Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chvrches take us Back to the Future
What a brilliant, sublime paradox this album is. Having been a teenager of the 80's this album revives some fantastic memories of bands like Ultravox, Depeche Mode, A-ha, Yazoo, and many others with it's screaming synths, electronic beats and great songwriting. But to purely tag this music as 80's revivalism would be doing Chvrches a huge injustice. What Bones has done is...
Published 20 months ago by shaune1970

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better
The main appeal of Chvrches is Lauren Mayberry's wonderful, soaring voice. How disappointing that on 2 of the 12 tracks the vocals are handed over to one of the other band members - oh, so bland I'm afraid and you can't help thinking what Lauren could have done with those 2 songs. Never mind, don't forget that the Beatles used to let Ringo sing a tune now and again...
Published 17 months ago by Ullapool


‹ Previous | 14 5 617 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars CHURCHES CD, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
BOUGHT FOR MY DAUGHTER WHO IS 15 AND SHE WAS REALLY PLEASED WITH IT. SAID IT WAS A REALLY GOOD ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catchy vocal and good beats, bringing the best of a few decades together, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
reminds me a bit of the stone roses. i've heard chvrches described as a throwback to the 80s but in all honesty they are better than that, they're original and unique in today's music scene and the lead vocalists voice is beautiful. highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't know them but a friend recommended them to me..so got it and listened..so pleased i did.. really good. Highly recomendable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album!, 10 Jan. 2014
By 
Mrs. Lyn Smith "Kaykelady" (Lincs uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this bands sound and their vocals, Heard my son playing some tracks for his sister and had to stop to listen to more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly catchy synth pop, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this on a whim after hearing good things about them and listening to a couple of free tracks - disappointed I haven't discovered them earlier as the album is brilliant.

A captivating female lead vocal, varied pace and very catchy songs - 'Lies', 'Gun' and 'Night Sky' particular favourites.

Also, if you get the 'Special Edition' then the two remixes aren't bad, but the extra two tracks are definitely worth having
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd thanks!, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Brilliant band. A great range of songs. Amazing. Thankyou.
5/5 would suggest to new fans of Chvrches. Great synth/pop/dance record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Electro pop gold!, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Makes me feel old that I like this electro retro sound, but it's also nice knowing I'm cool listening to this stuff again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Synth Perfection, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this album on a whim. After only hearing one song "lie's", i decided to give the album a go.
I wasn't disappointed with my purchase.

The music itself evokes 80's synth whilst retaining a modern ice cool edge.

All in all i doubt you will disappointed with this album, arguably one of the best pop albums of 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rating CHVURCHES "The Bones of What You Believe", 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Bombastic sound, every mili-second filled with awesomeness. A few tracks to bubblegumy. Also not everyones taste, but mine. Bon Appetite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best band of 2013, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Found quite by accident when Lies was first out on YouTube (via the side bar on a We Were Evergreen track), and eagerly awaited. Expect big things of CHVRCHES in 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 617 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews