Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best NBA game...becomes better!
Nearly a month before new NBA season begins, 2K Sports released the new NBA2K14 and basketball fans across the universe wouldn't be more happier. Well, at least till the new gen releases from both 2K and EA. 2k14 is NOT a revamped version since developers followed the same successful recipe while trying to improve the basketball fundamentals.

For once more, 2K...
Published 10 months ago by Dimitris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
to get the positives in first, this is the best looking sports game I have ever played.

However - As it did with 2K13 - the continued my player and VC dominance of the game disrupts it all for me. I get the idea of what they try and do with the My Player but as someone that doesn't play online much i feel like almost the entire point of it is lost on me. As for...
Published 2 months ago by Mr Kevin C McDonagh


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best NBA game...becomes better!, 16 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: NBA 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Nearly a month before new NBA season begins, 2K Sports released the new NBA2K14 and basketball fans across the universe wouldn't be more happier. Well, at least till the new gen releases from both 2K and EA. 2k14 is NOT a revamped version since developers followed the same successful recipe while trying to improve the basketball fundamentals.

For once more, 2K succeeded to deliver a realistic game which will give you the opportunity to fast break, defence, dunk or win a game at the very last second! Ball physics and player animation are amazing while the gameplay continues in high level! Player movement across the court is pretty amazing although you will find baseball passes lead your teammates outbounds more often than pros do.

Presentation, atmosphere and the exceptional sound and commentary will led your friends or the usual suspect - your mom - to wonder "is that a real basketball game you re watching"? Especially the commentary is unique in sports, the best to my opinion since they deliver great information regarding the players, the past or the game itself.

Modes are the same with 1.5 additional ones. I will explain myself immediately what I mean by that. Lebron Path to Greatness is a new mode, allowing you to play as Lebron James choosing which path you will take, keep on playing with the Heat or sign with another team. Its a bit of a Fantasy basketball controlling Lebron and his moves game by game. A highly anticipated move from 2K was the addition of Euroleague teams, so European basketball lovers would find exciting...BUT there is no league and you can only play them under "Play Now" games which is a bit limited.

The biggest let down in this game is the change in the control scheme for 3rd time in a row! You spent some time learning the way NBA 2K controls work and each year you got to forget them, unless...you re using the square and the circle buttons which won t offer you the variation control stick offers.

PROS:
- Ball physics and animation
- Presentation and commentary
- Gameplay

CONS:
- New control scheme
- Lack of any Euroleague mode

OVERALL:
Since this is the only series for current generation consoles, for basketball fans this is a MUST have and even 2K are competing...themselves, this is a 5 star game for the consistent quality they delivered and the amazing overall basketball experience. They nailed the basketball fundamentals and they deserve the success in the series.Till we get hands on with 2K14 & Live 14 on new gen machines this will keep us busy for a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game - NO PS4 UPGRADE CODE, 5 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NBA 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is great but i brought this game primarily to get the ps4 upgrade code, I am very disappointed because after rebelliously searching for whether the game does come with the upgrade voucher (which i found that all of the games should on sony's website), I received the game with no upgrade code inside the case or inside the delivery packaging what so ever. After searching some more research after recieving the product did further research and found out that every copy of the game should come with the upgrade voucher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost - almost five stars, 26 Nov 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: NBA 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic game that manages to capture the feel and pace of the NBA almost perfectly. Sure there are moments when the players look like eerie crayon-drawn balloon-head alter-egos of their real-life personalities (especially the head coaches) but moving the ball round the court, passing, stealing, dunking, shooting from outside the arc - it all feels satisfying in a way that I haven't experienced on other sporting titles (especially other US sports - Madden for instance). I also want to add that the commentary on this game is the best I have ever heard in a sports title. Absolutely brilliant - informative, relevant and often uncannily accurate in its assessment.

I particularly enjoy the MyCareer mode (in fact this is pretty much all I play). Developing a player from the draft to superstardom, checking out a twitter feed, getting endorsements, playing alongside Melo in New York - what else could you possibly want?

What else could you want? Reliable servers. As I write this I cannot even play the game because the 2K servers are down AGAIN. This happens maybe once a fortnight. For no known reason the servers will fail and you can only play exhibition games - online is off limits and for some reason also MyCareer. Frankly that's not acceptable and another reason why the 'Always Online' mentality of the PS4 / XBOX One generation fills me with dread. As I write this review the servers have been down for about 4 hours and based on previous form they aren't going to be working again soon.

In short, a must-buy for basketball fans and a serious consideration for those looking for a decent sports game on the PS3. Be warned, however - you might have to spend some time playing exhibition games because the servers are so unreliable. As a consumer who forked out 40 the week of release I am very disappointed that I can only play the way I want to 'most' of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NBA 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
to get the positives in first, this is the best looking sports game I have ever played.

However - As it did with 2K13 - the continued my player and VC dominance of the game disrupts it all for me. I get the idea of what they try and do with the My Player but as someone that doesn't play online much i feel like almost the entire point of it is lost on me. As for the VC, it completely ruined my experience of the My Career mode. The 2K12 rendition was so much simpler in terms of improving your player via skill points as opposed using the VC where you could only upgrade one attribute at a time and wait for the server to say you could do it again.

As a basketball fan i will always play the games but as for right now im still sticking with 2K12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NBA 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
I like basketball games, i always have! this game is fun to play with your friends and family. It's not amazing but its good! i would recommend buying this if you like basketball!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 👍 this is a quick thinking game and feels you are playing physically, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NBA 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Amazing game it feels you really playing with them the game needs quick thinking
Recommend for everyone to go at👍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best videogame about Basket, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NBA 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
I recommend this game for Nba or Basket fan. It's a great and complete simulation and it's rather difficult. Best buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 2 Mar 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: NBA 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
Runs so smoothly, feels like a real sports game and the realism adds to the amazing features. However, features are linear and the menu is too simple, more features and an easier interface would improve it. But great game anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NBA 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
As described .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NBA 2K14 (PS3) (Video Game)
EXCELLENT PRODUCT QUICK DELIVERY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NBA 2K14 (PS3)
NBA 2K14 (PS3) by Take 2 (PlayStation 3)
18.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews