilations...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, 24 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Motown Disco (Audio CD)
Mention the "Motown sound" and you are probably thinking of their golden period in the 1960s, when groups like Smokey Robinson & The Miracles, The Supremes, and Martha Reeves & The Vandellas put out timeless hit after hit.

But Motown, and its artists, actually adapted well to the disco boom, and the fierce competition that was provided by labels such as Salsoul and Philadelphia International at that time. This 16 track CD - that unfortunately shares its name with a similar compilation - looks to provide some of the evidence of that from the 1970s and the early 1980s.

Selections like Thelma Houston's 'Don't Leave Me This Way', Diana Ross's 'Upside Down', Jermaine Jackson's 'Let's Get Serious', and Eddie Kendricks' 'Keep On Truckin' provide an immediately favourable impression. The inclusion of slightly less well-known, but no less convincing choices such as Teena Marie's 'Behind the Groove', and Magic Disco Machine's '(I Could Never Make) A Better Man Than You', strengthen the argument further. Whilst it is very difficult not to be rapt by the pulsating grooves that underpin The Supremes' 'You're My Driving Wheel' and The Miracles' 'Love Machine' adaptations to the genre.

Of course, you could gripe at the fact that a compilation which claims to feature Motown's "finest disco moments" omits heavyweight contenders such as Diana Ross's 'Love Hangover', and The Commodores' 'Brick House', at the expense of Tata Vega's slightly less convincing 'Get It Up For Love'. And you could question whether the concluding track - The Jackson 5's multi-sectioned 'I Am Love (Parts 1 & 2)' - should really be bracketed as disco at all. The plain presentation and solid, if unspectacular sleevenotes from Bill Brewster, author of Last Night A DJ Saved My Life, are also a bit disappointing given the disco movement's flamboyant sense of aesthetics.

But it's difficult to argue completely against this 2013 compilation. The enduring influence of that era can be heard in the way that pop star Robin Thicke's 'Blurred Lines' borrows heavily from Marvin Gaye's 'Got To Give It Up (Part 1)', or rapper Jay-Z samples Rick James' 'Give It To Me Baby' - as so many others have done - for his song 'Kingdom Come'. Aficionados may wish to sneer condescendingly at the apparent obviousness of many of these choices - but actually not all the material here is immediately recognisable. (Only four of the choices in the running-order graced the Top 40 in the UK Singles Chart). And there are a reasonable enough number of selections on Motown Disco that fulfil disco's ethos of sophistication, elegance, and aspiration, to make this budget-priced release a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a selection of top tunes for a low price, 28 Aug. 2013
By 
David (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motown Disco (Audio CD)
Especially good is the Jermaine Jackson, "Let's get serious", which surely wouldn't have been bettered by Stevie Wonder himself.
If you like this kind of music, then you'll love this LP. If you don't know, look at youtube then buy.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT collection., 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Disco (Audio CD)
MOTOWN records is a real guarantee. Many of the songs now considered classics are included in this magnificent collection .... and finally the rare (hard to find on CD) song of MAGIC DISCO MACHINE, beloved by many fans, and the deejays that in the 70's had the good fortune to work in the independent radio stations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent price., 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Disco (Audio CD)
Received promptly, item as described & expected. Excellent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motown Classics, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with the choice from the seller top class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RUN OF THE MILL, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Disco (Audio CD)
this was a lot better than MOTOWN FUNK its a good budget cd a must for new collectors of motown music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Disco (Audio CD)
this cd is good to listen too but some of the tracks I have to be honest and say I have never heard before but they are good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motown Heaven, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Disco (Audio CD)
Music as it was meant to be. Disco will always be around and this compilation truly captures the essence of bygone days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOTOWEN, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Disco (Audio CD)
A VERY GOOD CD I AM A BIG FAN OF MOTOWN WORTH A LISTEN FOR MOTOWN FANS OLD AND YOUNG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motown Disco
Motown Disco by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews