Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value and 2 albums on CD for first time!
I don't think Evangeline or Thirtenn have ever been released on CD before so I have bought this package for those 2 albums and they alone would be worth the price. However, you get 5 albums by this wonderful singer for a super price. The classic Roses in the Snow is the best of the albums and wonderful performances in a bluegrass style. Simply superb. Whites Shoes is a...
Published 15 months ago by Musicfan

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Loved Vol I, Vol II not so much. Which surprised me....
Published 4 months ago by Midnight_Voice


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value and 2 albums on CD for first time!, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Original Album Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I don't think Evangeline or Thirtenn have ever been released on CD before so I have bought this package for those 2 albums and they alone would be worth the price. However, you get 5 albums by this wonderful singer for a super price. The classic Roses in the Snow is the best of the albums and wonderful performances in a bluegrass style. Simply superb. Whites Shoes is a rock effort which is very stylish and has some great tracks. including Drivin' Wheel and In My Dreams. Very good. Cimarron is not one of her better known albums but it should be. Fantastic tracks include Rose of Cimarron, If I needed You (a duet with Don Williams) and a cover of Springsteen's The Price You Pay. Simply superb and Emmylou at her best. Now to the 2 rarely if ever released on CD albums. Evangeline......the first track I ever heard Emmylou sing was her brilliant cover of Bad Moon Rising.......there is a duet with Waylon on Spanish Johnny and lots of other good songs although I am not sure Mister Sandman fits this album (50s pop?). Perhaps not her best but still very good and well worth a listen. Thirteen is another much ignored of her albums and I have never understood why because I think it is very very good. Her duet with John Anderson on Just Someone I used to know is brilliant. Mystery Train has a great rhythm. Her cover of Today I started loving you is excellent and she also covers the toe tapping cajun Laccasine Special. This 5 albums cover pop, rock, honky tonk, country rock, rock, bluegrass, cajun, country in a style in which only Emmylou can sing. She is convincing in whatever she sings and very versatile. She makes cover songs her own. She sings some great origianl amterial. Her band throughout is superb. Volume 1 of this set is brilliant.....Volume 2 is a great follow up and is a fantastic listen and is fantastic value. For those of who love great music. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a bargain, 2 Sep 2013
By 
H. Bruce "music lover" (edin scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
First up no comments re lack of lyrics etc, put simply 5 discs for around £3each from one of greatest singers in last 40 years BARGAIN..... Biggest attraction is the inclusion of Evangeline and Thirteen two albums never released on CD before. Out of five Roses in the snow &White Shoes are 5's, all the others get 4 --- quite simply this is a must buy for anyone who loves great singing with impeccable song choices and top drawer instrumentation, all of country music from bluegrass to modern is here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the great releases of the series, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
While not as good as Vol. 1 By Emmylou Harris, this is a great release, and as other have pointed there are 2 LP's released for the first time on CD and there is also a very hard and expensive to find cd Cimarron. The only one to be considered a classic here is Roses In The Snow but there is much to enjoy in these cd's, in spite of the fact that some songs were aimed to boost sales and some decisions in the song's choice are too commercials.

I love the versions of Rose Of Cimarron and of Evangeline, made me think Harris could record a whole album of the Band's music. I could imagine her singing The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down and making a great version. Roses in the Snow and thirteen are very solid albums, the other three have their ups and downs.

For people discovering Harris for the first time I would recommend Original Album Series which is a real bargain and is full of great songs. This one if a must for all collectors of Harris music or the genre. Those in the middle would have to decide what to do by themselves. I cant decide for everybody :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection at an excellent price., 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Most Emmylou fans will have these albums as I do but this is a fantastic collection to have as well at a great price. Those unfamiliar with her work are advised to grab this whilst they can!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Hunt, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
This very interesting in that to my knowledge two of these albums, "Evangeline" and "Thirteen" have never been released on CD before. Probably because they were not among Emmylou's best sellers, Warner Bros. passed them over when they were churning out dismal versions of catalogue material. Lucky for us, in order to release this package Rhino had to master this pair of gems for the first time, and apparently decided to do it properly. The other three titles in this packaged have been released before and with the exception of "White Shoes" have even been re-mastered. My unsophisticated ear cannot be certain they have been re-mastered again for this release, but they certainly sound good. The quiet records are quiet and the loud ones are not. What we end up with is three of my very favorite Emmylou Harris Rockier albums bookended by two excellent traditional country albums, and not a bad one in the bunch. I make no attempt to critique the music, if you have read this far, you must be a fan. I have avidly collected Emmylou's music since her days with Gram Parsons, and this contains an eclectic batch of cover versions very few artists could pull off if they were fortunate enough to share her good taste. If you are a fan of Emmylou Harris, you must have this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
If you have not listened to any of the music of Emmylou Harris this is certainly a good introduction to her music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Emmylou, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I bought these to obtain Evangeline and Thirteen on CD as I have the former on vinyl but not the latter. However I do have the other discs with bonus tracks and it's a shame these were not included. Reading the sleeve notes is a trial and requires a good magnifying glass!! The music is excellent though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mother Load Part Two, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
To get five albums at this price - wonderful
To get hard to find emmylou albums with this quality of production - superb
To rediscover so many of her early tracks - fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain price and a hard to find release included, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Another in the original album series releases and a great bargain. The price I paid works out at less than £2.25 per CD - I paid double that for just one of the albums when originally released on vinyl, and we've had 20 years or so inflation since then! The albums are from what I regard as the second phase of Emmylou's career, with various influences coming to play - great stuff. The inclusion of one of her best albums "Cimerron," which has hitherto been difficult to find on CD, is a great bonus. Some have criticised the original album series generally for non-inclusion of, or difficult to read album notes, but hey, do you really need them?, and I'm extremely happy with the value of the CDs alone. Delivery was within a few days, good service from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original album vol 2, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Emmylou Harris in my opinion is one of the best female singers around...love all her music and this is a fabulous album...thank you so much Emmylou!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series Vol. 2
Original Album Series Vol. 2 by Emmylou Harris (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews