Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars witty, charming and intellegent
I am also in my late thirties, and I too love this programme. I think it must appeal to those of a similar generation brought up on Mr Benn, Jamie and the Magic Torch etc.

This is a wonderfully imaginative animation. It's simple yet it has a depth that is lacking in much of today's contemporary childrens programming.

It follows the daily adventures...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. B. Smith

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunate
My son loves Sarah and Duck however unfortunately it does not play when you go to watch it here in the US. I was unaware of this prior to purchasing it. I don't think it should have been able to be shipped and sold if it was able to be viewed in the US.. Very disappointing. I am sure however if we had been able to watch it we would have loved it.
Published 6 months ago by Keina


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars witty, charming and intellegent, 13 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. B. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD)
I am also in my late thirties, and I too love this programme. I think it must appeal to those of a similar generation brought up on Mr Benn, Jamie and the Magic Torch etc.

This is a wonderfully imaginative animation. It's simple yet it has a depth that is lacking in much of today's contemporary childrens programming.

It follows the daily adventures of Sarah and her friend Duck. The 7 minute long episodes play out with gentle coaxing from narration by Roger Allam. The dialogue, which at times is quite matter of fact, gives rise to some genuinely funny interactions between Sarah, Duck and the narrator.

Although the show is aimed at pre schoolers, although I think it does appeal to a wider audience and older children would engage with this just as well (and clearly 30-40 somethings too).

Oh, my 13 month old daughter loves this too by the way.

Quack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly magnificent, 26 Nov 2013
This review is from: Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD)
I can only concur with the reviews above. We all watch Sarah and Duck in our house and my nearly-4-year-old son loves it, perhaps in a slightly different way to how his 30something parents both do.

Any programme with a talking pile of wool, a girl who always carries a plate, and a forgetful lady who has a grumpy bag to remind her what she is doing is always going to be a winner.

I have a passion for the satisfyingly surreal and this gentle, odd little programme fills my heart with warmth! I shall definitely be purchasing this when it comes out, and recommending that every person on this earth does the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars undeniably brilliant, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD)
sarah and duck is one of my favorite programmes,its just brilliant,narrated by a much less sweary Roger Allam(the thick of it) the animation is quirky and utterly charming,to be honest i would quite happily watch it with or without my three year old.And i want a duck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait!, 3 Sep 2013
By 
R. Hall "Becci_h" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD)
I think I am looking forward to this DVD release more than my child! It is a fantastic little cartoon (about 7 or 8 mins long per episode) and my 2.5 year old daughter, my 31 year old Hubby and myself love it! It's calm, unassuming, funny and quirky. I wish there were going to be more than just these first 10 episodes on the DVD though - but maybe I'm a bit greedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Television Programme in the History of Mankind, 17 July 2013
This review is from: Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD)
I am 39 years old and this is quite simply the best television programme in the history of mankind.

Buy it.

Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, heartwarming, and just the right amount of strange, 16 Aug 2013
This review is from: Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD)
This series is an antidote to all the limp, irritating, saccharine dross that gets pumped out by Disney. Sarah is real: She's imperfect, naive, funny-looking, and completely charming. Sarah and Duck stories don't necessarily have a beginning or end, they certainly don't have a preachy message - other than perhaps to "find joy in all things".

Her adventures are impeccable observations of a young mind. On her travels, Sarah meets talking rainbows, cakes, and vegetables. She accepts them all without prejudice as her friends. Fantasy and reality are blended in a way that only the very young would be completely comfortable with. Sarah is not pressured to make the "right" decision to solve her gentle predicaments, and often comes up with an unusual approach, whether it obeys the laws of physics or not - just like real a real human child.

The folky and kaleidoscopic music is wonderfully soothing, and complements the deep voice of the narrator wonderfully. The editing is also spacious and calm, making this a perfect bedtime wind-down for pre-schoolers and infants. Importantly for parents, this makes repeated viewing less annoying too.

Sarah and Duck is a BBC gem which revives the tradition of great british children's animation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD)
The best TV programme for preschool children ever made. If you think that's a rash claim, try thinking of a better one. Look up your old favourite on YouTube. I did. I was both delighted and rather saddened that Sarah and Duck beat the Magic Roundabout, and all the others I ended up watching, hands down.

The gentle flow of the programme masks a depth of writing that entertains children and parents, and subliminally educates, often through the interjections of the narrator, a sort of off-screen Uncle character. Roger Hallam voices this role as beautifully as it is written. My favourite character is Scarf Lady's lovingly ignored husband, who has been reduced to an occasionally talking handbag. One of the writers must know a characterful older couple to have had that particular inspiration.

My children (better not forget them) love every character in every episode. This programme is funny and charming. Heaven forfend that the series should ever be withdrawn from the iPlayer. But then you could always buy the DVD, I suppose....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMGOMGOMG ALL OF THE THINGS!!!, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Joanne Blair (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD)
I am ridiculously excited by the imminent release of the Sarah & Duck DVD. My partner and I are in our early 40s and have a 9 month old who couldn't care less about Sarah & Duck. Us grown ups on the other hand end up crying with laughter at it every day. I cannot get enough of it and can often be found doing the Fireworks Dance in our kitchen :D
The release date is just in time for my son's birthday so I'm buying it for my partner and I as a "survived our first year as parents" prezzie :D

This DVD could only be improved by including a billion more episodes. Five stars is insufficient to show how much I love this <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Sarah & Duck, Quack!", 23 Sep 2014
By 
Simon Martin (u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD)
'Sarah & Duck' is an animation series about Sarah, a very kind, polite, 7 year old, with big eyes, pink rosy cheeks, and a green hat, who lives with her pet duck, they both love nothing more than drinking lemon water, or sitting on their favourite bench in the park and having a lovely time on their many adventures together. Sarah & Duck have some equally lovely friends, there is John, (who lives with his pet Flamingo), Plate Girl, (who always carries a plate around with her), Scooter Boy, (who loves going to the park on his scooter), Scarf Lady (Sarah's elderly, forgetful friend, who loves nothing more than knitting) and Bug, (a ladybird, who's home is on a plant in Sarah's house). Sarah is so lovely and kind, she helps John get over his fear of stairs and when Plate Girl loses her plate, Sarah helps her to look for it, she is even friends with the moon, (who she simply calls 'Moon'), "Hello Moon!". Sarah and indeed all the characters are just adorable, as are the delightful stories, all beautifully narrated by Roger Allam, (who also seems to be Sarah's unseen guardian). My favourite scenes are when Allam says things like "your not usually this fussy Duck", "you look dapper today Duck", or "that was one desperate Duck", to which Sarah simply replies, (usually with a giggle first), "fussy Duck!", "dapper Duck!" and "desperate Duck!", other favourite scenes are Sarah & Duck doing the 'Firework Dance', the 'Eye Warm Up', ("left and right and up and down and something close, that's like your nose...") and dancing to the jazz music being played on Scarf Lady's juke box, "it makes your knees bend!". I have bought both Volume 1 DVD, 'Sarah & Duck-Lots of Shallots' and Volume 2 DVD, 'Sarah & Duck-Doubles'. The episodes include 'Lots of Shallots', 'Cheer Up Donkey', 'Cake Bake', 'Bouncy Ball', 'Sit Shop', 'Doubles', 'Big Shop', 'Stargazing' and many more. 'Sarah & Duck' is a lovely, innocent, children's programme, which is rare now and though the series is aimed at small children, (4-6 year olds), 'Sarah & Duck' has gained a huge adult following. I hope the B.B.C. will soon release Volume 3 and 4 onto DVD. 'Sarah & Duck' is the best programme that was broadcast on the CBeebies channel and wonderful it is now available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT...and I guess my little brother thinks it's ok., 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD)
My 4 year old brother being off school, and me being the only person able to look after him, meant that I was going to have to survive a 2 week bombardment of CBeebies. Within the first day I was grinding my teeth at half the shows, and close to tears at the other half (what had they done with my beloved PostMan Pat?!). In a world of blinding colours, pop-music theme tunes and constantly condescending scripting I was quite startled when a simple, bouncy, stripped back tune came on - the theme tune for Sarah & Duck.

I fell in love quite instantly with Duck. Never before had I seen a duck animated with such a wide range of emotions, so easily identifiable, when his only line is "quack". His mannerisms and interactions with the world he lives in had me constantly laughing, and Sarah's wide-eyed and always fascinated approach to the world made me nostalgic for my childhood days.

I'm always forgetting to watch The Walking Dead and Game of Thrones. I never forgot to watch Sarah & Duck. As soon as it was available to pre-order I was on Amazon with my debit card out and not a single regret in my heart; it remains to be one of my favourite DVDs, and I have the next one pre-ordered for the 8th of September.

So there you have it, perfect for 22 year old university students who are feeling a little negative about the world. I'm not 100% how my little brother feels about it though...I never asked him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sarah & Duck [DVD]
Sarah & Duck [DVD] (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews