Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looked forward to this for ages!
I would imagine that this is the sort of book that you wouldn't buy your granny for Christmas, but then if you know who Alan McGee is then you probably know roughly what to expect!

Very much a grim start to his life in the 60's in Glasgow and he doesn't hold back on this part of the story, I think this shows why he became so driven and broke free like he did...
Published 16 months ago by Movetotheleft

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but.......
It's honest to a point: drug addicts are bores and borish, would have liked a bit more honesty on the type of person he was for much of the time. That said very entertaining and lots of good insights into the music business.
Published 2 months ago by R. Brighouse


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looked forward to this for ages!, 13 Nov. 2013
I would imagine that this is the sort of book that you wouldn't buy your granny for Christmas, but then if you know who Alan McGee is then you probably know roughly what to expect!

Very much a grim start to his life in the 60's in Glasgow and he doesn't hold back on this part of the story, I think this shows why he became so driven and broke free like he did. Perhaps this energy and drive also partially propelled him to the inevitable crash (that isn't a spoiler by the way - there's much more to the book than that chapter of his life!)....

This is jam-packed with stories from his time from the formation of Creation Records, Britpop, the gigs, the parties , the drugs, drink and the rockstars. He is very matter-of-fact about his life but humble with it and despite the prolific use of drugs and more latterly drink, he doesn't seem to have been too warped by the experience and perhaps offers a cautionary tone to others who might read his path.

He is a true raconteur and anyone who has an interest in the bands that he was involved in will love this book. His writing style is easy going (even if some might find the content a little uncomfortable at times) and perfectly captures the dizzying highs and terrifying lows of life in the music fast lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into the life of a label executive, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
Alan McGee is known for giving Primal Scream and Oasis to the world, but this excellently-written book gives so much more about the trials of running a record label when competing against majors and also how the music business has changed. I enjoyed the anecdotes and the chaos of his earlier life as well as his self-awareness and realisation that the music could still be great without the drink and drugs. This is a great insight into the business itself and is tightly-written - there is no fat that needed to be edited out, I really enjoyed every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read for anyone interested in the post-punk independent UK music scene, 14 Mar. 2015
By 
As I read Alan McGee's autobiography I realised just how much of the output of Creation Records I really loved: the Jesus and Mary Chain, Ride, Primal Scream, Super Furry Animals, My Bloody Valentine, Oasis, Ed Ball, Kevin Rowland, and so on. A lot of these artists owe whatever they achieved to the vision and passion of Alan McGee. He has quite a tale to tell too. Complete self reinvention that starts with an ordinary, tough Glaswegian 60s/70s upbringing complete with a violent and abusive father to hanging out with Tony Blair at 10 Downing Street.

This being a rock 'n' roll tome, it has an extraordinary amount of debauchery, drugs, madness, and for most of the participants - including Alan McGee - a breakdown or rehab. Alan's was more spectacular than most and it ultimately resulted in a drink and drugs free recovery. Some books of this type pull their punches but not this one. There are some great stories of Creation's outlaw heyday.

Alan's post-Creation life is also covered, however this is less compelling, but still interesting, in particular his short-lived tenure managing The Libertines (the dysfunctional relationship between Carl Barat and Pete Doherty puts the battling Gallagher brothers completely into the shade).

If you like the music, and you're interesting in the post-punk independent UK music scene, then you will find much to enjoy in Creation Stories: Riots, Raves and Running a Label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
This is a riveting read. Highly recommended. A great autobiography which covers the music industry and some of the most iconic bands of our generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bands , great stories , great label, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
Loved the book , along with factory , creation soundtracked my youth . If tony Wilson or Alan McGee told you it was good , it normally was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars legend in his own right, 10 Nov. 2013
Witty, factual, entertaining and yet very down to earth. He narrates really well and makes the reader feel with him what he is going through, his adventures, his business and his private life. It is very hard to read in parts and at the beginning of the book I wanted to scoop the young Alan out and just protect him. School was not his forte as a child Alan thought all teachers were wankers, and his families ambition for him was to be a cab driver.

From a young age Alan showed great entrepreneurial skills, he was the kid at the age of 14 filling donuts with jam in Glasgow, and soon discovered the thrill of making extra money on a paper round, when he would turn up an hour earlier than everyone else and sell them all. With his extra money Alan started going to gigs and soon fell in love with live music.

You will find yourself burning with enthusiasm after reading this and racking your brain to think of some venture into which you can fling your energy. That is the great attraction of this book.

If the name Alan Mcgee stands for anything it should stand for innovation. He's the music industry's dream maker and the man who gives people something to look forward to. He's made people with talent believe in him, because he believes in them. He gives off an image of love and that's a nice way to be. He's not even one in a million, he is the only one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have to say I enjoyed this book and found it to be a real ..., 25 Oct. 2014
I have to say I enjoyed this book and found it to be a real page turner and an addictive read. A lot of it was quite funny but mostly it was just a good tale about how determination can take a person - in this case Alan McGee - a long way. I enjoyed the beginning and as I was born in the same year as Alan McGee I could relate to the periods he was describing - growing up in the sixties and seventies and how bad certain things were compared to the glorious times we are now living in - I am talking about material availability as well as the availability of help for people who are in trouble more than anything else. People can speak up about their problems today whereas this was not the case in the sixties and seventies

Tales of drug excess are always entertaining to read and act as a warning.

Mostly it was just good to read about bands which I enjoyed at the time especially the Jesus and Mary Chain and My Bloody Valentine. A good rock and roll read for anyone with a couple of free days and a large cup of coffee, if they have given up on the substances described in this book.

P.S. Correct me if I am wrong but the photograph of the Jesus and Mary Chain at North London Polytechnic in 1985 - is it not actually Douglas Hart in the middle?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The inside story that's stranger than fiction, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
Mike Wade (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
This entertaining, frank and illuminating look at the wilder fringes of the record business pulls absolutely no punches. It's well written and absorbing but not for those of a nervous disposition. It's kind of like John Niven's great book 'Kill your friends' but 100% true, rather than Niven's facion approach that was only 50% true. This book must have made McGee even more enemies in the business than he had before he wrote it, as few escape his critical gaze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think he has good reason to be, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
Classy Read this...He is "up himself" a tad....but...I think he has good reason to be., from his background, where he was bought up, family issues etc

From the amount of drugs that were taken, i cant honestly believe the MAN should still be alive, BUT, he is and good on him

If you want a Great Great INDIE read, buy this! you wont be disappointed FOLKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but......., 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
It's honest to a point: drug addicts are bores and borish, would have liked a bit more honesty on the type of person he was for much of the time. That said very entertaining and lots of good insights into the music business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creation Stories
Creation Stories by Alan Mcgee
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews