Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action and style
This is one of my favourite DVDs, the first Steven Seagal film Isaw,and the reason I started my collection,one I play again and again,the combination of Voodoo, martial arts and storyline makes this a memorable film,wonderful setting and scenary, well worth my5 star award.
Published on 7 Sep 2002 by Coral Bailey

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION!!!
THE BBFC HAVE CUT IT TO PEICES!!! Don't even bother buying it. Get the NTSC region 1 version or a Dutch import. The fight scenes are heavily cut and really, it ruins the whole film and is very evident - and I mean they will cut out an Aikedo arm break or a knife slash or stab or sometimes an entire fight with an individual. The BBFC are insane choppers of movies even...
Published on 1 Feb 2010 by John Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action and style, 7 Sep 2002
By 
Coral Bailey (Nottingham, Notts England) - See all my reviews
This is one of my favourite DVDs, the first Steven Seagal film Isaw,and the reason I started my collection,one I play again and again,the combination of Voodoo, martial arts and storyline makes this a memorable film,wonderful setting and scenary, well worth my5 star award.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION!!!, 1 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE BBFC HAVE CUT IT TO PEICES!!! Don't even bother buying it. Get the NTSC region 1 version or a Dutch import. The fight scenes are heavily cut and really, it ruins the whole film and is very evident - and I mean they will cut out an Aikedo arm break or a knife slash or stab or sometimes an entire fight with an individual. The BBFC are insane choppers of movies even intended for adults of 18 and over.
THEY are the ones who need to be censored!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vast improvement, in more way than one!, 13 Oct 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big fan of Steven Seagal, so much so that I have every film he as released to date across multiple formats, but even the most ardent of fans surely cannot deny the considerable drop in the quality of his output.

There has been a gradual decline in production values from more or less his first few films, there have been the ocassional glimmers of hope offered but these are very much few and far between unfortunately.

This film, 'Marked for Death', is generally considered to be one of his very best outings, released in 1990 it was an early hit but further established him as one of the leading action stars following 'Nico/Above the Law' Above the Law [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import], Nico - Above The Law [Blu-ray][Region Free] and 'Hard to Kill' Hard to Kill [Blu-ray] [1990] [US Import].

The film has a pretty standard storyline for this genre, but it has a pretty strong cast and a particularly memorable villian in 'Screwface'; the fight scenes are some of the very best from Seagal's career and the film is both tightly scripted and directed, with a couple of classic one liners eg. "One thought he was invincible, the other thought he cold fly............ they were both wrong"!

I won't take the time here to provide a synopsis of the storyline, I can imagine that there are few purchasing this Blu-ray who have not seen the film at some point, I will instead concentrate on the reasons as to why someone who may already own this film on DVD should re-invest in this high definition version from America.

Ok, first things first, this Blu-ray disc is REGION FREE.

Secondly the disc casing whilst having the same general dimensions as UK versions is the thinner American type, measuring 10mm thick (rather than 15mm), I only mention this because it may bother some, personally I think I actually prefer them!

The running time of the feature is 93 minutes, the UK DVD release is 89 minutes, and therein lies the first advantage of this version, it is UNCUT.

Just about all of the Region 2 DVD releases of Steven Seagal's early films (ie. the best ones!) have been heavilly censored; I actually first became aware of this several years a go when I purchased the Region 1 DVD version of 'On Deadly Ground', this much maligned film certainly has its faults but I simply could not believe just how much better the longer uncut version was.

And so it is also the case here.

The main difference is that the scenes of violence are generally just that little longer, the camera shots linger just that second or two more when a limb has been broken for instance, but trust me when I say that it makes a huge difference. With my Region 2 DVD version I have always found the fight scenes in this film to be badly edited with them appearing clearly cut, always changing to another angle as the actual trauma occurs, in this version they flow much more realistically and the breaks that Steven Seagal applies to the various villians limbs are far more gratuitous with the camera lingering on the shot for that few seconds longer, this version of 'Marked for Death' feels like a quite different film and the violence at times is graphic.

The film has many additions to the fight scenes, in fact just about every violent encounter has additional footage, and although there are no major alterations to the actual story, what changes there are do add up to it being very different to the UK version.

With regards to the audio and visual improvements, they are superb.

This Blu-ray release of 'Marked for Death' delivers everything and more that you could hope for from a 1080p High Definition transfer of a film that is now over twenty years old.

I have played it side by side to my DVD version for comparison and the difference in clarity is that of 'night and day', the sharpness of the image on the surface textures is very impressive indeed, I would actually go so far as to say that it is the most impressive Blu-ray transfer of a back catalogue film that I have seen to date. The original DVD version was not of a particularly good quality, I was already aware of that, but when comparing it to this version I simply could not believe the difference; I have watched this film a fair few times of the years, probably 30+ when I think about it, and I would say that it almost felt like I was watching a different film, I simply could not believe the amount of detail and features that I had not previously noticed!

The sound is also excellent, although it is not such a huge improvement as the picture, the upgrade to 5.1 DTS-HD from the DVD's Stereo is still very noticeable; despite these audio improvements I still have to use the subtitles to understand the villians (those familiar with this film will know what I mean!).

With regards to the subtitles they are provided in just English and Spanish; the aforementioned audio track is provided in English 5.1 DTS-HD, English and French Dolby Surround and Spanish Mono.

The disc is absolutely bare bones with the menu screen just offering 'Play', 'Set up' (audio & subtitles) and 'Scenes'.

Overall I am really pleased with this Blu-ray; despite already owning the film on DVD (and VHS before that!) it has still proved to be a most worthwhile acquisition, with the added bonus of having additional footage that improves the film on top of the massively improved picture quality, thus making it a justifiable purchase for anyone regardless of whether they already own it on DVD or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NO DOUBT SEAGAL'S MOST VIOLENT MOVIE, 29 Nov 2008
By 
MARKED FOR DEATH is a great action film - and also marks the most violent film of his career.I have no idea why the BBFC finally passed this one uncut, while some others remain heavily edited.
MARKED FOR DEATH - having been wrongly accused as being a racist film - features more bone cracking action than any film I have evers seen, as he attempts to bring down the Jamaican drug dealers that have invaded his hometown. Together with an old buddy of his he takes them on bear handedly and soon finds himself marked for death by their occult leader who uses voodoo.
Combines action with a bit of occult horror and very strong violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region Free!!!!, 14 Nov 2012
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last, this classic film gets the release it deserves: full length, uncut and hi-def! And the good news is, I can confirm this US import is a region free Bluray!!!

If you're reading this, chances are you've already seen Marked For Death about a hundred times and know it's not only Segal's finest film, but just a great action flick in its own right. If you haven't seen it - watch it!

All the usual Steve Segal Akido and undercover badass is here - but mixed in with it is a theme of voodoo, black magic and Jamaican Yardies, which makes the film immensely enjoyable to watch.

This film spawned some of the greatest lines ever committed to film and one of cinema's most terrifying villains in the shape of Screw Face, played brilliantly by one Basil Wallace.

Scene after scene is totally incredible, whether its a fight scene with Segal or Basil delivering a captivating, spooky and terrifying performance. And there are so many brilliant monologues and one liners that vocal samples taken from this film virtually kept the Drum and Bass and Jungle scenes alive in the 90s.

Great fun, brilliant acting, incredible fight scenes, a non nonsense story, a great twist and non-stop action - what more do you want? Screw Face is mesmerising to watch and even More so in HD, so if you're a fan of the film buy this region free Bluray now. It's an absolute classic!!!

Until your copy arrives in the post here's a few of the best lines to refresh your memory and keep you going:
"E'ry body wan' go heaven... nu'body wan' dead!"
"Who kill 'im, de white boy Hatcha?"
"If a man commit a crime against you - he must be paid back, a t'ousand times!"
"Screw Face give me a t'ousand deaths worse that you..."
"You a do tha selling... you a' be tha mule."
"Don' worry... i's not ya body we wan'... it's your spirit."
"Let no man stray from the pat' dat I 'ave prepared!"
"Me a'carve yer now bwoy, me a carve yer... I got you where I want you now, you like a dog without teeth!"
"I wan' Hatcha dead! I wan' him family DEAD!!!!... an' if you can' kill him, I gon' kill him...... an' then I go kill you."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Screwface, mon VS de Whiteboy Hatcha, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Marked for Death is a bit of an anomaly in the early, golden-age of Seagal cinematic rampages. The man was virtually owned by Warner, but M4D was released by Twentieth Century Fox. As his third big screen movie, it's not really THAT much different from the rest of the vintage. Once more he's out for revenge/justice, and is hard to kill and above the law as he does so.

Seagal plays John Hatcher, a ruthless DEA agent who lives the life of killing/maiming absolutely everything and everyone in sight. There's virtually no one he hasn't killed. Tired of making death a living he retires to the cozy, strictly white and middle-class Lincoln Heights suburb of Chicago. Upon arriving home he greets all his old pals, and his mother who appears to be Italian or Spanish (another lame attempt by Seagal to quietly imply that he's got some mysterious roots when in reality he's Steve Seigel, an Irish-Jew). It's not all happiness and handshakes though, as the terrifying Jamaican Voodoo Posse, run by Abu Qua High Priest madman Screwface, have infiltrated Chicago and are dealing death to schoolkids.

Irie, Irie.

Hatcher wants nothing to do with it, and would rather just mind his own business despite the protest of best friend Max (a mostly wasted, but brilliant as always, Keith David). But after a couple of close encounters Hatcher just can't help himself and returns to the business of killing absolutely everyone and everything in sight.

Basil Wallace, as Screwface (and Screwface), is honestly one of the most enigmatic, mesmerizing, and downright weirdest movie villains of the 90s. He's really, really out there. I recommend watching this with the subtitles on as you'll have absolutely no idea what the Jamaicans are saying. Some of the things they say, while being mostly gibberish, are highly quotable. One of Screwface's many quirks is the fact despite his millions and magic powers he spends his spare time sitting around playing dominoes with his minions while wearing the world's best jumper.

Director Dwight H. Little handles the action competently, if not brilliantly. The fight scenes and chases are relatively straight-forward, but in terms of story coherence the editing is all over the place. It appears that the original cut of the film was in a different order, and had much more plot. There are several established threads (the Voodoo, the Professor, the Columbians, the FBI) that are never developed. At 93 minutes, M4D is too rushed and has a rather abrupt ending.

James Newton Howard provides a score that is sporadically brilliant, much like the movie itself. There are some lovely cues in there, but overall it's brought down a few notches by the generic nature of the rest of it. If only a few more elements of M4D were developed and taken a few stages further we would have had a true classic, as it is it's merely low-brow entertainment with a truly bizarre and outrageous villain.

The Blu Ray is a MASSIVE improvement on the DVD (which was just a direct port of the flawed 1991 Laserdisc). In fact it may well be the best DVD-to-Blu Ray transition so far. You've not seen all of M4D until you see this Blu Ray. Sporting a 1080p 2.35:1 picture with more information on the left, right, AND TOP of the screen, the film is presented with it's true, naturalized cinematography and correct color timing. The DTS HD-MA sound is also a big improvement. Sadly, Fox denied us any extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars action packed, a real pulse pounder. Bloody excellent!, 26 April 2000
By A Customer
Seagal gives a superb effort, full of blood and fighting. I would say the best in the whole collection. The action deliveres non-stop. It'll keep you on the edge of your seat right the way through the film. EXCELLENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cut to pieces, 24 Aug 2010
This release of this movie has had most of the nasty unarmed combat scenes watered down or cut out.Look for the Dutch version which is uncut and far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Segal, 14 Feb 2005
How can anybody not love this kind of movie? They're so much fun, (although this being Segal, it's a little more brutal than most Hollywood action movies). Forget the plot just asssume Steven Segal: Good kicks the ass of the Rastas:bad. I love the Rastafarian stereotypical bad guys. Love Segal's trademark bad acting (why can he never keep his head still when he's talking?) More importantly love Segal's fighting. He really was a hard son of a gun at the time of this movie and he obviously loves dishing out the punishment, in nearly every scene. That's what's great about Steven Segal, he doesn't shy away from the brutality in his early movies, and I love him for it.
This movie isnt going to win an oscar but for wam bam thank you mam style violence, Segal is the king. Check out Nico, Hard To Kill, and Out For Justice as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "One Thought He Was Invincible,The Other Thought He Could Fly, They Were Both Wrong", 11 April 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dvd Info.
Region 2, dvd uk release minor BBFC cuts, Region 2 version Amazon France uncut, Region Free Blu ray uncut.
Running time 89 minutes approx.

1)Keep a eye out for a cameo by Danny Trejo as the man Seagal stuffs into the boot of the car in the films opening.
2)Glamour model Terri Weigel appears in this film credited as Sexy Girl 2, "I completely agree".
3)Danielle Harris featured as Jamie Lloyd in Halloween 4 & 5 & as Annie in the remake & sequel, Some of her other credits include Urban Legend, The Last Boy Scout & more recently Hatchet III.
4)Dwight H.Little directed Halloween 4 starring Danielle Harris & Rapid Fire starring the late Brandon Lee.
5)Keith David movie credits include The Thing, They Live, Pitch Black, Chronicles Of Riddick.
6)Basil Wallace featured briefly in Rapid Fire as a FBI agent directed by Dwight H.Little.
7)Elizabeth Gracen featured in tv movie Death Of The Incredible Hulk, Highlander & it's spin off series Highlander:The Raven.
8)Steven Seagal wrote & performed the song John Crow with Jimmy Cliff.

Synopsis.
Chicago DEA agent John Hatcher has just returned from Columbia were a undercover drug operation went disastrously wrong resulting in the death of his partner.

Burned out Hatcher quits & returns to his hometown to seek solace with his sister Melissa & her daughter Tracy.

But when a Jamaican drug posse do a drive by shooting marking Hatchers family for death results in his niece Tracy getting shot Hatcher with the aid of his old childhood friend Max decide to take down the drug posse led by voodoo obessed Screwface.

Hatcher is determined to bring Screwface & his drug empire down the only way he knows how using his marital art kick ass fighting skills & the use of hi-tec weaponry.

Hatcher & Max team up with undercover agent Charles as the trio travel to Jamaica for a final dramatic violent showdown with Screwface & his gang of posse.

Timelord Thoughts.
This is your typical old school Steven Seagal action movie as the pony tailed annoyed looking one delivers some excellent kick ass fight sequences.

Using his skills in akideo Seagal delivers a full on hard hitting action classic taking down Jamaican drug dealers & their voodoo obsessed leader Screwface, An excellent chilling performance by Basil Wallace.

Buyer be warned though the uk dvd version has minor cuts to fight sequences & the opening shootout scene , I'd recommend the Region 2 France import which is uncut & in english language with english dvd menus or the Region Free uncut Blu ray.

A classic action movie that showcases Steven Seagal at his fighting kick ass best.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marked for Death [Blu-ray] [1990]
Marked for Death [Blu-ray] [1990] by Dwight H. Little (Blu-ray - 2013)
9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews