Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent compact introduction to the EU, 30 Sep 2013
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The European Union: A Very Short Introduction

I like this series of books. For me it keeps me doing something between Cornwall and Paddington on frequent journeys to the City.

This book is a gem and taught me more about the EU than all the newspaper and internet searching I have done on it. I feel with the European elections coming up and all the debate on whether we should be in or out I need to get the big picture rather than the political peddling we get from the political parties.

This book, although short, goes into a lot of detail about how the EU has evolved and works. It is written by a political expert and I did not find it biased at all. I feel I now have the intellectual tools to make informed decisions on the EU and how the UK integrates into it along with its future role.

The writing style is text book like but very informative and useful. You need to know a little background to get the best from it but most people would find this a useful read. Students of politics will find this a very useful starting place on how EU policies are made and enforced.

Overall a great little book from a very good series on lots of topics. These books are also inexpensive and compact and in the series there is something for everyone.
I like this book very much as it has armed me with the facts so that I can make informed decisions when discussing our EU position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact and Informative. Factual but Interesting., 27 Oct 2013
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The previous reviewers have done an excellent job in supplying `A Very Short Introduction's of their own to this important little book. It remains for me just to add my own humble approval.
As we will be expecting to vote on the conditions of British association with the rest of Europe in the near future the responsible approach is to gain information that is clear, concise and correct. In the succinct chapters which cover the origins of the EU, how it literally works, its relationships with the other states of Europe and the also the rest of the world and of course those dread items The Common Agricultural Policy, The Budget, Single Currency and Single Market these criteria are met.
True, the EU is portrayed in a positive light, but there are enough abbreviations, boxes displaying organisation and facts you did not know to also put you off by revealing the very size of the EU. You have the information. How you view it is your choice.
If you do have definite opinions or concerns about The EU then this book is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timely new edition, 28 Nov 2013
By 
I. N. Terry (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A very timely fully updated 2013 edition of this well-established volume and series - if we want to dig a little deeper than a TV programme or a newspaper article allows then this compact volume fits the bill. The language and tone are authoritative, informative and to my mind objective on this very emotive subject. The glossary needs continual reference to keep on top of things and the chronology is a very handy summary of key events. If we are going to consider whether UKIP deserves our vote, then we should read this little book first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Resource For The European Union, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. C. Bleakney "Colin Bleakney" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although this particular series of booklets are referred to a "A Very Short Introduction," the content nonetheless is detailed and expansive in terms of both accurate information and useful facts.

The fundamentals of European integration are set out as well as the argument for the need of integration.
The writer, John Pinder,follows a federalist system for both integration as a guiding principle and as he say's "were states are likely to remain as central actors for the foreseeable future."

The reader will be challenged throughout this book to look at the development of the EU to date and then to decide whether they lean toward a federalist or intergovernmental approach in judging the way the EU should go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to love the EU, 7 Nov 2013
By 
C. J. Tyler "cjtbrocco" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is so much unbalanced journalism about the EU and its institutions that I felt duty bound to read this. The authors' enthusiasm for the "European project" is clear but they don't ram their feelings down your throat. This is very important reading for all who want to feel informed on advance of the possible referendum on EU membership. Highly recommended for its clear explanations and comprehensive coverage of EU history and institutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four star book, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Ms. C. R. Stillman-lowe "Cathy SL" (Reading Berks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This 3rd edition is fully updated and superceeds the earlier ones in this handy series which has reached 350 titles. There is an annotated bibliography, a chronology, a glossary,and at the front a 3 page list of acronyms (this latter is indipensable since any discussion of the EU is full of them including this one and they are difficult to memorise).

The EU is not an easy subject but this book provides a good entry to it,and an understanding of it is essential to all European citizens.

Four out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY USEFUL FOR GAINING BASIC EU KNOWLEDGE!, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a University student and I am studying the European Union and my lecturer recommended this book for basic knowledge. It is extremely useful and it is well detailed on 'Europe in the World'.

Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars European Union: Institutional View, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Dr. Bojan Tunguz (Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
European Union is one of the most ambitious and expansive political projects in history. Its ultimate goal, it is now quite clear, is the unification of almost all of Europe into a single political entity. The project has grown from its rather modest origins from a purely economic organization into what is now one of the most important political and economic unions in the World. However, both the path to this point and the future ahead are beset by numerous challenges.

I've been eying this short introduction for a long time. As someone who is originally from Europe and who still has the majority of the family members living there, I cannot really afford to be ignorant of the events on that continent and its political structure. However, I am now glad that I've waited to purchase this book in its third edition, since it now includes mentioning of Croatia. Since I am now officially an EU citizen, I have even more reasons to try to understand it the best I can. After reading this book I certainly have much more appreciation for all the intricacies of the EU's political mechanisms.

This is a very detailed book with a lot of information and facts strewn throughout its slim 150 pages. It takes a largely chronological approach to the Europe's integration, and goes into some detail in explaining various policy decisions. The book assumes a fairly neutral point of view, aiming to inform the reader rather than to shape his or her opinions. The third edition is thoroughly updated and includes all the major developments up to 2013. However, as witnessed by the tumultuousness of the ongoing economic crisis, all of the European institutions are still in the state of flux, and it is very likely that the fourth edition of this book will be in order before too long.

Even though the book is well written and extremely informative, it is still a pretty dry read. Various policies, political and economic maneuvers can feel rather esoteric, technical and opaque. The book's view of EU is highly institutional, without much scope for deeper ideas or relevance to the daily lives of most Europeans. This is probably the reflection of how most Eurocrats view their project: as an ongoing bureaucratic venture that is almost an end in itself. There might be many virtues to this attitude, but it sure doesn't manage to inspire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I need to read it, but I heard a lot about it from my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you wanted to know about the EU but were afraid to ask, 27 Oct 2013
By 
J. Mann - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found this book a fascinating read, and since it is into the third edition of the book I imagine plenty of others have enjoyed it to.

It contains pretty much everything you might want to know about the European Union. It begins with a very good history of the EU and how different countries have joined over the years - I believe there are around 28 countries as members at the moment.

It gives an excellent account of how countries really get things done through what might be called "trading" - if you do this, I'll do that. Right when the EEC was getting started the Germans wanted an Economic Plan, the French a Common Agricultural Policy and the Italians a Social Fund, so they all agreed to what the others wanted, and things got moving.

A similar example happened much later - in 1990 the Germans wanted a united Germany, but the French were keen to move forward with a Single European Currency - the Germans were happy enough with their Deutschmark but agreed to the single currency to unite Germany.

The book deals with the "two pillars" of the EU - federalism and inter-governmental agreements. Essentially countries in Europe have common problems that it often makes sense to try to deal with all together. They also don't want to allow other European countries to "race to the bottom" by for example cutting costs with worse health and safety or environmental regulations, so they keep a level playing field in many areas. In other cases countries want to do things differently - sometimes this can be individual countries all doing something different, in other cases some countries can group together without everyone having to do it - as in the case of the Single Currency.

There has long been a hope that European countries might be able to rationalise their defence spending by having a common defence force, rather than individual countries each having to fund a separate military, but so far such an agreement has proved elusive.

There are a number of interesting topics - there are still a number of countries who want to join the EU - Turkey in the 1960s wanted to join and was told to wait for 22 years (!!) - in the 1980s - after 22 years - they still wanted to join - and talks are still ongoing. There is some concern about the impact having Turkish membership would have, as in the not too distant future it would be the largest country in the EU, however it would of course enlarge the EU and make the economic and political clout of the EU even stronger - at a time when Europe needs to be strong against the USA and China.

There are plenty of charts and facts and figures - it shows who benefits and who pays out economically between the different countries, shows the different political parties in the EU, shows the different trading and political "zones" in and around Europe, of which the EU is of course just one, and a map of members and those who are applying for membership.

It was thought when the last batch of countries joined things might get economically chaotic, but in fact the new member counties have been fairly quiet, it is the older member countries such as Greece, Italy and Spain that have caused some problems, but it is hoped that now plans are in place to deal with the economic challenges.

It is extraordinary to thing what the EU might be in 10-20 years time if it keeps growing. Will it still be a "European" Union?

The book also reveals how strange it seems for UKIP and some elements in the press to want to leave the EU when so many other countries want to join it. It would be like a region of the UK not wanting to send an MP to Parliament to "save money" - when of course Parliament would still exist and you would have to deal with it, but in not sending an MP you would no longer have any influence there. The UK will still have to trade with Europe and would have to abide by European standards and rules in order to trade, but in not being members would be unable to influence EU policy.

This is quite a long "Very Short Introduction" - I usually think of VSIs as about 100 pages, this is about 177 pages, so is longer than most, however it is full of fascinating information and if you are interested in politics, history or economics you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews