Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars111
4.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£18.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2013
Bulky and difficult to storetwitch the luggage. Letter racks are figidty and letters get stuck making it difficult to rearrange.
Storing letters in the space provided is not user friendly. Checking the total number of letters after a game before storing is not easy. No specific space allocated for storing the racks.
I cannot recommend this model as a suitable travel scrabble.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
The board is OK, good if for example you wanted to play in a car or on the train... the letters are held firmly in place.

The letter holders are hopeless - we don't use them in factm because it's impossible to get the letters into them!

The whole thing is a bit bigger than I'd hoped.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We use this version all the time as the tiles don't move off the board if its knocked and it's big enough to be used in a normal setting i.e where you would usually use the full size version. The scoring sliders are a bit cumbersome so we never use them just a pen and paper.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Despite some poor reviews, I decided to buy this product to compare it with the Pocket Scrabble set (which is worth considering). After playing it a few times, it's actually fairly decent.

Travel games are indeed pretty fiddly but we quite like this nifty little set.

The game has everything you need, but smaller. The size of the board is a little big for Travel (if you want something smaller, check out Pocket Scrabble) but it closes nicely. The two sides of the board act as lids where you can store tiles and racks. I found storing the racks hard at first until I found that having them with the plastic side upwards make the fit nicely. Phew! Storing the tiles is easy.

The racks should be redesigned, I think. The dimensions mean that the tiles are too tight and stiff in the racks and stay in too deep; a disadvantage for big fingers (not that I have them!). It takes me about 15 seconds to complete a move using a few tiles. The tightness of the racks varies reasonably across the rack (i.e. some places are easier to remove the tiles than others). The good news is, the tiles stay in the rack at all angles. You can close them to protect the racks but the tiles stay in so tight the lid is pretty much irrelevant.

The board is decent, even though there is a reflective plastic above it. The tiles stay on the board well. Be careful when closing the lid though. You may need to push the tiles firmly when they are near the hinge to keep them in tact. Other than that, it's a good board. The scoring sliders are a little cumbersome. They are easier to use on the smaller Pocket Scrabble set. The tiles are also of a good design; clear and rigid.

As much as I'm happy with this set, which I use regularly when practising alone (I am a Scrabble junkie myself!), I would strongly recommend Mattel to listen to customers. They should consider a rebuild and make it more user-friendly. The Pocket version is worth considering, which uses magnetic tiles that you cut off gently from a grid with a pair of scissors. It's also smaller than the Travel edition. The set is good for travelling but I think it's too complex. Older versions had tiles with corner pegs underneath and the corners of the squares had holes drilled in so the tiles fit. Storing away was a simple as putting it in a box. This new design is not as popular. I think Pocket Scrabble is a little better overall.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Travel Scrabble new version has been returned as the tiles do not fit securely in the grid when the box is closed.
The tiles are too tight in the holders and therefore they cannot be moved around with any ease. The tiles do not fit the grid properly and the grid is hard to read. All round a totally disappointing Xmas purchase - bring back the old version !!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
The paint on the letter tablets is not set and therefor each tablet has green smudges which makes them difficult to read.
Very disappointed
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
The new version of proper scrabble is just a wooden board with nothing to hold the tiles on. This is much better- who cares if the tiles are a little smaller?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
The tiles were tight in the racks, the last ones did not always fit in and the tiles could not be moved along. .In bright daylight you could not read the double and triple 'indicators' because the plastic board was very reflective, we had to position ourselves right over the board to read them. -this was sitting on a hotel balcony on a nice day- not an enjoyable game at all.
We have played and enjoyed scrabble for over 50 years and our old travel scrabble has one tile missing so we bought a latest one which we have now returned and will continue to use the 30 year old set.
As a retired Chartered Engineer and designer I think that the new version is very poorly designed
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
This product is much bigger than it seems, it might be "travel scrabble" but you wont be playing this version while you are traveling. It seems like a well made product with slots for the letters so they don't slide about but the base is unnecessarily huge and is made from hardened plastic.

The photo of the base folded up gives the impression that everything fits into 1 convenient carry case, thats not the reality though, the letters and letter holders go in the green bag and you will have to carry the bag separately to the board/base/plastic box. This results is quite a large object that you have to carry.

This might be useful in a caravan where suitcase/bag space is not an issue but this is pointless for any other type of traveling.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Very bad build quality. The board won't snap into a flat position, not allowing play on anything which isn't a flat surface. Even on a flat surface the board will sometimes not stay flat. Some of the score controls are also not steady (i.e. they will move on their own and not keep an accurate score) and others are very stiff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)