Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars30
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2013
wasn't sure I was going to enjoy this but actually found it truly insightful and at points truly shocking! Well done for all the research that must have been involved in creating this book
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
love reading history, this book gives a simple account of events of poverty in London and how people managed and survived. an eye opener.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
An interesting insight into the conditions of the poor - looking at lodging houses, workhouses, businesses & the like through reports (I think it was for a newspaper) of the time. Well written. Very enjoyable
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Talk about the 'good old days' ! Thank goodness those days are long gone. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and recommend it to those who appreciate British history.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
I would recommend this book I really enjoyed it reading how the worked and lived the detail was really good
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
If you like Mayhew (which I do) it's a great compilation. I had never heard of James Greenwood and he is a wonderful discovery for me.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Interesting and informative if you are interested in that period of London's history.Also very cheap with a worthy amount of content.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Very interesting! I was transported to another world albeit an uncomfortable on but from the safety of my sunshine filled holiday. Quite a contrast!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
A good read. Very informative. And from my own personal knowledge - and that of my parents and grandparents, is all correct ( and I am 82 yrs of age)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Read it and see how lucky we are to live in 21st century England
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)