Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track list
Bought few days ago and waiting for arrival. I rated this DVD based on the track list:
1.It Ain't For Me
2.The Thing Is
3.We Will
4.Make My Day
5.Stick In The Mud
6.Clair
7.Sometimes
8.Way Things Used To Be
9.What's In A Kiss
10.Hold On To What You Got
11.Water Music
12.Who Was It
13.Out Of The...
Published on 21 May 2011 by Oscar Barreda Cuneo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good picture quality
Gilbert playing to a small audience in Tokyo ,is good if you like his music but it really needed a bit of orchestra to bring it up to the correct level,there for a little slow.
The quality of this dvd is good so it gets 3 stars.
Published on 28 May 2012 by .kramsie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track list, 21 May 2011
By 
Oscar Barreda Cuneo "obarreda" (Tacna, -- Peru) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Tokyo [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Bought few days ago and waiting for arrival. I rated this DVD based on the track list:
1.It Ain't For Me
2.The Thing Is
3.We Will
4.Make My Day
5.Stick In The Mud
6.Clair
7.Sometimes
8.Way Things Used To Be
9.What's In A Kiss
10.Hold On To What You Got
11.Water Music
12.Who Was It
13.Out Of The Question
14.What Could Be Nicer
15.Alone Again (Naturally)
16.Say Goodbye
17.Get Down
18.Came To See Me Yesterday (In The Month Of) bonus track
19.Nothing Rhymed bonus track
20.No Matter How I Try bonus track
21.Two's Company (Three Is Allowed) promo video
22.So What promo video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Musicianship Captured with Simplicity, 23 Aug. 2011
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Tokyo [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
It's wonderful to watch Gilbert O'sullivan performing in live, totally relaxed and enjoying himself, his incomparable musicianship is captured vividly with simplicity and heart-warming atmosphere. The ever-green quality of his vocal and his striking rhythmic style has never diminished. Japanese audiences are as usual very well-behaved, but that does not mean they are unimpressed - on the contrary they are totally absorbed and lost in the pure lyricism of his music. O'sullivan seems well accustomed to Japanese way to show their appreciation, his Japanese shows little improvement since the 90s though.

With little interference from the audiences and with a small band of musicians (no drums, no base, two girls chorus, one wind instrument player, one extra keyboard), not only the classic hit like Clare, Alone Again, Get Down but the less known gems like We Will, What Could Be Nicer, Out of Question alongside recent songs like Make My Day, Water Music, Say Goodbye, are presented in a simple and an intimate way. The DVD includes also rare footages from other live and promotion videos as bonus tracks. A real treat for fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good picture quality, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Tokyo [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Gilbert playing to a small audience in Tokyo ,is good if you like his music but it really needed a bit of orchestra to bring it up to the correct level,there for a little slow.
The quality of this dvd is good so it gets 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great band!, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Tokyo [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This concert gathers some of the best virtuosos in the metal scene! You really can't go wrong with this. The playing is flawless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked all musics
Excellent quality

The guys are incredible
The best...
If you like good music... This is your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar performances...., 25 Sept. 2013
By 
Neil Murray "mrmusicmaker" (Hebburn, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Tokyo [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I am a huge fan of all of the members of this group. The picture and sound quality is great, and the performances are top notch.
As usual, Sheehan and Portnoy provide the exuberance and comic touches, and Macalpine and Sherinian the virtuosity.

The guys are obviously well at ease with each other, and one track in particular, where they riff on a few little Van Halen references, is a hoot.

Some of the pieces, the Planet X ones in particular, are a bit musically intense. But there is still a lot of fun to be had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i like the show in the dvd .amazing super group sheehan macalpine portnoy and sherinian are playing best music on one stage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Four - with bells on!, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Tokyo [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
What a mind-blowing blaster of a set this is: absolutely brilliant to see (and hear) how much these excellent and iconic musicians have developed and matured over the years. This has to be the latest and best of the much-hyped "supergroup" genre. Going from their previous careers, this is like moving from big, clunky US muscle cars to European thoroughbreds (the extreme and sonically luscious - and very, very scary - thrill of the music gives me that sort of experience!).
The bluray is fabulous: visually it has all the shock of suddenly being on stage, inches from the performers. The audio is not easy to access - I had to experiment, and take notes (which is typical of often poorly though-out audio set-ups). On my Panasonic, I have to choose DTS from the audio menu, then press stop, then Direct Navigation. Bizarre! But once accessed, the sound is stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent DVD of a great singer song writer doing what ..., 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Tokyo [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
excellent DVD of a great singer song writer doing what he does best, worth buying for any Gilbert O'Sullivan fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the CD rather, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Tokyo [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
OMG what a boring performer!!! Love his music - I put it on when I'm cooking and can't see the TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live In Tokyo [Blu-ray] [2013]
Live In Tokyo [Blu-ray] [2013] by Sheehan, Macalpine, Sherinian. Portnoy (Blu-ray - 2013)
£14.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews