Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Wrestling Game So Far!
I have been playing wrestling games right back to the N64, some have been good some have been awful. This one though is the very best of them. It has the biggest selection of wrestlers from any game and the graphics and commentary is spot on.
Wreslemania mode: There are matches which are set and you need to meet objectives in order to progress. In your first match...
Published 15 months ago by Andrew Cockburn

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Of The Same!
I've been playing wrestling games since the very first Nintendo games and WWF Superstars & WWF WrestleFest were in the arcades and I'm a longtime fan of wrestling games, I have played them all and own most of them, even ones that have never been released over here, like the Japanese ones through game emulators and I love wrestling games.

If you're a wrestling...
Published 16 months ago by David Dexter


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Wrestling Game So Far!, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
Andrew Cockburn "andy safc" (north east, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
I have been playing wrestling games right back to the N64, some have been good some have been awful. This one though is the very best of them. It has the biggest selection of wrestlers from any game and the graphics and commentary is spot on.
Wreslemania mode: There are matches which are set and you need to meet objectives in order to progress. In your first match you are Andre The Giant against Big John Stud. The objective to win the match you must Body Slam your opponent. But first you must get into critical condition otherwise your attempt is reversed. Another 'optional' objective is to win in under 6 minutes. This follows how the match was played out when it really did happen. Then it is Hulk Hogan against King Kong Bundy in a Steel Cage. So you do not follow any one wrestler but change to each match from several from years of Wrestlemania.
Universe follows the WWE on a weekly basis. It will give a full card for a TV show. It will show how is fighting who and what sort of bout (No DQ, Submission, Normal Match etc). You can choose if you want to control any of the wrestlers or let them simulate the match. You could choose to take part in every fight on the show or choose any or none. Every 4 weeks is a major PPV. There are lots of extras in that you can edit your own matches or challenges or even full shows.
If you want to quickly jump into a match you could select Exhibition match and fight in any of the many different match types. The replay value is so much bigger than before with so many more options to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HARD AS THE ROCK ;), 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Never have I wanted sweaty men, tackling each other on a mat and viciously rubbing on each other more than what this game delivers. The stiff voice acting isn't the only stiff thing in the room when I'm playing. ;) eh bit of blue for the dad.

As classic as watching Shawn Micheals vs Razor Ramon in summerslam 1995. Nostalgic and fun for all the family when it's all going well tombstone piledriver your nan into the mat, then after the ambulance comes and she is off pin her character on the matt.

It has all the feel of the WWE but online is horrendously glitchy, BUT.... Half the fun and hilarity is trying to hit someone when everyone is laughing there heads off half the time, you all just end up chatting till one gets bored or has to go.

Comedy: 5/5
Action: 5/5
Overall: 20/5

Remember if your playing it, pop a couple of pillows on your lap just incase the Divas come out. Thank me in advance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Of The Same!, 26 Nov. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
I've been playing wrestling games since the very first Nintendo games and WWF Superstars & WWF WrestleFest were in the arcades and I'm a longtime fan of wrestling games, I have played them all and own most of them, even ones that have never been released over here, like the Japanese ones through game emulators and I love wrestling games.

If you're a wrestling fan, you obviously should get this game because it's not like tons of wrestling games are released every year, so go for it.

It looks great and everything, but it's pretty much more of the same. I find it very similar to WWE 2011 to be honest, without going into too much detail - the way that reversals, movement and everything else works is basically WWE 2011 with slightly improved graphics. WWE 2012 was really bad and although 2013 was a big improvement in many ways, for some reason it seems they have gone back to the 2011 system with this one and just updated the roster.

I'm not sure what else to say, except don't expect anything groundbreaking or different - if you like WWE 2011, then you're going to like this.

I think it's okay.
It looks great and has a lot of legends in it - which is great because many of the current "superstars" are so awful.

As far as playability goes, THQ reached a peak with WWE Here Comes The Pain for the PS2 and since then, the games have really gone downhill in many ways, but as far as the WWE PS3 games go, I personally think that the 2011 and 2013 ones have been the best, so I guess I'd add this with them, as it's exactly the same as WWE 2011.

Now 2K Sports have taken over the rights to the games I really hope that they do something different with next year's game because it's quite boring to buy mostly the same game every year, especially when it's quite slow (wrestlers feel like they are walking through mud most of the time) and boring - it doesn't feel like you're in a wrestling match, it just feels like you're waiting for the right time to press the right button, more about timing your button presses rather than fighting.

They need to bring in someone with some fresh ideas.

However, because not many other wrestling games are around, if you are a wrestling fan - you should buy it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far from Rock Bottom!, 18 Feb. 2015
This review is from: WWE 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
I purchased WWE 2K14 for 2 reasons. Firstly, I’d heard bad things about WWE 2K15. Secondly, I’m unashamedly a fan of the most electrifying man in sports entertainment – The Rock – so having him both on the cover and part of the main roster drew me in.

Regarding the main roster, it has a core of quality with the likes of Chris Jericho, Daniel Bryan, John Cena, Randy Orton, The Shield, Triple H, Undertaker and of course The Rock. However, as with every wrestling game, you get the chaff to that wheat with the likes of Brodus Clay, Drew McIntyre, Heath Slater, Lord Tensai and Santino Marella. Completing the “30 Years of Wrestlemania” mode is very much advised as you can bolster the roster with an array of legends and hall of famers.

The “30 Years of Wrestlemania” mode, besides the great one adorning the cover, is a major selling point. You chronologically grapple your way through defining matches from Wrestlemania history. In these legendary matches you play as a set Superstar and are challenged with not just winning the match but recreating memorable moments from it. This provides a wonderfully nostalgic and genuinely challenging experience. Completing all the matches and their moments also unlocks a variety of extras; belts, rings, superstars etc.

Other than the “30 Years of Wrestlemania” mode, the closest thing to a ‘story mode’ is “WWE Universe” mode. You pick the rivalries, rosters, shows and can even go as far as picking the specific matches themselves. You can then choose to participate in or simulate as few or many of the matches as you desire. This has absolutely huge replay value.

You can also create a custom superstar. Again the replay value is huge as there is so much choice in terms of their appearance, attire, entrance and move set. However, it can be rather laborious to sift through the various areas.

In terms of the gameplay, the controls strike a nice balance. They’re simple enough for anyone to pick up and play, but have enough complexity for serious gamers to master. This is especially the case with the reversals. The graphics are pretty good but all the wrestlers are generously trim and muscular which, in the case of (for example) Big Show or King Kong Bundy isn’t accurate!

Overall, 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 27 Nov. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Same as the last one, The only differance is more customisation options and a weaker roster.
Would have liked to see more matches and a better universe mode.
The disappointment is that they didn't push a release for the next gen consoles, I suppose we will just have to wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY!!!, 1 Nov. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
30 years of the greatest entertainment show in history. Hogan vs andre, macho man, ultimate warrior, rock, sgt slaughter...unbelievable by far the best wwe game of recent years, highly recommend,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same as last year, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is ok. There is not many changes from last years game wwe 13.

The 30years of wrestlemania is a good history lesson for a wrestling fan.

One thing I liked in the universe mode is the rival section. where I ca put my custom wrestler in a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical WWE Game, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this game as I have been a fan of some of the older games. Gameplay and grpahics are spot on and the roster is full of old and new WWE stars like hulkster and warrior which I like. My only gripe is that I find some of the moves difficult to perform and the wrestlemania challenges are also difficult. Might review my score after playing it more and trying to get better at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 13 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a good installment to the series apart from the reverse system is harder to master and can be frustrating at times otherwise exhibition mode is probably the best feature to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still better than 2k15. Must buy for any wrestling fan., 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Jack Cossens (Essex, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
You'll see a lot of reviewers go on about No Mercy on the N64 and Here Comes The Pain on PS2, and yes, while this doesn't quite hit the highs of those classic wrestling titles, this game is a lot of fun.

The engine may be the same as with the previous two titles, but the roster is packed, and when you include DLC there is a plethora of wrestlers past and present to pick from, from Bruno Sammartino to 3MB.

And with WWE 2k15 out now, this game is much cheaper and still the better option I feel. Must buy for a wrestling fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE 2K14 (PS3)
WWE 2K14 (PS3) by 2K Games (PlayStation 3)
£18.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews