Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gonna Make Money
The Deap Vally girls could only come from California. You just can't get away with hot-panted hard-rock these days if you hail from anywhere else. And don't let their attire (or lack of) force you into stereotyping this primitive blues-rock duo either, for Lindsey Troy and Julie Edwards are most definitely for real. Every track on Sistrionix is attacked like they're...
Published 12 months ago by Gannon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good debut but songs lack depth
Firstly would like to say its a not a bad debut. A mixture of White Stripes and 70's rock. They make hell of a noise for only two people in the band. However, playing the album non stop for a few days you soon relaise that the majority of the songs blend together. A few tracks do stand out but not enough quality songs to warrant a 4 star review in my opinion. I am sure...
Published 12 months ago by bukowski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gonna Make Money, 1 July 2013
By 
Gannon (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sistrionix (Audio CD)
The Deap Vally girls could only come from California. You just can't get away with hot-panted hard-rock these days if you hail from anywhere else. And don't let their attire (or lack of) force you into stereotyping this primitive blues-rock duo either, for Lindsey Troy and Julie Edwards are most definitely for real. Every track on Sistrionix is attacked like they're having the times of their lives - it's just that it gets warm on stage, alright.

As eye-catching a girl-girl combo then as comes to mind, Troy and Edwards nevertheless let their songs do most of the talking. And, in Troy, Deap Vally has a true rock star in its midst, wheeling, for example, between a creepy croon and full-blown Robert Plant wail on last year's empowering single "Gonna Make My Own Money". Providing variety, the classy closer "Six Feet Under" later casts her into simmering Janis Joplin country, fraying the template with passages of outright distortion.

"Come on everybody. Listen up." So Troy begins the killer "End Of The World" and pay attention you will come the track's buzz-saw axe-work and Edwards' muscular drum part - there are certainly worse ways to embrace apocalypse. Suffice it to say then that if the pair had you at hello, you'll be head over heels soon after. The booty-shaking jams just keep coming, tumbling into one another.

The chugging "Creeplife" is thrown down like a gauntlet. The sludgy single, "Lies", squalls and squawks likes Karen O preaching on the subject of girl power. "Bad For My Body" could be QOTSA as tackled by the original Black Sabbath WAGS. The stop-start jerk to "Walk Of Shame" ("I don't feel no blame") is ripped straight from the annals of Jack White, its lack of fussy production lending it a really raw quality to play off against Troy's bubblegum squeaks - a sweet and sour concoction that stylistically, if not musically, brings Jemina Pearl of Be Your Own Pet`s spiky solo work to mind.

Far from reinventing the wheel, and those sensitive to the re-treading of sacred ground would be laughably off course to investigate it at any great length, it's hard not be taken in by the girls' enthusiasm and ear for great hooks all the same. Either way, if there's more fun to be had this year than Sistrionix - with or without hotpants involved - then count yourself very lucky indeed.

Advised downloads: "Gonna Make My Own Money" and "End Of The World".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE NUTS, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistrionix (Audio CD)
Want dirty sexy rock n roll look no further, awesome album!!! BLESSINGS BE! Gotta check em out live too, can't help but fall in love with them!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 13 July 2013
By 
M. W. Tinsley "Mike" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistrionix (MP3 Download)
Like an all-girl White Stripes. Particularly enjoyed the "hidden" bonus track. Definitely recommended as a good addition to anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deap vally - sistertronix, 5 July 2013
This review is from: Sistrionix (Audio CD)
First saw these ladies on Later with Jools Holland back in May this year where they delivered a 2 song set and easily the best act on there that night. Since then i have been waiting for there debut to be released and i can tell you it has been well worth the wait. Not a weak song here and sound as good live! as they do in the studio with there distorted blues rock sound. I hope they get round to working on a second album in the near future cause it just left me wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOW THAT'S A DEBUT!, 1 July 2013
This review is from: Sistrionix (Audio CD)
I was fortunate enough to see these at a VACCINES gig,the support act that really caught my interest. From the opener of END OF THE WORLD,this album shows great promise,then the album gets stronger and stronger. The sound is certainly very much like THE WHITE STRIPES with a little DEAD WEATHER thrown in and some JULIETTE LEWIS type songs and sounds,all of which is just fine with me. This is kind of good old fashion rock 'n' roll but crashing into today's scene and mingling well with it. The lyrics are very relevant to today with vocals that demand to be heard,proving women can rock just as well as men.
The drums are fast and furious played with love,desire and a whole heap of attitude. Songs such as BABY I CALL HELL,GONNA MAKE MY OWN MONEY and BAD FOR MY BODY will get the blood pumping at future gigs for sure,I'm pretty sure every track on here will soon be demanded by somebody when they start headlining to a crowd thirsty for something special. I loved the extra track at the end of the album too,tipping their hats to the old folk who used to be young,just like them.
This is going to get many a play on my stereo,i honestly can't see me getting bored with it. For me,DEAP VALLY are sexy,dirty,sweaty,raw and unashamed rock 'n' roll,dripping with passion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an immediate five stars but..., 1 July 2013
By 
yB (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sistrionix (Audio CD)
Its a grower! On my fourth listen now and it gets better every time round.

Two women, a drum kit, a gnarly guitar and some serious attitude. Hard-hitting stripped down blues rock, raw and "in your face" as they say. They also say the sound is similar the White Stripes. "They" seem oblivious to the fact that the lead singer of the White Stripes is male, not the snarling but very female Lindsey Troy. Big, big difference!

Typically of this album, opening track "End of the World" seemed a peculiar choice of start track, featuring some slightly discordant guitar playing yet on repeat listens it just seems to fit right. Second track "Baby I Call Hell" I've heard a multitude of times now through their recent TV appearances so it just gets me to familiar territory. Throughout the album, remorseless driving distorted guitar is at the heart of everything but there's enough variation to prevent monotony. The almost singalong qualities of "Walk of Shame", a few spoken lines in"Lies", the swirling of "Women of Intention", punching vocal delivery in "Raw Delivery". Last official track "Six Feet Under" is inevitably the gentle track of the eleven, nearest you're going to get to a ballad but even that has the wails, growls and fierce guitar.

Contrary to what the Amazon CD description currently says Track 10 does not contain the hidden track Spiritual. Track 11 however has 3 and a half minutes of guitar&drum free singing of an atmospheric track whose lyrics don't appear to include the word "Spiritual" as far as I tell. Another of tracks where at first listen I wasn't that taken, Julie Edwards' contribution initially seeming to jar, but by the third time round it was just another track that had cast its spell. Its a song that forces images in your head.

There's no bad tracks, "Creeplife" is possibly slighly less striking than others but that's about it, and I've failed to pick out a standout track simply because every listen changes my mind. Once the novely has worn off and I take it off repeat, I've a feeling this is an album I'll be returning to whenever I'm in a "up yours world" mood .... so a lot then!

Buy this album. Buy a bottle of Jim Bean. The rest will look after itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistrionix (Audio CD)
I was pleased with the quick delivery, and although I don't listen to this sort of music, the person I gave it too is delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Lp., 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistrionix (Audio CD)
Fabulous record from one of the best new bands around , well worth a listen also go see them live they are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Loulou (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistrionix (Audio CD)
I bought this immediately after seeing Deep Vally live. The live performance was fantastic, sometimes this can lead to a disappointing CD, but the album lived up to the hype. They are rockin' chicks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it and play it loud, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sistrionix (Audio CD)
Whilst not being sure that the image they have chosen is wise their music is truly awesome. Simple as that! Good old fashioned rock crossed with the white stripes and delivered loud and proud. Buy it, enjoy it and play it LOUD. There probably isn't a great deal of depth to their lyrics but the same could be said of AcDc so no worries. It really does make a refreshing change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sistrionix
Sistrionix by Deap Vally
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews