Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Gadget
I ll start by saying that at the moment Portapow is the only supplier of a USB tester.

It is excellent!!! I use it with my portable solar panel and it helps me to adjust it at the right angle so that I can get maximum efficiency. I have also used it to check the output of portable back up battery packs such as TeckNet/Mili/EasyAcc. It works perfect in any...
Published 10 months ago by Alex

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, but not well made.
This does the job, it measures current/voltage, and is a useful diagnostic tool. It tells you how fast your device is charging, allows you to test different leads and USB ports/chargers.

However it feels poorly built. I get the impression that is will fall apart at any moment. The USB output port is also at a slight angle, as if it is loose inside.
Published 3 months ago by Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Gadget, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow USB Power Monitor/Multimeter/DC Ammeter for Solar Panels, Mains Chargers, PC (Accessory)
I ll start by saying that at the moment Portapow is the only supplier of a USB tester.

It is excellent!!! I use it with my portable solar panel and it helps me to adjust it at the right angle so that I can get maximum efficiency. I have also used it to check the output of portable back up battery packs such as TeckNet/Mili/EasyAcc. It works perfect in any occasion. So if you want to test any USB output your answer is Portapow tester. I have found two small negative things: one is the stiffness of the female USB extension cable(personally I would have liked a bit more flexible), and second the overall quality of the housing plastic of the unit which I believe has some space for improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for checking Charging devices and Cables, 25 Sep 2013
By 
D. Torrens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow USB Power Monitor/Multimeter/DC Ammeter for Solar Panels, Mains Chargers, PC (Accessory)
With this device you can investigate how mich power various items take and whether you need to get a better charger or a better cable. It really does show how all chargers and cables are not eqyual and many new devices such as Nexus 7 cannot be kept charged up properly without the right equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow USB Power Monitor/Multimeter/DC Ammeter for Solar Panels, Mains Chargers, PC (Accessory)
This works well with my goal zero solar panel. It lets you know if there is enough sun to actually put a charge into your phone ETC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow USB Power Monitor/Multimeter/DC Ammeter for Solar Panels, Mains Chargers, PC (Accessory)
Used it to measure various mobile/tablet chargers and cables I had. Worked seamlessly. Haven't found any alternatives on the market. Switch shows Volts or Amps. Measured voltage drop between charging cables of various lengths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow USB Power Monitor/Multimeter/DC Ammeter for Solar Panels, Mains Chargers, PC (Accessory)
I got 4 of these so I could test different configurations with multi-port chargers and to check out the solar panels and fast-charge cables I got from PortaPow. Useful for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely gadget, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow USB Power Monitor/Multimeter/DC Ammeter for Solar Panels, Mains Chargers, PC (Accessory)
Lovely gadget I bought to monitor my portable solar panels.
And I love it. I don't know how much it's accurate but I have no doubts it works properly for my needs.
I paln also to buy the bigger brother.

Thank you Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A final solution to Nexus 7 slow charging, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow USB Power Monitor/Multimeter/DC Ammeter for Solar Panels, Mains Chargers, PC (Accessory)
Absolute Godsend - was having trouble with my two Nexus 7s not charging / slow charging. Got the monitor and discovered that using even the best charger and cable the Nexus 7 would draw in different amp levels just by unplugging and re-plugging. It ranged from 0.21 to 0.85 amps - which is a big difference in charging speed. Now I always use the monitor to check that I'm getting the highest level of charge. Just ordered a second one for my wife's Nexus 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power to the people, 25 Jan 2014
By 
sugob (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow USB Power Monitor/Multimeter/DC Ammeter for Solar Panels, Mains Chargers, PC (Accessory)
Bought this to show me how much juice was being used by my phones/ipad and compare/test chargers/cables - the basic theory is the higher the current drawn [for a given config], the better [as it will be charging the battery faster]

This unit shows voltage or current [easily switchable on front] to hundredths e.g. 0.69. Claims 0-3A but the highest I measured was 2.4A by iPad Air [USB voltage should always be near 5V]
Body of this unit is 7cm long with the cable [not including the USB plug] also being 7cm, display text height 1cm & weight 44g - unit does not take a battery and doesn't have a backlight

Tested with a Nexus 4 and iPad Air, using an iPad Air wall-wart charger [i.e. high current out] or a 1A wall-wart or a USB port on a Windows computer, along with several cables - Nokia micro USB, a cheapo extendable micro USB etc]

Watching current drawn vary when changing things e.g. switching screen on/off, was interesting :-)

The 'normal' micro USB cables [i.e. have data and power] all seemed to perform similarly -
iPad wall-wart: the Nexus 4 drew 0.82A when its screen off and 1.02A when on [figures jumped around a little]. The 'power only' cable was very similar [maybe slightly higher].
1A wall-wart: the Nexus 4 drew figures which spiked alot more [up to 1.35A with 'power only' and 1.25A with 'power and data'] though usually about 1.05A.
USB port on computer: the 'normal' USB cables all dropped to 0.45A but the 'power only' to 0.76A

For iPad [apple lightening connector], got 0.46A connecting to computer and 2.34A when connected to the iPad charger [same with screen on or off]. Also tried from iPad wall-wart using the 'power only' Micro USB cable with the official apple micro usb to lightning converter and got 0.46A

So in summary, cables didn't seem to matter within a category but probably worth getting 'power only' micro USB if just charging

FYI: USB 2.0 [the most common standard] is 0.5A max and USB 3.0 is 0.9A [not tested this unit with USB 3 - this unit should work with it as it uses the same pins for power as USB 2.0]

The 'power only' USB cable used was following [30cm version]

PortaPow Specialised Fast Charge Short 30cm Micro USB Cable for Blackberry, Xperia, HTC One, Google Nexus, Other Fast Charging Devices
www.amazon.co.uk/PortaPow-Specialised-Blackberry-Charging-Devices/dp/B00HAAPREM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow USB Power Monitor/Multimeter/DC Ammeter for Solar Panels, Mains Chargers, PC (Accessory)
I use it to check that the phone chargers are working
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 30 Jun 2014
By 
J. SLADER (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow USB Power Monitor/Multimeter/DC Ammeter for Solar Panels, Mains Chargers, PC (Accessory)
A really useful bit of kit if you want to measure current drawn from a USB port or the output voltage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews