Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most charming, wondrous and inspired game in a long, long time.
Media Molecule has brought another hit, this time emerging on the PS Vita, and without a shadow of a doubt allowing the handheld to perform at its utmost greatest.

You are a messenger, Iota (or Atoi if your character is female), quested with bringing a very special message to the mysterious and magical face in the sun, you. Your journey is one bursting with...
Published 9 months ago by Ché

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why all the fuss?
This game doesn't do much for me it's just too simplistic game play wise. Some nice uses of the vitas hardware but this wasn't enough for me. Would imagine children loving it.
Published 2 months ago by Richard Dale


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most charming, wondrous and inspired game in a long, long time., 23 Nov 2013
By 
Ché (Somerset, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Media Molecule has brought another hit, this time emerging on the PS Vita, and without a shadow of a doubt allowing the handheld to perform at its utmost greatest.

You are a messenger, Iota (or Atoi if your character is female), quested with bringing a very special message to the mysterious and magical face in the sun, you. Your journey is one bursting with imagination and creativity, never has a world been so beautifully crafted in such a rugged manner. The entire world of Tearaway looks literally as if you could have made it yourself and that's mainly where the games charm lies, you feel so involved in the world. This is due to the paper craft design of the world, and the astonishing implementation of the Playstation Vita's features. One of my favourite features being your fingers popping through the back of the Vita into Tearaway's world (my 2 year old sister loves this). The Vita's unique interactive qualities bring you right in to Itoa's journey.

Often the 'you' in the sky is seen (used with the front-facing camera on the Vita), and this really creates a meaningful connection to the story, as you are a protagonist of some sorts. Never has a game tried this, and it works marvellously. The controls are perfect, and the camera angles just fine; it's very friendly design and accessible interface make it easy for those of all ages to play, and it is right at home on the Vita.

It being released on the same day as the Xbox One makes it easy to miss this game, and that is a real shame, because this game is an absolute gem. There is now no reason not to buy a Vita, as it's library is truly extending with fantastic games. But in my eyes Tearaway is the PS Vita's crowning jewel, as it is accessible for all ages, makes brilliant use of the consoles tech and the fact being that this is simply a beautiful and imaginative game. It is perfect for all ages, but Tearaway holds a very special place in my heart, mainly down to its extremely touching ending. The game evokes a very nostalgic feeling among any of those who played the platformers of old; this feeling is truly, truly heartwarming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tearaway: The Middle-of-the-Road Gamers Opinion, 19 Jan 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
In March last year, I came to the conclusion that I no longer needed my Vita. It spent most of it's time sat in a case.
I believed that I'd been caught up in the hype of it all, I had a fair few games but even the likes of Uncharted failed to keep me content, I just kept thinking that it wasn't like the PS3 games and it cost more than they did so what's that about. The LEGO games just seemed like cheap imitations of their big brothers and all of a sudden I felt like I was losing interest in handheld gaming. (before you decide this review isn't helpful based on that past comment, yes I realise I'm in the wrong and I don't normally use comparisons of handheld and home console to make a judgement, I was just not thinking straight at the time...like when I bought the collectors edition of Colonial Marines)

A few months past and I starting reading about Tearaway. It didn't seem that special but then it's hard to come to that conclusion without any experience. After seeing a few game play video's I was becoming more curious. It was shaping up like an alternate follow-on of the LittleBig Planet games which for me is a winner as the PS3 games are excellent. Even so, I'd sold my Vita so there was little I could do about my curiosity.

Xbox One day came and I was giving a mate a lift to GAME to pick up his console, Tearaway released the same day so while my mate took care of business, I had a go on a store Vita with the game playing...
I played it for maybe 5 minutes, and I must say It's one of the best handheld games I've ever seen.
After dropping off my mate, I'd originally planned a few games of FIFA with him but Tearaway was in my head. It's not often that a game gets into my head that way (hence the Middle-Of-The-Road Gamer tag) so I obviously needed more of this game.
I went straight back to GAME (where I wouldn't normally go for games etc but I had vouchers I'd been holding for a while that I'd refused to spend because...well just because (Luigi's Mansion 2 on 3DS, £37.99 pre-owned, enough said)) and picked up a Vita Tearaway bundle, got home and played it straight through.

This game is special.

It's the first title worth getting a Vita for. The concept is simple, you play a character in a world made of paper. It's a plat-former with a few puzzles here and there, oh and so much more!
You'll be using the touch screen, rear touch pad, you'll be tilting the Vita all over the place, in fact the game makes use of all the Vita's features. One of my favourite things about it is that on each level there will be times where you'll need to take pictures of things in order to return their colours, (play the game, it'll make sense) and once you have done so you can login on the Tearaway website and download and print everything you would need to make paper craft models of the in-game characters/items that you've snapped!

So overall if you are still reading, and you are a Vita owner then you can guess that I strongly recommend Tearaway to you. If you aren't a Vita owner but have considered being one, then get one and this. It's mad that Sony threw it out on Xbox One day and it's probably been overlooked as a result (PS4 a week later wouldn't have helped either) but if at any point in the future you have a feasible opportunity to get a Vita for the right price, then it's worth it just for Tearaway.

It looks beautiful, it sounds beautiful. You will not be disappointed.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming and Visually Unique, 4 Jan 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Sony's in-house publishers have really been pushing unique and novel games in recent times. Studios like Media Molecule and Japan Studio have been approaching games in a different manner than most releases these days, with titles such as Puppeteer and LittleBigPlanet. These brave releases should be lauded in this day and age when poor sales can mean the end of a studio or the sudden demise of a series. Tearaway is the newest addition to this innovative roster, and is a breath of fresh air in amongst the stagnant yearly Call of Duty and Assassin's Creed rehashes.

In Tearaway you control a messenger (iota for the boys and atoi for the girls) who must deliver a message to the face in the sun with your help. Everything in the game is depicted as being made out of paper and this allows for some novel interactions and scenes as the levels literally unfold before your eyes. Each peril and pitfall continues the paperbased theme - the sea is glue instead of water and certain craggy rocks are clad in newspaper instead of stony textures. You will work your way through the usual collection of worlds, from icy mountains, scorching deserts and a few very trippy stages towards the end of the game.

Tearaway is, at its base, a standard 3D platformer. Media Molecule have, however, uniquely presented the game and freshened things up with some innovative use of the Vita's available features. Throughout the game you will interact with your Vita in many different ways to help your chosen character progress. You will use the rear touchpad to burst your fingers through the fabric of the game to kill enemies and push around objects or open up new areas; you will swipe at layers within each stage to reveal hidden areas and unfold platforms and other useful items; you will shake items loose from their moorings in certain stages, allowing access to areas previously off limits; towards the end of the game there is ample use of the dreaded gyroscope feature. The best implementation, however, is use of the front-facing camera. At different stages of the game you will be required to photograph yourself; these photographs will then be littered throughout the stages in clever and humorous ways. The camera is also used to project your face onto the sun, which can catch you unawares during certain cut-scenes and provides a number of light-hearted moments. This is certainly not a game for the self-concious - you will be reminded a hundred times over that it is YOU who is playing the game, and at times you'll wish you'd scrubbed up a little better before popping the cartridge into your Vita!

As your character moves through the game you will be required to collect confetti. These confetti pieces are scattered throughout the world much in the same way as coins in Mario or rings in Sonic. Fulfilling certain requests and completing certain tasks unlocks larger confetti rewards in the guise of red or blue presents. As you collect these papery fragments, you will be given opportunities to buy many varied decorations and features that can be used to upgrade and change atoi/iota's physical appearance. There are hundreds of different items that can be purchased, giving a really good range of customisation and you can even create your own if desired.

Your character quickly obtains a camera of their own, allowing you to take 'selfies' and pictures of the environment that can be saved to your gallery or uploaded to the internet. This camera can also be used to interact with characters within the game. Taking pictures of certain white items and animals that have had their colour stolen by the game's baddies, the evil scraps, allows you to unlock papercraft origami characters that can be printed online and pieced together to form a collection of the game's more interesting aspects. Not for everyone, but a lovely touch for people who really immerse themselves in Tearaway's world.

The journey in Tearaway is certainly a novel and engaging experience. It is, however, not without its problems. The game is extremely short and the difficulty level is very low. There is little challenge to the combat and the game can be bested in roughly 4 hours if you are a competent player. I managed to unlock the platinum trophy in well under 10 hours, easily my record time for 100%ing a game. There is little replay value beyond heading back through the stages to clear up any missed presents, enemies or confetti bits to ensure you earn any trophies you didn't acquire first time round. There are times when you will find your character stuck in places where they shouldn't be able to get to. Usually you can wiggle your way free after a time, but there was one occasion where I had to restart from the last checkpoint (this was at a point where you use two fingers to push out a green platform in the Crash Site level - I managed to find my way over the wall while looking for hidden items and once you are over there, there is no way back out!). While most of the Vita's features are implemented competently, you will encounter problems with responsiveness at times. Near the end of the game there are stages where your character becomes a ball and rolls, pinball-like, down a track. You must tap the rear touchpad at certain points to catapult them to the next area and on occasion I found my character rolling to his death because nothing happened when I tapped the back screen - this is especially infuriating when trying to claim the 'Grand Tear' trophy; if you go for it you'll see what I mean. I have never been a fan of using the gyroscope in games as it never seems to function as intended. I found its use in this game to be no exception, turning and rotating responsiveness was sporadic at best. None of these niggles are anywhere near game breaking, but I felt I should include them for the interest of anyone reading this review.

Despite the minor foibles listed above, Tearaway is still very much a game every Vita owner should consider purchasing. It is presented uniquely and oozes far more charm and charisma than Puppeteer - an impressive game in itself - that was released last year and drew plaudits for its presentation and design. Despite being short and perhaps too easy, the journey while it lasts is definitely an enjoyable and engrossing one. The ending is one of the most creative I have come across, making good use of all the player's input and personal choices to bring the title to a fulfilling, heart-warming close. Use of the Vita's features, while not perfect, is done in an innovative and competent manner. The platinum trophy is easily achievable should that play a part in anyone's decision to pick up games these days (which it shouldn't but I'm sure does!).

Although my time with Tearaway was brief, it is an experience that will stay with me for a long while and is definitely worth a look if you need a game to fulfil your handheld needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, hilarious and groundbreaking, 24 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
This is one of the most inventive and wonderful games I have played in years. It really is magical. People quite often remark in Amazon reviews that the reviewed product deserves 6 stars. In that case Tearaway deserves 46 and counting.

The music, design and gameplay are an incredible delight that use all of the vita's gadgetry to great effect.

You are the star of the show, literally, as you guide your adaptable tearaway character throughout jaw-droppingly gorgeous lands made of paper - which are all delightfully interactive.

Adults and kids alike can enjoy this on so many levels. I also challenge you, when you meet the cutesy pigeon street style squirrel, who asks you to design his crown, not to draw and cut out an adult themed image and stick it to his forehead. I still haven't stopped laughing.

This game is incredible, and that's not simply because it satisfies the most immature of impulses I've had in years, it's because it is pure genius beyond description. You will easily get lost in this game for some of the most spell-binding young-again hours you have spent in years!

Tearaway almost redefines gaming and could be the start of a whole new era of fresh ideas. Something gaming sorely needs. It is also the first game to finally unlock the power and potential of the PS Vita.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noteworthy!, 22 Nov 2013
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Nintendo? Pffft. Xbox one? Get out of here. The real release today is Tearaway. Effortlessly charming with enough silly little touches that'll make you smile throughout the game. Don't expect any ground breaking gameplay but it's a great fun game that makes use of all the Vita's control systems to their best advantage. Added to this if you have young children the downloadable paper patterns you attain through the game make a great rainy day project. Another fine addition to the Mm stable. It's that good I could see it ported to the Ps4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must have for PS VITA, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
What can I say this game is very unique and a lot of fun, I didn't think It would be my type of game until I played it, very clever level design and so much fun to play. It takes full use of all of the PS Vitas features. Just incredible. An Experience only the PS Vita can offer you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 Mar 2014
By 
JT (Worldwide!) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
This game has so much charm!

An absolute joy to play from beginning to end and it's a shame there are not more games like this. If you have a Vita you simply must get this game. If you don't and you like platformers then you should consider getting a Vita (and this game of course!).

Well done Media Molecule, you bested LittleBigPlanet with this one... A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired! The best game on the Vita!, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Max (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Tearaway is a sweet, innovative, creative, heartfelt adventure game that on the face of it seems like another platformer... that is until you play it. You play either a male or female envelope who is tasked with delivering an important message. Helping your character is you, though not just controlling him/her but you will be participating in the game too. Tearawy makes use of the dual cameras on the Vita to turn you into the sun, shining down on the surreal, colourful paper world and helping your character. Not only that you will use the Vita's camera to take pictures, the touch screen to draw, cut out and stick features on your and other characters. You'll use the tilt mechanics and the rear touch pad to navigate the world.

Honestly I never expected an experience quite like this. The story, although wacky, draws you in as you feel like you're protecting your little character on his/her journey. Not only that but side quests let you get creative and draw new art for characters and the world. The more you explore the more involved you get.

As a platformer its fun and challenging in parts (particularly the latter 'tilt' stages). However its something any gamer, whatever your level, can have fun with. There's plenty to unlock too once you've completed the game.

I honestly don't think there's a part of the Vita Tearway didn't take advantage of, and once you play it through you'll realise just how versatile and packed with features the Vita truly is (other developers take note).

Please, please, please buy this game. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tactile and Wise, 3 Dec 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
This game is really special, it uses the hardware it was made for in logical and inspired ways, its art direction is completely unique looking, and the way it involves the player builds towards a masterful ending that turns the player's journey into a personal and memorable story. A really beautiful experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The reason to own a vita., 29 July 2014
This review is from: Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
The vita has so many unique features and I am so surprised that it has taken 2 years of its lifespan to finally get a game that can showcase those unique features in a brilliant way! The world of Tearaway is absolutely stunning and the creativty put into creating this paper themed universe is breathtaking. I suppose you would categorise this game as a 3d platformer but it is so different from other games that it is quite hard to describe. The combat sections are very fun eventhough you do not have conventional attacks, but it is the platforming sections that really seperate tearaway from anything else. You have to use a combination of the front a rear touch screens to touch and drag platforms and burst through the paper.

This is simply a must have for any vita owner as it really does show what the vita is capabale more than any other game on the system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tearaway (PlayStation Vita)
Tearaway (PlayStation Vita) by Sony Software (PlayStation Vita)
£17.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews