Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where Ellie's journey began
Over the last few years I've read quite a few comic book tie-ins for films, TV and games, as more creators increasingly look to use the medium as a distinctive and cheaper way of telling new stories (especially prequel tales, like TLoU: American Dreams) from a fictional universe rather than simply adapting the story we already know (a practice referred to as transmedia...
Published 8 months ago by Heather

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Last of Us: American Dreams
The Last of Us: American Dreams reveals to us, the story of how Ellie met Riley. While not a necessary read in regards to the main campaign, but if you intend to play The Last of Us: Left Behind, I would suggest reading this graphic novel prior to playing Left Behind. Left Behind is essentially a direct sequel to American Dreams, so somethings maybe lost to the player...
Published 3 months ago by Sean Creagh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where Ellie's journey began, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Over the last few years I've read quite a few comic book tie-ins for films, TV and games, as more creators increasingly look to use the medium as a distinctive and cheaper way of telling new stories (especially prequel tales, like TLoU: American Dreams) from a fictional universe rather than simply adapting the story we already know (a practice referred to as transmedia storytelling by the industry and 'aca-fan' Henry Jenkins). The problem with a lot of these additional stories (whether produced in comics, books, games or webseries) is that they often feel restricted by the stories of the major films/games/TV series they're attached to: few add much to our understanding of the characters, seem to carry much consequence for the 'main' story, or keep enough of what we love about that story whilst establishing their own identity and going in novel directions. In the worst cases, there seems to be little point to them beyond providing promotion for the main release.

The Last of Us: American Dreams doesn't entirely escape the difficulties that come with creating a new story that adds something to our experience of the game whilst not being unrealistically touted as 'required reading' before we pick up the PS controller (no doubt Naughty Dog knows that only a small fraction of people who play TLoU will ever read the comic). For one thing, anyone who's completed the game and knows how things turn out between the comic's main characters, Ellie and her friend Riley, may be surprised and perhaps disappointed at where the comic's story ends and may find it all a bit slight (although I'm sure the game's first single-player DLC will pick up this thread). At the same time, though, American Dreams is one of the strongest and most interesting comic tie-ins I've read, and it definitely establishes a distinct identity. If the game left you wanting to know more of Ellie's story (and I don't know why it wouldn't!), you could do much worse ahead of the DLC's release than give this comic a go. It's only 4 issues long, pacey but not especially complex story-wise, and not as dialogue-heavy as, say, the similarly post-apocalyptic Y: The Last Man, so it's a quick read and is not worth paying over the odds for. It probably goes without saying, but this story also does not feature Joel, so anyone looking to see more of Joel and Ellie's relationship would be disappointed in this instance.

Without spoiling too much, American Dreams is essentially a teen story (it starts out as Ellie arrives at a new [military] school and endures bullies, punishments and the tough business of finding a friend, but thankfully moves out of this setting by the second issue), dealing with teen rebellion, anger, and the two girls' desire to carve out meaningful identities and future adult lives for themselves. These familiar themes gain added poignancy from the post-apocalyptic setting, where life is usually brutal and short and truly caring adults and mentors are hard to come by. As the short story unfolds over the course of one night, Ellie's friendship with the seemingly more self-assured and streetwise Riley provides a nice way of exploring these ideas, especially when the story takes a turn that is admittedly predictable but also credible and well-executed.

Stylistically it will not be everyone's cup of tea, but Faith Erin Hicks' artwork suits the story well: she's done teen stories before and her style is quite similar to fellow Canadian comics creator Bryan Lee O'Malley's art (Scott Pilgrim, Lost at Sea). She handles the quiet and haunting moments of the story effectively, and even though the vibrant visions of nature reclaiming the streets that were so memorable in the game are disappointingly substituted for images of grey desolation and emptiness, the backgrounds are generally decent and their spareness makes the action easier to follow. The one place where the comic's style does really fall down for me is the inevitable encounter with the infected. The Runners and Stalker lose their menace in the transition from the game's realistic visuals to Hicks' cartoonish images - the more gruesome Clickers would have been a more effective choice.

Hicks and Neil Druckmann, the game's creative director and writer, handle the writing, preserving Ellie's spiky personality whilst understandably writing her as a more inexperienced character than we see in the game. There are a couple of moments that don't quite work for me from a logical standpoint, but nothing too jarring. Julian Totino Tedesco's cover artwork is an absolute treat, and he captures Ellie's appearance really well.

I imagine that the comic could be comfortably read before, during or after playing the main game. It doesn't spoil anything in the game's story (or, more importantly, contradict it), but instead enhances it, albeit in understandably pretty modest ways. The upcoming DLC is likely to have a far greater impact on how well it feeds into and complements the game, but for the moment it feels like a solid extension of the story and much less like a redundant cash-in than many comic book tie-ins. Big fans of the game may well want to check this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to Ellie, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us: American Dreams (Kindle Edition)
Great story and can't wait to play the DLC and see how the story with Ellie and Riley ends. I mean, we know how it ends, but I want to see the road until there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for any 'last of us' fan, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really expands on Ellie and Riley's back story ,well worth a read if you need another last of us fix 😊
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's not a whole lot of story here, but it does fill in story details about how Ellie and Riley met, and how they met Marlene, which is near the end of this small novel. Not too much action, but I can't get enough of the TLOU universe so I decided to buy into this. Might be worth getting this before you play Left Behind, on TLOU Remastered on PS4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us: American Dreams (Kindle Edition)
This is great gives a lot more back story to ellie

It is short but worth the read

Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Last of Us: American Dreams, 6 May 2014
By 
Sean Creagh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last of Us: American Dreams (Kindle Edition)
The Last of Us: American Dreams reveals to us, the story of how Ellie met Riley. While not a necessary read in regards to the main campaign, but if you intend to play The Last of Us: Left Behind, I would suggest reading this graphic novel prior to playing Left Behind. Left Behind is essentially a direct sequel to American Dreams, so somethings maybe lost to the player if they don't read the graphic novel prior to playing Left Behind.

In regards to the story American Dreams tells, it is a nice brief insight to how Ellie came to Boston and when she met Riley and Marlene. As I have mentioned previously, American Dreams is not an essential read if you only intend on playing the main game, so in that light American Dreams is an average story on its own, with no real great depth, but tied with Left Behind the story is fantastic, especially for fans of the original game.

Faith Erin Hicks art, in my personal opinion, was the one thing that drew me out of the experience when initially of reading American Dreams. I found that her art style and interpretation of Ellie and the world of The Last of Us, was a bit too cartoon like. I think Fiona Staple's art style may have enhanced the initial experience. However with that said, you begin to warm to Faiths style, and it soon becomes a vital part of the overall experience.

Overall, American Dreams does not tell an amazing story, but it is a nice little companion to The Last of Us, especially Left Behind. If you have no interest in playing the DLC, then you're missing nothing by skipping this graphic novel. I would say this is a book only for those looking for a nice little addition to The Last of Us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great prequel to the game, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love The Last of Us, you will love this just as much, it's great to have a little back story to the characters you've grown to love, it really does help immerse you into the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comic, 9 April 2014
By 
L. Mcveigh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good, especially if you love the game but lengthwise for the cost it could have been a longer read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved American Dreams! After playing Left Behind I wanted more and this was perfect! A great price too as it's all four comics in one book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For anyone who has played The Last of Us, this is an excellent addition to your collection. Art is quite stylized and may take a few pages to get used to but does an excellent job of capturing the character's personalities, particularly Ellie's. Overall an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last of Us: American Dreams
5.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews