Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made of Class! ....Review of Shane Meadows 'Made of Stone' DVD Release
Bought it, watched it, loved it. Director Shane Meadows ( 'This is England' 'Dead Man's Shoes') doesn't go down the biographical route in his documentary which celebrates the reforming of 90's Icons The Stone Roses. There are no probing and intimate interviews with Ian, Mani, Reni & John its simply all about the music and fans as it should be.

However for...
Published 11 months ago by Dave Griffiths

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Band, the film is medicore but any fan will enjoy it
Make no mistake, for anyone with more than a passing interest in the Stone Roses this film will be a great trip down memory lane. I love Shane Meadows but I think he made this film as a fan rather than a director looking to make a top notch documentary. I loved the film and I thought the insight and performances into the lead up to the gigs (which I attended) were very...
Published 9 months ago by Fran_2013


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made of Class! ....Review of Shane Meadows 'Made of Stone' DVD Release, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Dave Griffiths (Sutton Coldfield, West Mids) - See all my reviews
Bought it, watched it, loved it. Director Shane Meadows ( 'This is England' 'Dead Man's Shoes') doesn't go down the biographical route in his documentary which celebrates the reforming of 90's Icons The Stone Roses. There are no probing and intimate interviews with Ian, Mani, Reni & John its simply all about the music and fans as it should be.

However for 'newbies' to the music of the Roses their history gets documented in narration by the band themselves with revealing archive footage and TV interviews. Shane Meadows has been unfairly criticized by the the odd reviewer for not adopting the inquisitive journalistic approach in this documentary but for me and countless others I'm sure he was perfectly right to focus on the music and fans and not the personal lives of individual band members There are countless biographies around on 'The Stone Roses' so the message is resoundingly clear, if your after more in-depth personal information on the individual band members go buy a book or surf the Internet and rightly so.
Shane, a huge Stone Roses himself, lets the camera roll and lets the music and fans do the talking. There is wonderful rehearsal and warm up gig footage that ends with their culmination gig at Heaton Park. When a free gig at Warrington is announced on the day the gig was to take place itself Shane is there with camera in hand to capture devoted fans arrive unceremoniously as they queue in hope and sheer desperation to get one of only 1000 tickets issued.
There are some great moments here as fans talk candidly about their love of the Stone Roses and how the music has meant so much to them in their lives. As with the age of the band members many are middle aged people now. Some arrive with their various memorabilia from back in their youth when The Stone Roses first exploded onto the British music scene with the debut self-titled album in 1989. Stories of children being quickly dumped at childminders, people coming in their paint covered overalls, lies being told to employers to get out of work, all for the chance of being one of the lucky few to acquire a ticket.
Later on during their warm up gigs in Europe an incident in Amsterdam results in drummer Reni walking off stage and things unfortunately go from bad to worse as he decides to go home. Shane decides to bypass the details of this event in the film other than suggesting it could have stemmed from a monitor problem that Reni had experienced on stage. I think Shane was right to do this as things behind the scenes were clearly volatile at this point and I'm sure Ian, Mani & John as well as their band management had more important things to do at the time rather talking about it on camera.

Its then onward's to Film's finale at Heaton Park as Shane films the band in all their reformed glory as they perform a guitar fest 15 minute version of' 'Fools Gold'. John Squire may be 50 years old now but he hasn't lost one ounce of his talent. He's even better. He demonstrates yet again what a dynamic Guitarist he is and why he deservedly came 13th in a BBC poll of the most influential guitarists from the past 30 years.
Its John's guitar playing that defined the Roses sound as with Liam's voice in 'Oasis' without either musician both bands wouldn't have climbed to their respective musical heights.

Shane Meadows documentary is a job finely done and explores a reunion of a glorious band consisting of what are now middle aged men but who still have more than it takes to influence a new generation as they did in the early 90's. Whether they'll stay together long enough and write new material for this to occur is another question. Their comeback album 'The Second Coming' from 1994 after a 5 year hiatus may not have appealed to every debut album Roses fan and music critique who were waiting with bated breath for their much delayed follow up. However after listening to a lot of British guitar music around these days its clear and evident it wasn't that bad after all.
The only one negative aspect to the Film is that Shane didn't ask a few questions pertaining to new material. In one scene during their rehearsal sessions the band have a blackboard setup with a list of their familiar songs to work on but clearly noticeable on the list is one scribbled 'Newie'. Shane spots this and makes reference to it but unfortunately doesn't pursue it with band members at a later stage. Shame, that would've surely made for an interesting talking point.

I suspect you wouldn't get favorable odds at the bookmakers of The Stone Roses reformation having any chance of lasting a decent time span as historically things haven't been that lasting. However in the meantime if you are a fan of The Stone Roses or just come across the band as a young and new fan you need to own this film......9.5 /10

Dave Griffiths
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By a fan, for the fans, 31 May 2013
By 
J. Banks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This may sound like an obvious statement but this is a film for fans of The Stone Roses. That's not to say that people unfamiliar with the band shouldn't check it out - they most definitely should - but this is a film that has been made (by an exceptionally talented director and super-fan) for fans of the Roses. And didn't he do well.

As expected, the access he has to the boys is unprecidented and this really becomes apparent during the jaw-dropping rehearsal footage. Shane was able to get right in their faces and you see them connect with each other like never before. I was smiling so hard my face was aching and just seeing this footage is worth whatever price Amazon ends up charging for the DVD. I was lucky enough to see it on the big screen last night and I can't wait to get my hands on a copy so I can watch it again. And again.

There are so many other highlights - the Parr Hall footage that takes you behind the scenes but also makes you feel like you were AT the gig (I've never felt that from any other documentary or live film before) - the Heaton Park footage - the opening scene that just pulls you in and gives you goose bumps - the fan interviews that make you realise how much they still mean to so many people. I could go on and on.

Basically, if you're a fan go and see it at the cinema!!! If you missed the chance to do that, pre-order this DVD and wait by the letter box until it arrives.

You won't regret it, you lucky people. Cheers Shane - you nailed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Features, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed watching the DVD. I especially enjoyed the rehearsal footage.It is worth a watch whether you're new to the band or not.One thing that Amazon failed to state is that the dvd has Audio Description, which to me as someone with a visual impairment was a brilliant suprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Paulazon (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Stone Roses: Made of Stone (1-Disc Edition) [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
All I can say is what an incredible documentary I have watched it 10 times already. A must watch film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awesome., 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a massive fan of the band and, as with many millions, the reunion was a dream come true. The documentary's great (if slightly flawed in places) and this DVD crams in a huge amount of impressive footage, including 10 minutes from the legendary Spike Island gig (a fan illegally took a camera inside - thanks!), and access to the genius of drummer Reni.

For fans, then, this is a dream - one which will be played many times. Frankly, even if the film had been pants the conclusive 12 minute epic of Fools Gold is staggering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Roses, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant DVD by Shane Meadows. As a lifelong Stone Roses fan this was a must have. Buy this dvd, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i am a manc, 18 Feb 2014
By 
R. S. Harris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a piece of history about manchester.manchester people.manchester music before oasis.and manc attitude.the music shots are top the banter is iop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable watch, bought as a Christmas present for my son and both my husband and I watched it too.! Quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Buy this NOW!
Amazing, get your copy & feel the love.
Shane & the boys have done us proud. 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazballs, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely quality, went to see it in the pictures and decided on the DVD as a little reminder of how good it really is. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stone Roses: Made of Stone (1-Disc Edition) [DVD] [2013]
£6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews