Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looked forward to this for ages!
I would imagine that this is the sort of book that you wouldn't buy your granny for Christmas, but then if you know who Alan McGee is then you probably know roughly what to expect!

Very much a grim start to his life in the 60's in Glasgow and he doesn't hold back on this part of the story, I think this shows why he became so driven and broke free like he did...
Published 12 months ago by Movetotheleft

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a very detailed read and only talks about his ...
Not a very detailed read and only talks about his successes, would appeal really just to people who are in the industry.
Published 1 month ago by amanda davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looked forward to this for ages!, 13 Nov 2013
I would imagine that this is the sort of book that you wouldn't buy your granny for Christmas, but then if you know who Alan McGee is then you probably know roughly what to expect!

Very much a grim start to his life in the 60's in Glasgow and he doesn't hold back on this part of the story, I think this shows why he became so driven and broke free like he did. Perhaps this energy and drive also partially propelled him to the inevitable crash (that isn't a spoiler by the way - there's much more to the book than that chapter of his life!)....

This is jam-packed with stories from his time from the formation of Creation Records, Britpop, the gigs, the parties , the drugs, drink and the rockstars. He is very matter-of-fact about his life but humble with it and despite the prolific use of drugs and more latterly drink, he doesn't seem to have been too warped by the experience and perhaps offers a cautionary tone to others who might read his path.

He is a true raconteur and anyone who has an interest in the bands that he was involved in will love this book. His writing style is easy going (even if some might find the content a little uncomfortable at times) and perfectly captures the dizzying highs and terrifying lows of life in the music fast lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I have to say I enjoyed this book and found it to be a real ..., 25 Oct 2014
I have to say I enjoyed this book and found it to be a real page turner and an addictive read. A lot of it was quite funny but mostly it was just a good tale about how determination can take a person - in this case Alan McGee - a long way. I enjoyed the beginning and as I was born in the same year as Alan McGee I could relate to the periods he was describing - growing up in the sixties and seventies and how bad certain things were compared to the glorious times we are now living in - I am talking about material availability as well as the availability of help for people who are in trouble more than anything else. People can speak up about their problems today whereas this was not the case in the sixties and seventies

Tales of drug excess are always entertaining to read and act as a warning.

Mostly it was just good to read about bands which I enjoyed at the time especially the Jesus and Mary Chain and My Bloody Valentine. A good rock and roll read for anyone with a couple of free days and a large cup of coffee, if they have given up on the substances described in this book.

P.S. Correct me if I am wrong but the photograph of the Jesus and Mary Chain at North London Polytechnic in 1985 - is it not actually Douglas Hart in the middle?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
This is a riveting read. Highly recommended. A great autobiography which covers the music industry and some of the most iconic bands of our generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The inside story that's stranger than fiction, 13 Oct 2014
By 
Mike Wade (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
This entertaining, frank and illuminating look at the wilder fringes of the record business pulls absolutely no punches. It's well written and absorbing but not for those of a nervous disposition. It's kind of like John Niven's great book 'Kill your friends' but 100% true, rather than Niven's facion approach that was only 50% true. This book must have made McGee even more enemies in the business than he had before he wrote it, as few escape his critical gaze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I think he has good reason to be, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
Classy Read this...He is "up himself" a tad....but...I think he has good reason to be., from his background, where he was bought up, family issues etc

From the amount of drugs that were taken, i cant honestly believe the MAN should still be alive, BUT, he is and good on him

If you want a Great Great INDIE read, buy this! you wont be disappointed FOLKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RAW, HONEST & ENGAGING, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating rollercoaster ride with no punches pulled. Raw and visceral and not for the faint hearted. From mad for it to just happy to be here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, I got annoyed at feeling too tired to read anymore., 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
Loved this, Not a fan of most of the music but Alan McGee has a great story to tell. And it is told so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time favorite., 2 Mar 2014
While interpeting,both Alan Mcgee and the readers perspective,furnished a very pleasant and thrillseeking invice to the awe-inspiring Music-Entertainment Buisness.Read at every pleasures need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into the life of a label executive, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creation Stories (Kindle Edition)
Alan McGee is known for giving Primal Scream and Oasis to the world, but this excellently-written book gives so much more about the trials of running a record label when competing against majors and also how the music business has changed. I enjoyed the anecdotes and the chaos of his earlier life as well as his self-awareness and realisation that the music could still be great without the drink and drugs. This is a great insight into the business itself and is tightly-written - there is no fat that needed to be edited out, I really enjoyed every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You made me realize, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read apart from the fact that my own contribution to rock and roll history as the founding member of the Drains is omitted...It took McGee and Gillespie to replace me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creation Stories
Creation Stories by Alan Mcgee
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews