Customer Reviews


367 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (73)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (70)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A TONGUE-IN-CHEEK 'ACTION' OFFERING'
Another dose of over-the-top action in the highly enjoyable and explosive
'Die Hard' series.
This time our hero 'John McClane' travels to 'Moscow' to rescue his estranged
son 'Jack' from imprisonment.
'Jack' is involved in secret-service ( C.I.A ), 'John' had no idea that was the
case, till now that is.
After a superb car-crunching car-chase...
Published 13 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely abysmal borefest
I should be given a medal for sitting through the most boring film of 2013, from start to finish the whole experience was one brain numbing endurance test. Why even bother giving this the DIE HARD tag when, ever since the first two, they have effectively altered and ruined everything that made the first 2 films uniquely enjoyable. Why not go back to basics and have it...
Published 6 months ago by P. D. gray


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely abysmal borefest, 27 Dec 2013
By 
P. D. gray "ChaplinFan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Good Day to Die Hard [DVD] (DVD)
I should be given a medal for sitting through the most boring film of 2013, from start to finish the whole experience was one brain numbing endurance test. Why even bother giving this the DIE HARD tag when, ever since the first two, they have effectively altered and ruined everything that made the first 2 films uniquely enjoyable. Why not go back to basics and have it set in one, confining location (skyscraper/airport etc) when its McClane going all over, indoors...outdoors its just another action pic. Why also have they insisted on teaming Willis upwith SIDEKICKS (younger guys), McClane is a classic LONEWOLF character surviving on his wits, if I wanted teamwork Id watch Lethal Weapon. The nail in the coffin is Willis himself....he clearly made no effort, his performance is abysmal and he might as well have worn a t-shirt saying IM BORED...JUST HERE FOR THE PAYCHEQUE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Die Hard at its worst, 11 Jan 2014
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Good Day to Die Hard [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really wasn't expecting much, especially after the last film, although I was hoping that it would at least be an entertaining, if silly action film. While it doesn't exactly fail on that score it's far from great. It's a shame because it actually starts quite well. The initial set up had promise, there's some Russian political skullduggery followed by John McClane finding out that his son is in trouble with the law in Moscow.

Things get going pretty quickly and father and son encounter each other by chance at the start of a crazy chase across Moscow. They don't get on, which seems fair enough, the chase sequence is substantial, silly, but reasonably entertaining and it has an excellent truck.

Unfortunately things go down hill from that point, father and son discover that they both have a knack for killing people and that provides an instant bond and off they go. The plot gets sillier with each twist and comes to a conclusion in Chernobyl - although it manages to fail at using the inherent creepiness of the location.

As a Die Hard film it's pretty poor, it has Bruce WIllis against the bad guys, but it lacks a decent bad guy and more importantly it lacks the tension of him being alone against a superior force and the feeling that he's managing by the skin of his teeth to make an impact. Here he's just a gun wielding hero with no real sense of peril. On the bright side there's a few half decent wisecracks and of course the infamous line.

As an over the top action film it's not terrible, but there's better films out there to get your action fix, like the original Die Hard perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dodgy film - dodgy disc, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Day to Die Hard [DVD] (DVD)
I had heard the reviews of this latest Die Hard but felt it must be watched to comment. Personally, for a family that have always enjoyed the DH franchise, this one was absolutely abysmal - such a disappointment - how can it be so bad compared to DH 4?. From the story line to the acting - it was so poor. Even the children were asking for some of the ridiculous (even for Hollywood) car chase scenes to be fast forwarded as they were just so boring and unimaginative. I am afraid that this is only ever going to be watched the once and sold on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, poor Die Hard offering, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Good Day to Die Hard [DVD] (DVD)
Without giving too much of the plot away this film is worth watching. As just a film it is not bad at all. It has some good action sequences and is reasonably entertaining,
However as a Die Hard film it is weak. Easily the weakest of the Die Hard films. And although I would say it is worth watching I am not in a rush to see it again.
The usual format for Die Hard, the lone good guy beating scores of bad guys in a desperate situation is lost here. And although this film could be praised for having originality as a Die Hard film it doesn't feel like a Die Hard film. If it wasn't for the fact that the main character is the same we would not know that it was a Die Hard film.
The film is set in Russia and there are many scenes that rely on English subtitles to clarify the dialogue. This was something that I found irritating.
Much of the film is in the dark. Another pet hate of mine. What are producers trying to hide in dark poorly lit scenes?
There are some good action scenes but there is a much slower pace than previous Die Hard films. And the film is shorter than the earlier films. Although it was just the right length since actually the plot is also a bit thin.
Generally its worth watching once, but not a great Die Hard film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yippee .... k .... no no no no, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: A Good Day to Die Hard [DVD] (DVD)
Oh dear ... oh dear. You could kind of tell from watching this that Bruce Willis knew that this was possibly the worst mistake he has probably ever made. An absolute car crash of a movie. Incoherent plot, bad acting and, worst of all, terribly directed action set pieces. Please do not waste two hours of your life on this ... please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extended Cut is EVEN WORSE!, 10 Jun 2013
By 
A. Horsley "Adi" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Blu Ray review - I should have known better. I went to the cinema to see this and I was appalled at the 12A rating, most of the violence was toned down, the cursing was cut and the experience was a massive disappointment.

Then I saw that there was an extended harder cut, exclusive to Blu-Ray - being a collector of film franchises, I couldn't help myself and bought it. Bad move. Although the extended cut restores some of the violence and swearing, it actually CUTS a few of the redeeming features from the original theatrical version! Gone is the scene with Lucy McClane driving her Dad to the airport and also excised is the uplifting ending with the McClanes meeting up back in the USA. Instead we're "treated" to an even longer car chase - and that's it.

On the upside, the extras are worthwhile - although the Maximum McClane featurette is simply a montage of scenes from Die Hard 1-4 which only go to remind the audience of how good these films used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good day to retire, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: A Good Day to Die Hard [DVD] (DVD)
As a big die hard fan I was expecting a good movie. Saddly the makers of this just didn't care and filmed enough footage to get to 90 min. The fact it was released in Feb (a dumping ground for movies in general) says something.
+ The much critised car chase is actually a lot of fun and is what the rest of the film should have been like
+ Only 90 or so mins
- The villans are really forgettable, which is amazing given Thomas Gabriel, Hans and Simon says in the early enstallments
-The plot starts out being faintly involving and then becomes incomprehensible
-The team up attempts to replicated the Sam Jackson-Willis one form 3 and falls largley flat
-The ending is weak and overblown on cgi. The last 30 mins or so are very dull
Also, I think a series can be classed as 'jump the shark' on the abroad or russian entry (see Rocky)
Extras: Two small trailers. Around 7 deleted scenes. Aviod all except one which is a rather lane fight but about the only one in the movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You know all that stuff you loved about Die Hard? This has none of it, 8 Jun 2013
By 
Gamelover2302 (Rutland, Great Britian) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Good Day to Die Hard [DVD] (DVD)
Oh how the mighty have fallen. One of the most iconic film franchises reduced to this. Let me explain why this film annoyed me so much.

The original Die Hard trilogy holds a special place in the hearts of most fans of action films. Back then (and it's much the same now) most action films had a lot of explosions, a lot of stunts and over the top scenes, but were a bit short on character and story. The Roger Moore Bond films are a key example of this. But then Die Hard came along, and we had a main hero who got hurt and who felt mortal. He wasn't a super spy, or a general in the army. He was just a man at the wrong place at the wrong time. That made him feel much more relatable than other action stars of the time.

That's all gone here. John McLane is now being thrown off helicopters without a scratch, having clips of heavy machine gun fire emptied at him with not one bullet coming close. I'm quite tempted to buy the DVD so I can watch the deleted scene where John gets injected with the Super Soldier serum. OK, so Die Hard has abandoned its roots. But is this still a good film?

NO! The script is absolutely terrible. If you drank one shot of vodka every time John McLane says "I'm on vacation" you would die of alcohol poisoning. You can't hear half the dialogue over all the music and explosions. In another film, that would be a bad thing. But since the script here is so terrible, and the acting is sub par (Bruce Willis does his best, but you can only do so much with this material), you're actually grateful for the bits you couldn't hear. And John McLane's son is an annoying whiny brat who never stops complaining about John not being there for him. Mind you, if John McLane was my father, I'd disown him - every time he shows up, terrorists appear.

This film is just horrible. It's sad to see such a great franchise fall this low. Please, please don't buy this. If you want an action film with a good plot, get Jack Reacher, Skyfall or the original Die Hards (1 is my favourite, but 2 and 3 are still good). If you're not that bothered about story, get The Raid, Avengers Assemble or Dredd. I hope this franchise does die now.

Verdict: 1/10. Infuriating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappoitingly rushed, 16 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Day to Die Hard [DVD] (DVD)
I like Die Hard films,they are the best christmas fims ever and the fourth especially was such good fun,so when i heard a new one was coming out I was thrilled.

What a let down! It starts off ok,typical Die hard stuff we like,nothing too difficult to think about but reasonably entertaining,but then it just suddenly ends and you don't really know what has happened!

You get the feeling,not alot of thought has gone into it,maybe,it's the franchise and they needed more money or did Willis (after being booted out of the expendibles)? but,the film really should have been 30-45 minutes longer,and at least something should have been done at the end to improve the story.I know we like big explosions in these films,but it seems that one bang and the set was destroyed so we end it now?

Buy it from a charity shop for 50p,otherwise you've been robbed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Good Day to Die Hard!, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Good Day to Die Hard [DVD] (DVD)
As he prepares to fly to Moscow to discover why his estranged son Jack has been arrested for murder, John McClane is handed an Idiot's Travel Guide To Russia by daughter Lucy (Mary Elizabeth Winstead). But is soon caught in the crossfire of a terrorist plot.

The charismatic, wise-cracking John McClane that makes the other movies special is nowhere to be seen in this mess of a film, with a make-it-up-as-we-go-along script, lifeless acting and no heart.

The reason why 1988's Die Hard is so iconic, beloved and imitated is down to its economical, no-nonsense simplicity. (One cop, one building, 13 terrorists. It's hardly rocket science, is it?)

But with each successive installment, the franchise has traveled further away from it's amazing best.

In all, just about watchable, only once though!!!!

Die Hard [Blu-ray]
Die Hard (Two Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [1989]
Die Hard With A Vengeance [DVD]
Die Hard 4.0 [2007] [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Good Day to Die Hard [Blu-ray]
A Good Day to Die Hard [Blu-ray] by John Moore (Blu-ray - 2013)
9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews