Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value for quality writing
Having paid 37p for this enormous collection of works by Saki, I cannot recommend it too highly. The author was killed during WWI, at Beaumont-Hamel in 1916, shot through the head. The 1918 account of his loss is chilling, and shows clearly how highly he was regarded. The bulk of his writing appears to have been short stories, and they beautifully capture the atmosphere,...
Published 7 months ago by Annie W

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A complete shambles
I rate the Saki stories amongst the best in English literature; this edition however was unreadable and clearly had not been checked prior to publication, for example, the first pages of the chapters were all at the beginning one after another.
Amazon - Quality check please before publication.
Published 14 months ago by Goldielands


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value for quality writing, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Annie W "bookworm" (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saki Megapack: 140 Classic Novels and Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
Having paid 37p for this enormous collection of works by Saki, I cannot recommend it too highly. The author was killed during WWI, at Beaumont-Hamel in 1916, shot through the head. The 1918 account of his loss is chilling, and shows clearly how highly he was regarded. The bulk of his writing appears to have been short stories, and they beautifully capture the atmosphere, habits, and thoughts of those who made up the 'society set' of the very comfortably off and their hangers-on. You can consider them to be dated, or you can regard them as an interesting slant on the society of its day (and there appears to be a huge number of people who can't do without their 'fix' of "Downton Abbey"). I find the stories, their settings, characters, and way of life, fascinating, especially when one considers what was to come so shortly afterwards. In that context, what makes for an extremely interesting read is "When William Came", published in 1913, and set in an England which has been utterly defeated in a blitzkrieg campaign, leaving the country under the rule of a German-speaking overlord, whose eagle standard flies over Buckingham Palace: brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't know what to expect, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saki Megapack: 140 Classic Novels and Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
A friend recommended a particular Saki short story. I hadn't read Saki before so the bargain price was attractive. Since then I've dipped in several times and although some of the stories are weird and dated, many have stood the test of time. I like a short story at bed time as you can get to the end and not be kept awake thinking about it. These are great and a real bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Saki anyway, this collection is great, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saki Megapack: 140 Classic Novels and Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
So many stories, so little cost. Good value for a punt, really, really good value for a lover of Saki.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only just started, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saki Megapack: 140 Classic Novels and Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
So yes so far I am thoroughly enjoying this wonderful collection of Saki stories and novels.But because this collection is mega I have a long way to go before I can definitely say that I loved this pack. I think the thing is that being short stories and idiosyncratic ones at that I can't read them straight through like a novel.Each story in the collection given is best approached by dipping in to the series.
I can only read one or two at the most and then my attention wanders.There is some continuity of sorts but not strong enough to make me read at length. And what a variety of genres - social commentary,humor,horror mystery.A mixed bag in fact but all centred around a particular social group,upper class Edwardian England.
Still for the price a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saki Megapack: 140 Classic Novels and Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
you cannot stop reading these short stories. they are all very different and not what you expect . enjoyed novels very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars have only just started reading these stories, not familiar ..., 7 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saki Megapack: 140 Classic Novels and Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
have only just started reading these stories, not familiar with saki so this is a discovery for me the megapack prices mean you can afford to experiment with different authors, will probably edit this review at a later date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saki Megapack: 140 Classic Novels and Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
Good reading for short journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saki Megapack: 140 Classic Novels and Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
loved dipping in and out of these deliciously quirky surreal and macabre tales.i would reccomend to all who enjoy a sense of the unreal.Really good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saki Megapack, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saki Megapack: 140 Classic Novels and Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't familiar with these stories, but they are really good, just the thing for bed-time as you can finish one or more without leaving it half way. Definitely worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius largely forgotten?, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Saki Megapack: 140 Classic Novels and Short Stories (Kindle Edition)
Saki was a wonderfully clever, wicked and funny writer. This megapack will keep you entertained for many hours and a few pence.:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews