Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars40
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2014
Bought only a single arm for Allcam MDM05 (dual 24" monitor setup) as I thought this to be a direct replacement for the shorter arm. To my disappointment I found out that this arm does NOT replace the short arm part of the Allcam MDM05, but must be inserted between the existing short and the long arm with some detrimental effect.

1 - Not what I thought it was: This long arm is NOT a replacement for the short arm part (the monitor bracket part will NOT fit directly into this arm).

2 - Not really fitting: The part with the thread is not quite long enough for a correct installation with all components (1x large washer, 1x small washer and 1x spring washer). At least the large washer need to be removed, which in turn may cause damage to the lackered surface between the two arms during final installation (hence only 3 stars, it can be used somewhat, but I think it is not ideal).

3 - Visual impact (if it matters): If used with MDM05 (Dual monitor setup), you will need two (2) of these arms, in order to keep both monitors aligned at the same height. The difference in height is about 38mm if only one arm is used.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
Simple enough to assemble and adjust, instructions and diagrams are good. You will need some additional tools.

You will need a cross-head screwdriver and an adjustable spanner or an appropriate spanner for fitting the tray, they supply the spanner and Allan key for the the arms and the swivel but nothing for tray.

It is a bit fiddly getting the cables into the ducts, I found the easiest way was remove the ducts, fit the cables in to the ducts and then fix the ducts in place. This requires that the hight of the assembly is adjusted last so that you have room to get a short screwdriver under the lowest arm of the assembly.

Be aware that the lip at the front of the tray obscures access to front edge of the laptop which is a problem if you have audio ports or switches on the front edge of your laptop. You may need to be 'remodel' the tray to suit your laptop or live with the limitation.

You may find that you need to extend the assembly with an additional MDM Long Arm Module if your desk is deep, it just depends on how near you need the screen to your sitting position, which can be an issue if you use glasses for computer work or reading.

In addition the heads of the screws holding the tray to the swivel head on the arm sit proud and can scratch the bottom of your laptop. You can use some of these 33 Assorted Anti-Skid Pads felt stuck to tray to raise up the laptop sufficiently to prevent it rubbing on the screw heads and it also increases the air gap under the laptop for ventilation.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
I have 3 x 27" monitors, connected using 2 Allcam poles on the desk.

On one pole is 2 monitors using 3 arms each to give enough width to fit them side by side. (The kit came with 4 arms, so I needed to buy 2 of these long arms in order to have enough length for these screens)

On the other pole is 2 arms. The monitors are 2 Dell 27 inchers that are very heavy and one is a light BenQ. The full kit holds them perfectly and I can rotate them them about. You just need to make sure that you use the spanner to tighten each arm very tight to prevent sag, once this is done it's all fine.

I didn't expect this kit at this price to be able to hold such large and heavy screens so kudos to Allcam!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
Nice enough bit of kit but if you buy the Vesa Bracket by itself be aware it doesn't come with any nut to attach it to the arm... it has a nice screw stud, but you will have to work out size and get hold of a nut and washers yourself because they are not included. Bad! Totally ruins the system and makes it un-recommendable. Buy something else!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Nice and solid, only trouble is that I use a docking station for my laptop and the tray at 290 mm deep is not deep enough to support all of the docking station when it is connected to the laptop. The docking station overhangs the back of the tray by about 40 mm. Not too much of a problem as long as I am careful when connecting and disconnecting the laptop.

The main problem is that the support arm that came with the laptop tray did not come with the required number of nuts and washers for assembly. It was missing one M8 nyloc nut, one 25 mm washer, one 8 mm spring washer and one 8 mm plain washer, all of which are used to fix the shaft of the star shaped end piece onto the last arm. Fortunately I had all of these parts to hand but it might be annoying for others to have to try and source them.

Only other comment I have is that the whole thing is only as stable as the desk you are fitting it to!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
This is a great stand for your laptop. Very sturdy and easy to assemble.
I only have two issues with it.
First, there is no way to adjust how the arm joints are configured so even in it's lowest position your laptop sits pretty high off the desk.
Second, the screw for mounting the tray to the arm are not flush with the surface of the tray and there is nothing to guard against these scratching the bottom of your laptop. This is unfortunate but can be remedied with a small sheet of felt, ART & CRAFT FELT FABRIC PADS SHEETS SQUARES 8 COLOURS PER PACK A4 SIZE(20X30 CM) SPECIAL OFFER. FREE 4 PACK WITH EVERY 8 PACK PURCHASED or pads 33 Assorted Anti-Skid Pads felt There are foam pads for the bottom lip though and these are quite thick. It's a pity they didn't supply something similar for the back.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
They seem to have differing length bolts for the first arm, versus the 'extension' arms.
This one only goes in that first position, attached to the mount on the pole, so it cant be used as a second or third piece in the chain, at least not without giving up on the nut. It depends if you are concerned about it moving.
I'm not sure how much use I'll get from it, but it isn't worth me sending it back as it's only a few pound!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Extended the basic stand so that I could hold three 19" Dell LCD monitors. Allowed the screens to be vertical or inclined at any upward or downward angle for comfortable viewing. Allowed the side screens to be turned inwardly, at a shallow angle with respect to the central screen to "surround" the viewer, for comfortable viewing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
The stud does not protrude far enough through the arm to which it is being attached, to allow the nylon insert in the nut to engage.

The suppliers suggestion was to leave out the washer. I've done this though it's not a 100% remedy.....and why were the washers supplied in the first place if they're superfluous?
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
I have 3 x 27" monitors, connected using 2 Allcam poles on the desk. A 40cm pole came with the dual screen set up but I needed another as the set up couldn't hold 3 27 inchers on one pole due to weight issues as Dell screens weigh a ton.

On one pole is 2 monitors using 3 arms each to give enough width to fit them side by side. On the other pole is 2 arms and a single monitor. The monitors are 2 Dell 27 inchers that are very heavy and one is a light BenQ.

These poles can be screwed tight to the desk and have a footprint big enough to prevent sag. Just bear in mind that the pole and the base clamp to hold it to the desk are separate products so I ordered this, was excited to use it right away then had to wait until the base clamp was ordered. I got it from their website so remember to do this!

I didn't expect this kit at this price to be able to hold such large and heavy screens so kudos to Allcam!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)