Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars461
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2000
How can words describe one third of this films goodness? It is a remake of the classic film but with brilliant actors such as Richard Attenborough as Kris Kringle. When Dorey Walker (Elizabeth Perkins) hires a seemingly insignificant elderly gentleman (Kris Kringle) to be their Cole's Santa she has no idea of the success it would bring Cole's. Just as every thing in life is peachy, Cole's rivals decide to discredit Santa by framing him. When it goes to court to decide weather Kris Kringle is a nut case as he believes he is Santa it is up to the judge to decide if Santa Clause is real, Challenging all that is good and pure about Christmas.It's time to ask your-self "Do you believe in Santa" Ofcourse I loved this film, how could I not. It's Christmas magic brought my whole family together last year as it will this year. Christmas lover or not, everyone will love this miracle, from age 4 to 400. I strongely suggest you take 109 minutes of your life watching this film.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2005
This is the most perfect christmas film you will ever see. I look forward to watching it year after year and christmas is not complete without it. The actors are great especially the young lady playing susan. The storyline is wonderful and follows Kriss Kringle in his bid to prove Santa Clause really exists. Are you a believer? Watch this film and make your own mind up! So glad to see it arriving on Dvd.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2002
Every year on Christmas Eve, my mother and I sit down to watch this video together. Why? Because not only is the storyline fantastic but so is everything else. The actors and actresses are excellent especially the little girl who also played Matilda. The music and setting is beautiful. Buy this film and make your Christmasses come alive.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2000
How can words describe one third of this films goodness? It is a remake of the classic film but with brilliant actors such as Richard Attenborough as Kris Kringle. When Dorey Walker (Elizabeth Perkins) hires a seemingly insignificant elderly gentleman (Kris Kringle) to be their Cole's Santa she has no idea of the success it would bring Cole's. Just as every thing in life is peachy, Cole's rivals decide to discredit Santa by framing him. When it goes to court to decide weather Kris Kringle is a nut case as he believes he is Santa it is up to the judge to decide if Santa Clause is real, Challenging all that is good and pure about Christmas. It's time to ask your-self"Do you believe in Santa?"
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
I love this film and as a tradition, my husband and I watch it every Christmas as it is always on the tv at some point! Last year we were away for Christmas so I had to buy a copy so we could keep up the tradition! I love the film, it's complete escapism from every day life, with a touch of magic and romance thrown in! What more can you ask for at Christmas?!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A delightful re-make of the 'Edmund Gwenn' 1947 classic.
Young 6-year-old 'Susan Walker' who has long since decided
that she no longer believes in 'Father Christmas'
Her Mother works at the local 'Coles' store and after using
'Kris Kringle' to replace a 'drunk' Santa on the parade, she
persuades 'Santa' to be the Christmas Santa at the store.
Young 'Susan' is taken too the store to see the Store Santa
by her mums boyfriend.....after chatting to 'Kris' for a time.
'Susan' wants to believe again.
A rival store out of jealousy has 'Kris' set-up on an assault
charge hoping to publically expose him as a fraud, 'Kris' does
profess to be the real-deal.
Young 'Susan' keeps faith in her new friend and is rewarded by
'Santa' for her loyalty.
A terrific family movie, the update to the 'Blu-Ray' format is
pretty good.
UNASHAMEDLY BRILLIANT VIEWING
A must 'own' and 'watch' as the season of good will approaches,
'A GEM'
There are no addition features on-board.
'Have yourself a very merry Christmas time.....
''GREAT FILM FEATURING THE LEGENDARY 'RICHARD ATTENBOROUGH'
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2004
Out of all the films which have a santa in them, i have to say that this is probably the best and is definately my personal favourite christmas film.
The story is basically this; Kris Kringgle is the department santa at 'Cole's' and when rivial toy stores realise that they are losing business, they set about trying to get rid of what they concider to be, an old loony who claims that he is santa. But they are very wrong...
The plot of the whole film is great and by the end, it had even convinced me that there really is a Santa. The acting can't be faulted, especially from Richard Attenbourgh who plays the role of Santa very convincingly.
If you are looking for a nice festive film that you can warm to immediately, and that the whole family can enjoy, then this is the film for you to buy.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2003
A great festive film for children & adults alike.
The story is very easy to follow for young ones & it's one that they warm to immediately. If you're looking to watch something together as a family over Christmas then this would make an ideal choice.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2008
I watched this film as a child, then as an adult, and it always amazes me. Another truly heart warming Christmas film! Richard Attenborough portrays a wonderful Santa Claus, with his remarkable acting skills! It does not matter what age you are with this movie, old or young, it will warm your heart at Christmas time, with a few laughs along the way.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Although not as cute as the 1947 version, this version is nevertheless a good remake. This blu-ray has excellent picture quality. It has English and French Audio, and English and Spanish subtitles, that's all. A greater selection of lanuages and subtitles would have been more desireable. Audio quality excellent.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse