Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning !
Rarely can the adjective 'stunning' be used sincerely to describe a film but this one deserves it. Heart-rending, appalling, touching, and horrifying, it is - as other reviewers have suggested - absolutely must-watch material. It is hard to think of another film that portrays the horror of being caught up in a war, and in particular in the special horrors of a civil...
Published on 10 April 2009 by NOGGIN

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watched it once and will give it another go.
Great story and the movie doesn't shirk the horror. I don't like plots that employ flash backs to tell the story, it kind of takes the wings out of the sails a bit - robs the story of energy and pace. Worth a watch though, and it plays on English dvd players - I was a bit worried about that.
Published 20 months ago by Mr. J. B. Poulton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning !, 10 April 2009
By 
NOGGIN (CHESHAM, BUCKS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Rarely can the adjective 'stunning' be used sincerely to describe a film but this one deserves it. Heart-rending, appalling, touching, and horrifying, it is - as other reviewers have suggested - absolutely must-watch material. It is hard to think of another film that portrays the horror of being caught up in a war, and in particular in the special horrors of a civil war, as this one does. I have not been able to get it out of my mind since viewing it several weeks ago. I hardly dare to go back and watch it again but simultaneously feel compelled to. Please watch it. It's a brilliant piece of film-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film I've seen on the Rwandan Genocide, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Wesley Etienne (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a uni student and somehow stumbled across the Rwandan Genocide when trawling around Wikipedia one evening, and I was compelled to find out more. I was only 5 when it happened, so I didn't know anything about it until I began reading about it. After watching Hotel Rwanda and Shooting Dogs, I can honestly say this film is effortlessly better than either (although both Hotel Rwanda and Shooting Dogs are very, very good films). The film isn't injected with Hollywood make believe or told from the point of view of people who are not in actual peril themselves, nor does it portray the horrors in an impersonal yet graphic way. It follows the story of one moderate Hutu soldier who is married to a Tutsi, and how his life unravels completely when the genocide happens. The realism in the man's struggle is what makes this film so compelling, because the situations he is faced with are not Hollywood 'near-misses' or 'it goes bad, but then it turns out good', when things go wrong, they really go wrong and many times you feel your heart break for him and the supporting cast. It shows things in more detail than other films, and doesn't try to elicit emotions from you with certain camera tricks or narrative segments, it simply lets the situations unfold and lets you be a spectator, and this cold, unrelenting presentation of the events is what makes it so gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant portrayal of the Rwandan Genocide, 9 Dec 2005
The film Sometimes in April completely grabbed me from the moment that it began watching until the closing credits and left me sitting in silence for several minutes afterwards, while I came to terms with what I had just seen.
The film is a story about a Rwandan man and his family and their experiences in the genocide. It is very true to the actual events of that period and the fact that it is filmed in Kigali means that those people who know the city will recognise certain places. This also gives it a far more authentic feel than Hotel Rwanda, most of which was filmed in South Africa.
And while this film does not pull any punches about the horror of the genocide, it manages to give the victims faces, names and stories, so that they are not lost in the sheer scale of the events portrayed. It also manages to show brutal scenes from road blocks and streets without decensitising the viewer to the violence which is taking place.
The story also shows the international aspect of what is happening, implicating the great powers for not stopping the tragedy. By the end one feels that they have been on a roller coaster ride through hope and despair and out the other side, with a number of difficult questions picked up along the way.
This is truly one of the most important films ever made!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinairy film, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Christopher E. Murphy (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is film making at its best, the kind of film that should win all kinds of awards but doesnt. Not because its a 'worthy' film but because it tells a vitally important story that needs to be seen by a vast audience in a clear, powerful, passionate,accurate and deeply moving way.

Every aspect of it is brilliantly done - the direction, the acting, the costumes, the cinemotography and the editing. It educates without preaching. It just tells the story, because the story itself is powerful enough. Like all the genocides of history it shows what we are capable of - a million people murdered in a few weeks while the international community wrung its hands and wallowed in inaction. Ignorance propoganda and hate are a dangerous combination in any culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Exceptional Film!, 6 Dec 2010
By 
P. WILLIAMS "huggy bear" (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haitian Director Raoul Peck felt that this was a story that HAD to be told to the World and wanted to make his film in the actual Country and locations that were significant during the time in 1994 when Rwandan Hutus murdered over 800,000 of their fellow Rwandans who were Tutsis,men-women-children of all and any age,from babies to old people.None were safe from the bullet of the Soldier or the Machete of the tribesman.
The film directed by Peck is based on true facts and is built around two brothers, one more politically aware and active than the other and when the plane of the Rwandan President who happens to be a Hutu is shot down,all hell breaks loose as the assassins are naturally assumed to be Tutsis.Hutus hit the streets hunting down Tutsis and killing them like wild animals in revenge.
The politically naive brother Augustin(Idris Elba) asks the other Honore(Oris Erhuero)if he can move his wife and children out of the area past the now set-up road blocks as he knows people on them and he agrees to help.But things NEVER go to plan do they??
This film depicts I think probably as near to what it must have actually been like to have been there as you're going to get or want to feel?There are too many sad points to mention, too many times that you have a lump in your throat - the school scene for one example? However this is a story that needed to be told and I think Raoul Peck has done a superb job,he has written the screenplay as well which is marvellous and the acting really is faultless.Why didn't it get an Oscar?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes in April, the best film you will ever see, 9 Sep 2011
People gush about this film for good reason, with no over-exaggeration. This film is completely riveting, the dedication to honesty and accuracy to every detail in story, performance and production reaches beyond any prejudice or pre-conception you may have about the Rwandan genocide. This film made me aware of our responsibility as members of Humanity and how these incredible crimes and pains were committed by us to us, all of us. Everyone should watch this film. I agree that it is better in many ways than Hotel Rwanda and Shooting Dogs, although this in no way diminishes the brilliance of those films, only reflects how good Sometimes In April is. A courageous film and a gift to everyone who watches it. Thank you to the film makers for making it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes in April - tell everyone about it, 19 Feb 2011
Ridiculously good....one can become so conditioned to the formulaic "highs" in a "Hollywood-style" film, having been lulled first into the lows. A USUAL "Hollywood-style" film tantalises the emotions with sadness, frustration and anger then pulls you out with uplifting music, meaningful looks, a sense of hope and heroism and ultimately fulfillment....SOMETIMES IN APRIL simply DOES NOT do that..... I was reflecting on what it did to me.....it's a little more complex than this, but it made my muscles tense, my teeth grind, my skin sweat, my eyelids swell and my stomach sick. At the end of the film I burst into tears in helplessness and despair at the thought that the clock can't be rewound to enable a different course of action, and having been too gripped to let out any emotion until then. It's not because of the violence (which is all in there but cleverly alluded to in some cases rather than shockingly graphic).....It is SO gripping and harrowing because every time you think you're going to get a Hollywood moment.... well, basically.... you don't get one. You get something else, and not always the opposite of uplifting and heroic... just different. SOMETIMES IN APRIL explores the cleverness of mass hypnosis through relentless public announcement on radio (including the de-humanisation of the Tutsis by close association with insect infestation); the stages of denial (that there's anything wrong with what the genocidaire are doing and ); the nonchalant approach to buying in arms from the West and China to arm the civilian militia; the deeply emotional exploration of a man who struggles to bring himself to hear what he knows to be the inevitable fate of his wife and children; the history behind the genocide; the psychological pain and dilemmas faced by moderate Hutus who were given intolerable decisions to make:"prove you're loyal to the cause by taking a machete to your traitor of a colleague and friend"; the reality of a local Rwandan Gacaca court compared with the high-tech media friendly courts of the UN..... and the list of fascinating and educational goes on. It's a broad brush stroke which paints an unfathomable picture... a picture that human brains are in the most part unable to comprehend as reality until you go to Youtube and look up "Ghosts of Rwanda" and see that it's not a "story" but a reality. SOMETIMES IN APRIL is also a masterpiece which gives depth of understanding of the human issues as well as the events and reference points you'll be compelled to read about afterwards...it evokes the same kind of unfortunate impact of road-crash rubber-necking where people can't take their eyes of what's happened. Any sense of heroism is ironic and complex as aside from the RPF intervention at the end of the film (which is portrayed in an understated and "un-Hollywoodistic style") it focuses on the attempted heroism of "the brother"... a radio RTLM DJ who is responsible for spreading the hate from behind the detached setting of the radio studio, but on the other side of the coin is emotiononally loyal to his moderate Hutu brother and his Tutsi wife (and mixed-tribe children). I won't tell you whether he's successful in his attempted heroism or not (and we do know that there were heroic acts during the genocide)......Ultimately, hope in a grander sense is only really delivered through its portrayal of the stoic people of Rwanda as they attempt to systematically moved forwards towards reconciliation and emotional healing. This is VERY, VERY, VERY clever film.... if you know a bit about Rwanda and you don't watch it, I think you'll potentially be missing a number of jigsaw pieces (predominantly around the exploration of human behaviour and the complexities of genocide and emotional recovery).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this has to be the film that is close to what happened back then. very moving, emotional story brilliantly acted by the actors. just cant say enough good things about this movie if you haven't cried before the end or feel like it then there is something wrong with you. but don't just take my word for it pick up this film and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thoroughly Grim Film, 16 April 2013
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The Rwandan Genocide was one of those events hard to imagine en masse thus obliging us to try to understand it at the individual level. Although there is the usual flagellation over what the West did not do at the time, the film directs us to the more important point of what happened afterwards when the legal process started grinding. But this is all so much Western worry, the film is really about Idris Elba's character losing his family in dreadful circumstance. Here the film gives it straight from the shoulder; there are no happy endings, just some less horrid ones. A film about Africa made with Africans. But - hey- don't watch it while depressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uncomfortable watching but a must, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very powerful and upsetting film. however everyone should ssee this it should make everyone think about how we treat one another as human beings .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sometimes in April [DVD] [2005]
Sometimes in April [DVD] [2005] by Raoul Peck (DVD - 2013)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews