Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£0.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 July 2013
Craig Zerf’s writing is getting better and better. Plob was a great read, funny, jokey and full of rapid-fire jokes. Most of it worked…some of it didn’t. All in all, though, it was a good, light, very funny read. In Plob Goes South, Zerf bangs it up a few notches. The premise is deeper, there is more of a plot and the jokes (although still thick and fast) are a little more sophisticated. Typhon (Plob’s nemesis) is back, along with master Smegly and a whole new cast of characters. The secret agents, Hubris Pond and Bruce Dunny are hilarious. But my vote for scene of the year must be the introduction of the Hobby Horsemen of the Horsdoovrees. I shall say no more so as not to spoil - but Laugh? Out loud and frequently I did!!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
Typhon the dark(a demon-big boy in the evil business)steals all of the worlds sporting trophies. This leads to a surfeit of belief sloshing about in the world. Sporting goods come to life and go on a killing spree; England declares war against Australia; Japan attacks Pearl Harbour; the Archbishop of Canterbury gets medieval on everone's ass, the Prime minister of the UK runs out of whisky...and this is only the first few chapters! Plob goes south is an absolute masterpiece of complex, well-written satirical comedy. For those of you who havn't read the first Plob..fear not, these books are not a trilogy they stand alone as single stories. However, that said - do try to read them in order- they are gloriously written escapism that will hold your attention and make you laugh out loud.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Craig Zerf has grown as a writer with this new adventure. Plob goes South still retains the machine gun joke delivery of the first book but they are delivered with a new found depth. Zerf has taken to social commentary alongside his gags. No one is safe as Zerf lapoons politics, religion, cult worship and even the August Institution of James Bond and the British Secret Services. As Plob matures so does his author...more of the same 5 star humor pls!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
A new star on the fantasy scene. This novel is a tour de force, written in a slightly different style to the first. Wittier and with more depth it still manages to wring a joke out of almost every situation. The difference this time is that there are more straight scenes that allow Zerf to bounce humour off, thereby sharpening his puns and jokes. Absolute genius.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Zerf really pushed the boat out on this one. Undead sports equipment, Winston Churchill, space travelling fish and the British secret service. He must have an imagination as fertile as a pile of old horse manure...how does he come up with these weird and wonderful scenarios? For all lovers of comedy in whatever genre - go for it, you will not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
What a golden gem, i have to say i thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is crazy, silly and laugh out loud fun. The jokes are indeed clever and the plot is very amusing. For those who like a rollicking good yarn this is an absolute must. It is undoubtedly storytelling at its best and I will be strongly recommending it to all my friends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Long have I waited for the next Plob. And I was not disappointed. Much like Pratchett, Zerf has improved. The first book got four stars from me...this gets the full five. This is truly comedy for all ages. It can be appreciated on many levels and I recommend it highly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
The second in the series and what a good un. Zerf has matured as a writer. Tighter prose, better jokes and a more measured approach to the whole thing. But make no mistake, still as weird as a box of monkeys on acid.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Craig Zerf has developed his writing style well to help combine outlandish ideas with smooth plots. Can't wait to read Plob' s next adventure. I did miss Drenee from the first book this time around
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
This book does what it says on the tin - it provides laughs in shovel fulls. Excellent, well written satire. Highly recommended even for a fantasy novice such as myself.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse