Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album
Have all Dreadzone albums; this one is a real mix of their styles over the years. Other reviewers online have described the different genres in the tracks - suffice to say I generally agree with this analysis; it is certainly more Dreadzone as I like it than the previous album Eye on the Horizon which turned out to be a bit lightweight. Escapades has glimpses of 360...
Published 18 months ago by Pete T

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-Produced
I struggle to see why some are raving about this album.
I found it smooth, bland and over-produced.
Nothing here comes close to the edginess of say Iron Shirt (off 'Once Upon A Time') and mostly it swept over me without leaving an impression - despite repeated listens to 'give it a chance'.

If you are new to this band don't start here.
Published 3 months ago by Barmee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escapades (Audio CD)
Have all Dreadzone albums; this one is a real mix of their styles over the years. Other reviewers online have described the different genres in the tracks - suffice to say I generally agree with this analysis; it is certainly more Dreadzone as I like it than the previous album Eye on the Horizon which turned out to be a bit lightweight. Escapades has glimpses of 360 degrees and Sound which are my favourite two Dreadzone albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise Up - Return Of The Dread, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
D. Bland (Somewhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escapades (Audio CD)
Stunning is the first word I'll use, I thought Eye On The Horizon was a peak, this steps up to the next level. Opening track Next Generation sets the tone, and then comes Man In A Suit, then I Love You Goodbye. Will this album start to level off after such a strong start, errrr no. Rise Up, Fire In The Dark and Too Late then hit you. In between these we get On My Way, Roosevelt High, Places and Music Of The Spheres, equally as good as the up tempo songs adding balance to the whole thing.

Earl 16 and MC Spee vocals are sublime, Lena Cullen adds a different dimension with her great voice, and lets not forget Mick Jones on Too Late, nuff said.

The songwriting and production on the album is top quality, a step forward while still managing to retain the Dreadzone sound we all know and love.

Rise Up Dreadzone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triumph, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escapades (Audio CD)
Yet again Dreadzone deliver the goods! This album is fantastic, it blends all the usual Dreadzone vibes and still sounds as fresh and vibrant as ever. Great to hear collaborations with Lena Cullen and Mick Jones, and to have Tim Bran back in the fold on this album. It's hardly a wonder why John Peel rated these guys so highly when they keep producing some of the best British music available after all these year.

What you get with this album is 10 new, fantastic, bouncy tracks from the mighty Dreadzone....buy it, I promise you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Education Time..., 10 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Escapades (Audio CD)
Love music? Having trouble finding something that really stands out from the crowd? Look no further... This LP raises the bar yet again. Dreadzone can do no wrong, whatever album you buy of theirs you are in for a treat. Even if you start with Escapades and don't get their seminal work 'Second Light' first, you'll be blown away.
As ever they mix different styles of music but with their definitive dub reggae sound at its beating heart.

Production duties fulfilled by one time full member Tim Bran push this onto another level, but the whole Dread family pull together to produce an LP of sublime quality. Coupled with guest vocals from the brilliant Lena Cullen and Mick Jones..I dare you not to like it

If you love them on record, seriously, do not miss them live. One of the best bands out there today and they are playing near you sometime in the future...a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over-Produced, 22 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escapades (Audio CD)
I struggle to see why some are raving about this album.
I found it smooth, bland and over-produced.
Nothing here comes close to the edginess of say Iron Shirt (off 'Once Upon A Time') and mostly it swept over me without leaving an impression - despite repeated listens to 'give it a chance'.

If you are new to this band don't start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Amazing Dreadzone, 13 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: Escapades (Audio CD)
In all these years I never tire I just get inspired. Track TOO LATE is phenominal, I'm playing it on a loop! Another monumental Dreadzone album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dreadzone does it again, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escapades (Audio CD)
dreadzone awesome album just like all other material in past and would highly recommend escapades to everyone who loves all there other stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dreadzone does it again, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escapades (MP3 Download)
Brilliant albumn, such a great mix ...Such a great, different and interesting band, fantastic songs as always. Recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Escapades, 11 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Escapades (Audio CD)
well worth the wait, Dreadzones new album Escapades is a must buy- can not stop playing it- next generation, fire in the dark, rise up and man in a suit my fav so far, but I get so much more out of each track the more I listen. now I need to download all the remixes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best live bands as well...., 9 Sept. 2014
By 
Jai Kingston (Rayleigh Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escapades (MP3 Download)
Love this band and you must see them live. A wonderful mix of sound with dub running through it all. The singer has such versatility and excellent vocals. Please make an effort to listen more than once and see them live. You will not be disappointed I promise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escapades
Escapades by Dreadzone (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews