Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film I really liked it
This was a really good film despite the negative reviews. If you like blood, gore and immediate action, then this is not for you. It starts slowly, but if you can be patient then you will really like it. The relationship between the main couple is very sweet, so you do care what happens to them. There are some very creepy moments, which i liked, and you could feel the...
Published 10 months ago by Patricia Irene Higham

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have done with being twenty minutes shorter
Mischa Barton plays a young woman whose parents both die. Aggrieved, she renounces God's existence and challenges him to prove there's something more to life than what we know and see. I guess he does. He seems to send legions of things that bump around her flat to haunt her. Then he gets these goolies to kidnap her new - unbelievable perfect - boyfriend. The moral:...
Published 11 months ago by Albatross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have done with being twenty minutes shorter, 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: Into The Dark [DVD] (DVD)
Mischa Barton plays a young woman whose parents both die. Aggrieved, she renounces God's existence and challenges him to prove there's something more to life than what we know and see. I guess he does. He seems to send legions of things that bump around her flat to haunt her. Then he gets these goolies to kidnap her new - unbelievable perfect - boyfriend. The moral: never mess with God.

So, poor newly-atheist Mischa must look for her stolen bloke in a haunted apartment block where she reckons he's been imprisoned. Now, most horror films like this are about ninety minutes. This one runs at nearly two hours. And here lies the first problem. Namely, that much of the film is either pretty establishing shots/montages, or Mischa walking slowly around one empty hallway or another - sometimes something jumps out at her, sometimes not.

This film is slow. And how you perceive it will depend on how much you like it. It's the very definition of a `slow burner.' If you're desperate for something to happen, it may well drive you mad and you'll find that absolutely nothing happens for long periods of the film. However, if you like your horror slow, creepy and tension-building, then you'll probably enjoy this.

Just don't go expecting a rollercoaster of a ride style horror film. Unfortunately, although I like to think I can appreciate a slow-burner or two, I found there was nothing new enough here to warrant watching it again. It falls into that `seen in all before' category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film I really liked it, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Patricia Irene Higham (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Dark [DVD] (DVD)
This was a really good film despite the negative reviews. If you like blood, gore and immediate action, then this is not for you. It starts slowly, but if you can be patient then you will really like it. The relationship between the main couple is very sweet, so you do care what happens to them. There are some very creepy moments, which i liked, and you could feel the tension in the latter part of the film. it's a good watch. Hope you enjoy it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Into The Dark Review, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Dark [DVD] (DVD)
As far a stories go this classic horror isn't bad but I have known a lot better. It has a lot of tension to it but also some pretty sinister moments which may be a plus or minus depending on your tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling waste of time and money, 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: Into The Dark [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot believe that the last review was so positive. We have just wasted over 1 and half hours watching a load of drivel. To say that this is a slow burner is an understatement, I am sick and tired of spending my hard earned cash on so called horror films. I just not learn my lesson when it comes to horror films, for every 20 or so films, you are lucky if you get a fairly decent one. I buy quite a lot of dvd's and blu rays, mainly action films, and I admit that not all are good but I do think that the horror genre is getting worse and is running out of ideas. Sorry for being so negative but I just had to get this off my chest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Dark [DVD] (DVD)
They are right leave the light on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film great story., 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Dark [DVD] (DVD)
Really good film, especially Jaz Martin. Can't wait to see his next one.Hope that he gets the lead roll. Could be the next big British actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into The Dark [DVD]
Into The Dark [DVD] by Mark Edwin Robinson (DVD - 2013)
5.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews