Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 September 2007
Akala's first album was utterly brilliant with a relentless track listing. Freedom Lasso mixes it up a little more, with more slower tracks, some singing and some gentler themes (love being one). The album is incredibly strong and apart from a couple of miscues (such as the Siouxie Sioux sample), this is more great stuff from Ms Dynamite's kid brother. If I had to pick, I'd say "It's not a rumour" is a marginally better album than "Freedom Lasso" - but not by much. Both albums force you to listen to his lyrics, though. Welcome to the mind of a brilliant young artist, concerned with his environment and with the guts to speak out against the cliches.

Akala is without doubt the most honest and talented rapper in the UK right now. Sway and Kano are good, but Akala is better. In terms of self-awareness, his music reminds me of the daisy generation of hip hop - De La Soul, Tribe Called Quest, Monie Love, Neneh Cherry etc. In terms of raw aggression, he reminds me of Public Enemy, NWA and Ice-T. (Thing is, listening back to PE & NWA now, the politics seems a little naive). He answers all my criticisms of hip hop and brings it back to the its birthplace. He keeps hip hop relevant.

Kanye West is concerned about conflict diamonds, but he still rocks plenty of bling. Akala doesn't learn about social issues from the latest Hollywood blockbuster - he's well read and knows his history.

However, this album is not limited to being "conscious" - it's also got great tunes. Akala's skills continue to progress - certainly far more versatile and fearless than Kano.

He should be more than an underground- or UK- phenomenon. He's so good, that I doubt he'll get the recognition he deserves. Be one in the know and get both Akala albums.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2007
Akala is a rap artist that isn't afraid to speak his mind, and here he shows just how he goes from strength to strength lyrically. Whether commenting on the nature of rap superstars keeping it real, his upbringing and life, or name-checking the works of Shakespeare, he proves a captivating performer. This release is a more mature and assured collection, and sees Akala go from rapping at the speed of light to breaking it down and even singing on some tracks. Not falling into the lazy trap of the glut of 'Guns and Girls' hip hop artists, he comes across as an intelligent and articulate alternative.
Musically many bases are covered, with creative use of samples and a variety of backings including piano, rock guitar and even violins. Beats range from scattershot hits, to more laid back grooves, but all the while delivering that satisfying punch.
Akala deserves continued success and an increased audience. As a voice for urban Britain he is in a class of his own, and the sheer enjoyment derived from listening to this album makes it one of the best of '07.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2008
Akala, is by far, in my view, the best UK hip hop artist. His debut "It's Not A Rumour" was truly sublime. I rarely write reviews but this album is just sheer quality, i was condemned to write a review. There may only be 10 tracks, (11 if you count the iTunes bonus track, i'm gone) but don't let the shortness put you off purchasing this album, it truly would be your loss. The guy hasn't got nearly as much recognition as he deserves. The album's opener "Electo Livin" is just amazing. There are never any lows on this album, it's just high after high, quality from the moment you press play right through until the final track has finished playing. I have this CD on constant rotation, it has been out a while now and it is still on constant rotation. It isn't that hard to listen into, his words are easy to digest but yet he does touch upon many matters, it's a very intelligent album, from quite obviously a very intelligent and talented artist on top of his music game, it puts most US artists to shame. If you enjoyed his debut or are just contemplating buying something new, seriously consider a purcahse of Akala's second album "Freedom Lasso" you will not be left dissapointed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2008
First of, this album is great, and is easily in my all time top ten. I believe Akala is the best rapper out now and criminally underrated/unrecognised. He is always experimenting with the beats and sound which is what hip-hop is all about. This could very well be raps zenith, especially when compared with the stagnate American market.

Akala touches on many issues, as many of the other reviewers have mentioned, but what has got me especially gripped is the philosophical approach he employs in songs such as 'something inside my head' and 'I don't know' the latter deserving special praise. He is our Lupe Fiasco only better.

His music can be so absorbingly esoteric. You will love it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2008
Agree completely with PB's review except on one point. The Samples throughout are faultless! Social comment, humour, sincerity, a decent (but never excessive) splattering of ego (about his justified pride and confidence to out rap his peers) delivered via the best quality spitting I have ever had the pleasure to hear. On track after track Akala is clear, insightful and never fails to be making a powerful and relevant point.

My special mention is to the single release "Comedy Tragedy History" which includes the fastest rapping I have ever heard. It starts impressively but come the middle of the tune you can't help but grin as he just goes to a whole new level. But this is not about one stand out tune, great samples, great lyrics and poetic skill...it is about someone who has a handle on all of it. A Hip Hop master-class from one of our own! To build on PBs comment, I was a bit embarrassed listening to an earlier US Hip Hop classic in comparison straight afterwards.

I love this album! I love it musically, lyrically and as the presentation of ability and talent by a young british Londoner who has refused to allow his urban surroundings and expectations hold him back.

As he amusingly refers to during this album, no one was listening last year (they should have been - "It's Not A Rumour" his 1st, is also truly exceptional). People certainly have no excuse not to be listening now!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2008
Freedom Lasso is sonically beautiful. 'Comedy Tragedy History' is a perfect track and the best on the album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
was excited with this purchase then get to track 8 my favourite song and it doesn't work and then turns off
I put another cd in my sound system and that was absolutely fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
the product was great. not as great as the more hip hop sort of albums. but a very good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
Akala is a genius
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)