Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too polished
The Quireboys as a live band are unsurpassed. A dingy booze filled venue with Spike bleeding good time rock 'n' roll can't be beat. So why is this record so sterile? Chris Tsangarides' has sucked out the usual Quireboys vibrancy and left us with a taste of what might of been. There's some great songs just itching to burst free from this hermetic production. And the...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. Simon Marsh

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I've been a fan for a good 25 years and found this rather pedestrian once I got passed the excellent opening number. Spike's voice does a great job with some rather dull songs and I'm struggling to agree with the rave reviews here. One of the best live bands you will ever see and they are lovely blokes but this one didn't reach me. Nice cover though...
Published 6 months ago by Manxie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too polished, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Simon Marsh (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Curse (Audio CD)
The Quireboys as a live band are unsurpassed. A dingy booze filled venue with Spike bleeding good time rock 'n' roll can't be beat. So why is this record so sterile? Chris Tsangarides' has sucked out the usual Quireboys vibrancy and left us with a taste of what might of been. There's some great songs just itching to burst free from this hermetic production. And the drum sound.... poor is not the word - so lifeless!

So even though I hate the production this gets 4 stars as I love the Quireboys, but the record need to be remastered by someone who will let the songs come alive. Damn Shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Curse, more like a Magical Spell, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Curse (Audio CD)
I would recommend this album to all fans of good Rock 'n' Roll. It is a welcome return to what The Quireboys do best, singing and playing excellent songs that will lift you, pull on the heart strings and make you sing along. Spike's voice is still delivered with that rasp that oozes like honey. For me, this album is as good as their first, which still takes some beating, but this follows nicely.
It has been a long time coming, but it was worth the waiting, for 12 fantastic songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker by one of the most underated British bands., 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Curse (Audio CD)
4 years since their last excellent album and the Quireboys do it again . Yes you do know what you are going to get ,but when it this good familiarity breeds big smiles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Jun 2014
By 
Manxie (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Curse (Audio CD)
I've been a fan for a good 25 years and found this rather pedestrian once I got passed the excellent opening number. Spike's voice does a great job with some rather dull songs and I'm struggling to agree with the rave reviews here. One of the best live bands you will ever see and they are lovely blokes but this one didn't reach me. Nice cover though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. J. May (nottingham,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Curse (Audio CD)
reminded me why i got into the quireboys in the first place a work of art a master piece brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Rock 'n' Roll, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Curse (Audio CD)
Awesome record folks ......hell yeah !!!!!!
Buy it and rock n roll all nite long with drink n a wink n a smile hahahahahahahahah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Gem, 4 July 2013
By 
C. M. Mckenna (Not specified) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Curse (Audio CD)
We have all waited so long for this album and it was well worth waiting for. Why the Quireboys are not more widely known is a total mystery, as their live shows never fail to entertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, shocking production., 16 July 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Cruse "Tc" (CHELMSFORD, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beautiful Curse (Audio CD)
The Quireboys are England's best pub rock band. Fun, brash and full of booze.
I have been following these guys since the days of the Marquee gigs where the audience often drank the bar dry! I even saw them one New Years Eve which was the best celebration of a new year I have attended!
Their albums, whilst not quite living up to their live performances, have always been worth purchasing.
I bought 'Beautiful Curse' and played it but just didn't bond with it! It took me a few plays to realise...there is no bass drum!! And the bass guitar is very very light in the mix! This is shocking. For a band and a quality producer to pass an album off like this is just wrong! It's either broken or unfinished!
I really wanted to like this album. The songs are good but sound far too lightweight due to lack of bottom end.
My main question is, has anyone seen The Quireboys' bass drum? It's gone AWOL!
Such a shame because the songs are well crafted and have a shelve life!
But save your pennies and go and see them live instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love 'em, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Curse (Audio CD)
If you lioke good old fashioned british rock 'n roll you can't go wrong with this band. Seem to have a better following abroad than in the UK but this is a good compliation as ever from this seasoned band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grubby Rock 'n' Roll at it's best!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Curse (MP3 Download)
The Quireboys are definitely influenced by The Faces and The Rolling Stones and Spike's vocals add to the Faces ambience. 'Too Much of a Good Thing' uses 'All Right Now' by Free as a launch pad before erupting into an air-punching anthem. 'King of Fools' and 'For Crying Out Aloud' have the Stonesy raunch factor. 'Talk of the Town' and 'Mother Mary' have discernible Mott The Hoople flavours in the organ-guitars configurations. Spike's voice is marinated in Marlboro and could be described as a force of nature when rasping on 'Chain Smoking'. This album is what the Quireboys always did but now they do it better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beautiful Curse
Beautiful Curse by The Quireboys
Buy MP3 Album£6.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews