Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confused reviews of multiple 2013 Tour products
Amazon is collating the reviews for 3 separate products (6 if you include BluRay variants) here and leading to considerable confusion. As I understand it there are 3 distinct products all titled The British and Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013 but with a suffix in brackets

1. (Official Film) - Highlights of the first two tests and then the final test in full...
Published 8 months ago by T L Waldron

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disc2 Ok
There is annoying music on Disc 1 which drowns the commentary, very annoying! Disc 2 better but disc gets "stuck" now and again, which could be my player rather than the disc!!! Caution needed when buying it
Published 8 months ago by R. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confused reviews of multiple 2013 Tour products, 6 Aug 2013
By 
T L Waldron (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Amazon is collating the reviews for 3 separate products (6 if you include BluRay variants) here and leading to considerable confusion. As I understand it there are 3 distinct products all titled The British and Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013 but with a suffix in brackets

1. (Official Film) - Highlights of the first two tests and then the final test in full - 2 DVD discs out on Aug 5th
2. (Test Series Box Set) - All tests in full and highlights of the tour matches - 4 discs out on Nov 11th
3. (Lions Raw) - behind the scenes film - hopefully similar to the 1997 classic Living With Lions - 2 discs out Oct 28th

The producers haven't helped with the ambiguous title "Official Film" for the first one and the very similar packaging and names for the three products, at least as they appear on Amazon/

So, to be clear, this review is for title 1 above, which is a very plain-vanilla recording of highlights of the first two tests and the third test in full. As another reviewer said, many of us will have more than that stored on out Sky+ boxes. However, if you perhaps didn't have Sky and watched the games in the pub, or if you are running out of space on your Sky box by filling it with cricket then this may be a good purchase! It is cheap and it is out now (August 2013). Just don't buy it expecting it to be something it isn't.

If, like me, you are waiting for the behind the scenes film, you'll need to wait for October 28th and "The British and Irish Lions Tour to Australia 2013 (Lions Raw)."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Stuart Barnes hasn't wrecked this..., 26 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I need to start this by correcting the first reviewers guess at what is included. This does have it all - Lions Raw, pre test match highlights, and each test in full, plus loads of extras.

Also, like the second reviewer, i too received my copy on 25th! Fantastic! Watched the whole Lions Raw BD straight away - my long suffering 'rugby widow' wife even enjoyed it. Cheers for that Amazon :)

I am going to split this review into positives and negatives, and invariably compare it to the masterpiece that is 'Living with the Lions' (LWTL). Also, at the time of writing, i have only watched Raw, the extras and the highlights up the the game against the Queensland Reds.

I'm going to start with the negatives:

1) The game coverage is provided directly by Sky, so you have to put up with the serious amount of utter drivel that freely spews forth from Stuart 'Fatty' Barnes gob! Christ, i wish he would sod off and stick to what he knows best - eating pies. This by far the worst aspect of the blu ray. Of course, there is very little of the Muppet in the Lions Raw content, but as you start to watch the match coverage, the whining Gwenter starts to get into his coverage ruining stride.

2) The Lions Raw documentary just isn't as 'warts and all' as LWTL. The bits that made LTWL stand out for me were the frank and brutal discussions by the management team of the players performances, and subsequent team selection. Ian McGeechan stating that 'Woody is hiding' when the Irish talisman is spotted cowering behind a teammate isn't something you will see in this, although the great man does make a 'guest' appearance.

3) You get the feeling that it's a very sanitised, PR documentary that isn't going to show anyone in a negative light. However, please refer to point 1 of the positives when considering this.

And now for the positives:

1) The production values of the documentary are excellent - Far superior to LWTL, which now definitely has a more of a home movie feel to it in comparison. The soundtrack that accompanies the documentary is spot on, ranging from lighthearted jocular tones to emotionally charged awesomeness - particularly as the it builds throughout the final test.

2) It passes so quickly! I've put this in the positives as it is as a direct result of this hugely entertaining and engaging film. When i checked the running time and found that i hadn't been cheated, it became even more obvious that i had been completely engrossed, oblivious to anyone and everything going on around me.

3) The extras are totally worth it! Again, i thought the whole thing ended far too quickly, but when the next disc contained loads more 'fly on the wall' type footage, it was quickly inserted and avidly viewed - and all in one evening. Marvelous.

4) At no point did i get the impression that the tour was dominated by the Welsh. The players and staff are well represented from all four unions, so don't worry if you were one of the Englishmen crying into his Pimms or shandy at the news of the entire Welsh first team being selected to tour, this film really does give you the impression that it was in fact Britain and Ireland on tour. Seriously though, you should love it no matter what country you're from... Well, maybe not if you are Australian. Ha!

5) In comparison to the other DVD's of this series being sold, this one really is a bargain! For a few extra quid you get 5 BD's in stunning HD, all in one box. It has to be the pic of the crop for this reason alone.

6) And finally... Like all good stories, it has a happy ending - we SMASH the Aussie's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fantastic lions., 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not being able to see the games televised I really enjoyed the video, the only disappointment was that there was no footage of the lions when they were not playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars glorious rugby, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i chose this product as I am a rugby fan albeit a grandmother it enabled me to indulge myself to watch some of the breathtaking highlights of the wonderful and successful series I had watched live.a very well presented dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only collection to purchase!, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of the several collections available, this 5disc set is clearly the best. Do not even consider purchasing any other. superb value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clarence with the Lions, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The content of Raw with the Lions is nowhere near as insightful or revealing as the Living With The Lions, but it still provides interesting behind the scenes footage of the tour as it unfolds. The three full tests were a joy to watch, having only managed to see the first one live (in a pub) and in full, and the third test will live on for many years in the memory banks.
There are a couple of problems with the content:
1. During the match footage, the replays tend to blur and judder slightly, giving a double vision effect. This may have happened during the match overage (although I do not remember this) or may be due to the transfer, but in the digital, Blu-ray format this is unacceptable.
2. The test match footage appears to be directly lifted from Sky. People generally watch Sky coverage of sport due to a lack of options rather than preference. This is especially so for international rugby as you get the bonus of having to listen to Stuart Barnes drone out a series of random opinions and his deep love for Will Genia. The ideal option is to watch the Sky footage without any sound and tune into a radio commentary if possible.
The Barnes commentary and much more sanitised behind the scenes coverage mean only four stars, but it's still a cracking reminder of another epic tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Lions, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British & Irish Lions 2013: The Complete Collection (6 DVD) (DVD)
This is the best present I have ever bought for myself. it is good value for money and will keep me entertained during the coming winter. Delivery was first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent record., 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb record of the 2013 tour, particularly as I did not see all the tour games. Great value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old British Lions., 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Accidentally deleted recorded games, so bought DVD. Great coverage plus extras. Excellent value for money, plus get to see the Lions win - again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disc2 Ok, 25 Aug 2013
By 
R. Williams "bobi59" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is annoying music on Disc 1 which drowns the commentary, very annoying! Disc 2 better but disc gets "stuck" now and again, which could be my player rather than the disc!!! Caution needed when buying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa965d348)

This product

Only search this product's reviews