Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars better than expected
Been playing for multiple hours now, loving it. Its lots of fun. Racer side can a bit stressful at times cos the cars are not the best when you start. Around lvl 10 it gets easier. Ranking up isn't as dull as its been in recent years, small but interesting challenges

Its only downfall is the lack of mp and uses an open word racing for all to join. Which if...
Published 1 month ago by Kimberley fenton

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy it, until E.A fix it.
This game is broken, E.A should be ashamed of themselves, on X box one the game regularly losses your game save, and for some unknown reason the camera keeps doing a 360 pan of the car causing you to crash mid race, E.A have been aware of this since November 2013, and it's still not been patched, unacceptable! !!!
Published 4 months ago by darren


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy it, until E.A fix it., 22 April 2014
This review is from: Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) (Video Game)
This game is broken, E.A should be ashamed of themselves, on X box one the game regularly losses your game save, and for some unknown reason the camera keeps doing a 360 pan of the car causing you to crash mid race, E.A have been aware of this since November 2013, and it's still not been patched, unacceptable! !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Come on EA!, 6 April 2014
By 
C. G. Busby "chrisb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) (Video Game)
A great racing game like most other editions of N4S, but EA really need to sort the servers out and fix some bugs. Having constant disconnects mid race is very unhelpful, even less so if you are on either side of a pursuit. The moments when it decides to got to the map or change the view to looking back at the car mid race are infuriating. It even does this if you put the controller down and do nothing!
A real shame but, being EA, not entirely unexpected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good single player, let down by awful servers and non existent multiplayer, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) (Video Game)
I've always preferred the arcade racers such as Burnout to the more realistic, technical ones, so this seemed like a safe bet to pick up with the Xbox One at launch. And for the most part, when it works, the single player game is very entertaining.

However, as seems to be a common problem with EA games on the Xbox One, the servers are an issue. You can often be in the middle of a race only to find that the game then drops out with a Migrating Host error, which can take several minutes to correct itself, at which point you are then dropped back into the race with no warning... which usually means that you crash.

However the most damning problem is the multiplayer, or complete lack of it. Essentially you share the game world with eight other drivers, who are all wandering around, doing their own thing. There is no mechanism for getting everyone together for a game of hot pursuit, for example, and you have no option to opt out of it when you are trying to do a single player mission and then find another player will appear at random to ram you off the road.

Worth getting if single player is all you are interested in. The multiplayer is a complete and utter mess, compounded by some awful server issues. Put up with it for a couple of months then traded the game in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bugged - a half decent game, badly implemented., 22 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) (Video Game)
As other reviews have made clear, this game is buggy. Some of the bugs in this game are game-breaking bad (although the worst can be worked around; see below). The really annoying thing is that they should have been REALLY easy to fix. It's been 6 months since release, and the bugs in this game were highlighted by the major gaming websites before the game even hit the shelves, so I think it's safe to say we can forget about ever getting a fix for this game (shame on you EA!).

Take the "swinging camera" bug (by far the most common/frequent - although others exist); it is just incredibly infuriating and always seems to hit you at the wrong time. I.E., you'll have collected a ton of money, you are being chased and need to desperately avoid crashing as your car is nearly wrecked. To collect your bounty you need to get back to your base or to a garage to repair. As you get close to the building the camera does a full 360 around your car, with a pause to take in the view behind (!) - this is far from the first time this has happened to you, so you slow down, hope the pursuing cars don't ram into the back of you, then BANG .. you hit a wall (which you didn't see as the camera is pointing the other way!). Totalled. Credits gone, heat lost, multiplier reset, car wrecked. Great job EA!

This is such a stupid bug, and could be fixed overnight in a patch! It is caused by the Kinect unit somehow hearing "Look around" (even when nobody is saying anything!). To fix this you can go to settings, Kinect and temporarily turn off your Kinect unit and the camera will not move, but you simply shouldn't need to do this! They could (should!) rewrite the in-game voice recognition code so it functions correctly, they could put in a keyword which you say before the commands, change the voice command itself or just remove it altogether (using the left stick to look around works just fine on every other game!), or, of course, they could just simply add an option to turn Kinect off in the game menu (or disable/change certain voice commands)!

Using your voice/Kinect to help guide you to things was a good idea, but it simply doesn't work. The only way to make this game playable on the XB1 is to turn Kinect off (by turning it off using the console settings, a pain as you'll inevitably forget it is off and start shouting at it when you load up a different game!).

The "Easydrive" menu (an alternative to using voice commands) is exactly the same as the 2012 NFS:Most Wanted, it works fine (for those who didn't play Most Wanted; you navigate using the D pad, select which race/destination/building/etc you want, press D pad right again and a sat-nav style line will appear on your map), It would be better if the nearest base was the first (and only) option at the top of the menu, that way you could select it by hitting right on the D-pad twice instead of having to negotiate a menu when driving (you can't pause the game while driving). Of course, you are supposed to be able to just say you want to go to a base, and the map will respond, but given you have to turn Kinect off to make the game half-playable you can't do that!

There is an app for tablets which works well. The map scrolls like a GPS unit zoomed out, and you can click on anything you like to set it as a destination (or even warp there, if not already racing/chasing/being chased).

The problem with the app and Easydrive is that both require you to briefly glance away from the road; fine if you're cruising around (hardly ever! The game makes it very easy to jump straight into the action from your base), but when you're flying around twisty, windy, hilly roads with sharp turns, jumps and traffic, as well as rival racers AND police both trying to smash you off the road, you just just can't take your eyes off the road to navigate menus/an app.

Easydrive and the app both work fine, in theory. In practice if you try using it when you really need to use it (i.e. when you have a lot of heat, and are driving really fast), you'll end up travelling through the air at 200mph; sideways!

As for the game itself, this is no simulator, you're not going to find realistic physics/handling, simulated tyre wear or even automatic gears (you want to be looking at the excellent Forza for that type of game!). This is strictly arcade racing, and it can do it well at times.

There is a half-decent game under all the mess. It can really get your adrenaline racing when you've amassed a huge amount of credits (which you will lose if caught), have a big heat rating (which multiplies the credits you have, but brings more and more police with each level), and you are being pursued by a convoy of police cars with tech designed to bring you down. Unfortunately, the police missions (which make up the other half of the game) just can't compete with the excitement of being a pursued racer, although as a bonus you do access to all of the cars and all of the tech without having to collect/buy/upgrade them.

One final note, this game is more in tune with Hot Pursuit and Most Wanted, which makes sense given both are by Criterion, than the latest NFS games, Shift 2 and The Run(s - as it should have been called!). If you compare the two open-world racers (Rivals and MW:2012), you can't but help but to feel a little short changed. This game has fewer cars (although there is a bunch available as paid-for DLC, sold individually! But then Most Wanted had far more DLC, sold in large packs and they came with new areas to explore, races, etc), the world seems much smaller (I think this may be due to the long, sweeping, country roads compared to the the tightly packed (and varied) city streets of Most Wanted. Plus there seems to be a lot of undrivable space in-between the main routes in this game), and there just seems to be a lot less game for your money.

Most Wanted was a really busy environment, every street (and even off-road space!) had multiple races, cars to collect, advertising boards to smash up, interesting things that just existed for you to drive on (like the "figure of 8" monument, or the under construction airport, etc). Rivals lacks all of that. There are races littered around (but after a while you'll nearly always jump to them straight from the base rather than bother driving to them), and you'll find the occasional jump to find some airtime, but the lack of "world content" changes the game significantly, there's simply no reason to just go out and drive!

Sure, the varied environments are nice (if slightly unrealistic), but when you've seen them a couple of times; meh! Unlike Most Wanted (or to use another example; Forza Horizon, amongst others), this isn't a game where you will simply take a Lamborghini out for a spin and just drive around aimlessly to see what you can find, to interact with the world, to find things and do things.

It has open world pretensions, but the game doesn't give you any good reason to just go out and drive; you get a list of missions, you jump straight to the start point, race/escape and return to base. Rinse. Repeat.

It seems a shame to take a step back, especially when the technology has taken a step forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flashes of brilliance, but sloppy execution holds it back., 24 Nov 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) (Video Game)
I imagine that a lot of people looking at this game are Burnout/ Criterion fans. I know I am and unfortunately this isn't anywhere near Criterion standards.

Let's start off positive. It's always fun to shunt other people off the road, so that's nice. The idea of losing all your points if you get busted by the cops also adds a lot of tension to find the nearest Hideout and bank your points. Kinect commands are surprisingly good and saying "GPS Hideout" or "GPS Repair Shop" saves a lot of hassle fiddling around with the D-pad. The graphics are great on the Xbox One and now I've run out of kind things to say.

On crashes, the only deformation to your car is that your engine bonnet will pop up and you'll have a few scratches and dings. Burnout Revenge on the original Xbox was better than this. Also, the physics are comical. It's not uncommon to see your car flying stupidly high after a crash. The lack of weight (and destruction) makes it seem like you're racing with a kid's toy car. On top of this, crash resets are frustratingly unpredictable. Several times I've been reset exactly where my car was after the crash, so I'll be facing a wall and get immediately T-Boned by a cop before I can react to the respawn.

Moving on, the AI is ruddy awful. If you're behind someone, they'll drive so slowly that it makes grass growing seem fast. It almost doesn't matter how badly you mess up, you can always blast past them back into 1st place. However, once you pass an AI racer, you better not blink because then they start driving like they've got infinite turbo. It almost doesn't matter how well you're doing, the AI will often happily breeze by you in the last 5 or 6 seconds of a race. That's not challenge, that's just cheap. You also start from a standstill while everyone else gets a rolling start. That's fair right?

"Pursuit Tech" is unnecessarily convoluted. You have to buy your tech for each car, so get used to unlocking a new car, starting an event then screaming in frustration about how you've forgotten to re-buy your stuff. Why do they not carry over?!

The soundtrack is very narrow, almost entirely urban, rap and remixed tracks. That's fine if you're into that, but if you like to race to indie/ rock, you've been forgotten. The intense orchestral music of Hot Pursuit's chases has been replaced with what can only be described as some slightly rhythmic noise that adds nothing to the tension.

Finally, the game starts off slow, and I mean really really slow. After playing for 4 or 5 hours, you're still restricted to about a third of the map for events. Needless to say, you'll be racing up and down the same stretches of road over and over again before you get any sort of freedom.

I could rant a bit more but this is getting way too long. In summary, it had potential, but the execution from Ghost Games is poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gameplay is brilliant. EA Servers let it down and make it pointless, 8 Jan 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) (Video Game)
So, this game in itself, is really really good. Enjoyable, graphically superb and the online all drive function is simply brilliant.

However...

As with many games these days, especially EA titles, the 'auto save' is done to the EA Servers, not locally on your machine. This, as it has with every other title, causes major issues. Twice now, I have had my progress reset because it hasn't saved properly. The first time I was rank 15 on both cop and racer careers and it reset to the very beginning. Still enjoying the gameplay and missions, I decided to start again and focus on the Cop career, this time I was meticulous in ensuring an autosave had taken place. Before turning off my machine I would return to a command post, get my rank up and autosave, then leave the post and re-enter to get another autosave, I would then switch (if I wasn't already online) to a public game to ensure my progress was synced to the server. This seemed to work ok for a week or so and I got to Rank 27 as a Cop. Today I turn on and I'm back to 17 again and I really really can't be bothered to try it all again. EA online support were useless, suggesting that I simply wait for engineers to fix the problem. According to the forums, people have been experiencing this issue since November and nothing has been done.

So now I'll be trading the game in and avoiding future releases. A real real shame for what could have been a thoroughly enjoyable title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Falls flat on its face, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) (Video Game)
I bought this Need for Speed title excited to play racing on the next generation console. The racing gameplay is very fast and furious and easy to get a hang of but it falls flat on its face on many levels
My first pet hate is the fact that you can't pause the game at all! This is due to the fact that you are always online in a world with other players from around the world. But the general need to e.g. answer the phone or any other activities is greater and being able to pause a game is a must. If you need to answer a call then you are pretty much expected to crash your vehicle or abandon any race event.
The biggest hate of this game is... BUGS BUGS BUGS!!! Once again EA has produced a game riddled with bugs and they have not resolved any of them!
Things from lags in the game play, A random camera change, Poor spawning positions, Police cars spawning out of nowhere? The list goes on.
It is such a shame because this game had a lot of potential, The Need For Speed team need to think carefully about there next steps as the last few games they have produced have been way off the mark.

The game also lacks a storyline, This one just highlights how racers and police have a rivalry but there is no drive behind the story to make you want to play more and more, The cut scenes are pointless and the last race doesn't make sense..

Not a fan of this game, Has a lot of potential with the gameplay being quite fast and fun but the problems with the game overpower the fact that it is fun, This drives me to think so negatively of it! I'm giving it 2 out of 5 which is very lenient!

Sorry for my bad english!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than expected, 12 July 2014
This review is from: Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Been playing for multiple hours now, loving it. Its lots of fun. Racer side can a bit stressful at times cos the cars are not the best when you start. Around lvl 10 it gets easier. Ranking up isn't as dull as its been in recent years, small but interesting challenges

Its only downfall is the lack of mp and uses an open word racing for all to join. Which if taken as it is can be a lot of fun,nothing better than tracking down a racer and smashing him to pieces.but more modes would of been better.Servers use a host so expect a few game stops when people leave.

Overall its a decent fun game that can be enjoyed for many hours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars playable for a while, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) (Video Game)
Losing all my money when i get busted by the cops makes me furious, the map isn't particularly interesting and the game i bought went wrong after a month
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a great game..., 23 Jun 2014
This review is from: Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) (Video Game)
This has some great graphics and its kind of fun to play. It's great for the first few hours of play, but there's some annoying stuff that drags the game down a couple of stars. Would be five stars without the issues.

The game has some bugs. You need to be really careful to use "quit" on the main menu to exit the game otherwise the last few levels of save progress are lost (took me a week to find how to do "quit" by surfing the internet being somewhat annoyed with the game*). Then there's a frustrating "host migration" just as you're about to finish a level...very poor given the multiplayer experience is non-existent. Game sometimes crashes with a nasty whirring noise too.

Possible to get your car stuck in places you're obviously not meant to get it stuck...."restart event" seems to be the only way to get out of these kind of places.

The gameplay is weird too. The "racer" career is far too easy to get to level 60, but the "cop" career is much, much harder. Maybe EA didn't compare the two in testing? Maybe the cop career is what you're meant to play when the racer career is finished?

Proof of my masochistic nature as I'm determined to get another few levels on cop career before packing it in...

*if you're having this problem, when you're in the garage and wanting to stop playing, press the X to go back to the main x-box menu, then the little button with three horizontal lines, navigate to quit. Seemed to save progress for me, but seen some people saying it didn't work for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need For Speed Rivals  (Xbox One)
Need For Speed Rivals (Xbox One) by Electronic Arts (Xbox One)
34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews