Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace
Highly recommended.
I wasn't a big fan of 80's influenced music (or at least I couldn't find a way in) until I heard a single off this on the radio.
I brought the CD when it came out and am still listening.
Recommended
Published 8 months ago by IanJC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chvrches
This album will probably not stand the Tooth of Time, but is a good reflection of what is prevalent today. Should be a 3.5 , but that's not possible .
Published 1 month ago by Hans Westerlaken


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Highly recommended.
I wasn't a big fan of 80's influenced music (or at least I couldn't find a way in) until I heard a single off this on the radio.
I brought the CD when it came out and am still listening.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Superb album. Original, infectious, mature and emotional. Repeated listening gives rewards. British music is really coming into its own again. Support them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chvrches raise the roof !!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
The Glaswegian trio that make up 'Chvrches' are proving a force to be reckoned with on the 3-piece electronica circuit-giving the likes of 'Chase and Status' and 'Disclosure' some healthy competition.
'The Bones Of What You Believe' is quirky, contemporary and sharp with some beautifully crafted songs and musically, expressing a definite technological intent. The song writing is of such a level of maturity, that it has the feel of a third or fourth album rather than a debut! Vocalist Lauren Mayberry could hum the phonebook from cover to cover and still have you yearning for more.
A major plus for this album is that the tracks are in the realm of the radio edit rather than the 12inch, cutting straight to the lyrical point of the song/s.
The single 'Gun' released in the summer of 2013, is the perfect promo for the band, encompassing that vocal hook-based, synthesised style. Track 'Under The Tide' lends itself to a bit of role reversal courtesy of keyboard players Iain Cook/Martin Doherty providing fitting vocals to the backdrop of a tidy base-line.
A very promising addition to the current dance/pop and live music scene.

DiscJockey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS MY CHVRCH !, 4 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
In a quiet unassuming way, just knocking out one great song after another, without seeming effort, each song probably at least three times the complexity of an average pop song, this band has sky-rocketed to one of THE great bands of our age - EASILY one of the best bands ever to come out of Britain, let alone Scotland.

So out there, quietly, musical talent works at its extraordinary craft, transforming our head-space into a new dimension - a dimension called Chvrches, a mysterious alien spelling, a mysterious alien symbolism.

If I can guess what is happening here it is that MUSIC has taken a FRONT seat, and all the rest though it may be fun or important has been placed secondary.

How many great bands and great artists go on to produce canons largely populated with repetitive sparse musical pabulum - notably the U2's and Coldplay's of this world - capable of writing great songs, capable of writing great music, yet churning out disappointing tracts of strangely average works - a slavery to mass appeal maybe, the love of success itself, not of music - its like they are trying to 'compute' which will be the most 'cool' - that is sad.

But without effort Chvrches are 'cool' without even trying - they have taken the long road to success by creating actual good music.

Like the best synth pop music this album has vocals both angelic and street-wise, it has pathos yet bounce and energy, it has vitality. It shuns relying on simple chords patterns hanging off of catchy hooks, but instead surprises with unexpected changes in pace and rhythm, a finely woven texture underlies all of these songs. But it is not TOO finely woven, just enough to do the job, just enough to take us forward from the over- simplified state of our popular music, and the obsession with 'success' as fast as possible through mass lowest-common-denominator appeal.

I hope Chvrches will take with a pinch of salt all the complete BS of online bullying - now a major and sad part of internet communication - OPEN communication is best though, we cannot let these bullies stop us from communicating on the OPEN internet.

In the spirit of Faithless and Maxi Jazz, this is now decidedly MY CHVRCH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great debut, 7 Nov 2013
By 
D. M. VICTOR (Cornwall , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Brilliant debut from this synth band. Saw them on Jools Holland and was very impressed. Look forward to hearing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
I have never been a fan of electronic music, but saw Chvrches on Jules Holland and was knocked out. I bought the CD on the strength of it, and have not regretted it for one second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent album, but........, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
I'd heard a few tracks from this album on the radio, and loved the '80's electronic feel and the fantastic vocals, so I decided to order the album. I was extremely impressed, only a couple of "dud" tracks on the entire album.

Now for the BUT, and it does deserve to be in capitals. While the group are excellent, the post production and mixing of the album is poor at best, some of the tracks are over compressed, and if you listen on a proper HiFi, you will be disappointed in the sound quality. I hope they re-record this album in the UK, where the recording studios can do a better job!

I would have given 5 stars, but for the sound & production quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I can't recommend this album, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A slight left of field purchase for me after catching the T in the park slot, but what a blinding album, I can't put it down. Mystified by other posts about quality, my sound system is state of the art and this comes across crystal clear, I can't recommend this album enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I've bought in years, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Claus Murmann "Clausy" (Westport, CT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
Been a Depeche Mode fan since the early 80's and haven't stopped playing this at least once a week for the last 6 months. The synth sounds are fabulous, and Lauren's voice is dreamy. Play it on a hi-fi that can handle the bass and the analog synths. Go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chvrches, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] (Audio CD)
This album will probably not stand the Tooth of Time, but is a good reflection of what is prevalent today. Should be a 3.5 , but that's not possible .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack]
The Bones Of What You Believe [Digipack] by Chvrches (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews