Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chvrches take us Back to the Future
What a brilliant, sublime paradox this album is. Having been a teenager of the 80's this album revives some fantastic memories of bands like Ultravox, Depeche Mode, A-ha, Yazoo, and many others with it's screaming synths, electronic beats and great songwriting. But to purely tag this music as 80's revivalism would be doing Chvrches a huge injustice. What Bones has done is...
Published 20 months ago by shaune1970

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better
The main appeal of Chvrches is Lauren Mayberry's wonderful, soaring voice. How disappointing that on 2 of the 12 tracks the vocals are handed over to one of the other band members - oh, so bland I'm afraid and you can't help thinking what Lauren could have done with those 2 songs. Never mind, don't forget that the Beatles used to let Ringo sing a tune now and again...
Published 17 months ago by Ullapool


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect !, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Electronic music and beautiful melodies are compatible, that has been proved by Chvrches, let's hope they can go on making such a nice songs !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums of the year, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the kind of album you can listen to over and over again - trust me, I've tried it! I'm not much of a music critic but the combination of the slightly haunting voice of the lead singer and the catchy synth tunes is a real winner in my book and the whole album is worth a listen to, unlike most of the modern pop albums I've heard where there's only 1 or 2 tracks worth your time. Looking forward to the next album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bones of Brilliance, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was aware of the impact the band were making via Twitter, so checked out youtube, and found some videos of "mother..", as I had previously taken risks buying early Hot Chip & LCD Soundsystem stuff on instinct, I took a gamble on "The Bones..". I dipped into it over a couple of weeks, before it got its hooks into me. And their are hooks upon hooks.
This is now firmly one of my favourite albums of the last 5 years. It's a great electronic album, it's great pop, the writing is superb.
I can't wait to see how CHVRCHES develop.This band are now one of my dearly beloved, I recommend you gather amongst us. Here. Today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album!, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strength of the first two singles, but there isn't a bad track on the album.10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chvrches cd exceeds expectations, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
'Mother' is the stand out track but many other delights here. Electro pop fun with angelic voice and musical ingenuity. 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
How do you review music? I think the album is great but then you might not! Try listening on a the interweb first...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Uni Band, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Fabulous uni band who have grown & grown. Need to hear more of you though!!!!!
Please write some new songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
I only buy albums from new artists very occasionally but when I heard Chvrches on Radio 1 for the first time I instantly knew I was going to like them. After checking out the album on Spotify and liking every track it was a no brainer to purchase the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Amazing album...great new band breaking through and i have to say that laurens voice is amazing and the singles from the album blew me away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My album of the year, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Great from start to finish, much more than I expected from just the singles. Looking to see them live to see if they live up to the quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 417 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews