Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More is less
Second albums are a notoriously risky business; and not just for the band. Purchasing the successor to a much loved album is a bit like returning to the restaurant which had once served The Best Meal Ever. It can only disappoint. The butter is too cold, the room is too hot, the thrice-cooked chips are limp, the waiter is having a bad day, and the bill has shifted from...
Published 13 months ago by S. Airey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK isn't good enough
This is OK. Its only OK. Barton Hollow was magnificent.

The Civil Wars are far greater than the sum of their parts. This album is made up of mainly decent songs sung by two individuals, sometimes at the same time. I wonder if they were even in the studio together much of the time. Barton Hollow on the other hand was two voices making sublime magic...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album - bittersweet but beautiful, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Civil Wars (Audio CD)
Have been waiting eagerly for this album. It is fantastic - would highly recommend it. Joy more dominant vocally on this album, rather miss the voice of John Paul. However the songs are superb - bittersweet in many cases and take your breath away with the clarity of the messages.

I hope this duo will be able to continue to work together somehow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
John N. Reynolds (NI/UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Civil Wars (Audio CD)
Just love the sound of this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great singing by both members of the band, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Civil Wars (MP3 Download)
Great singing by both members of the band. The music has a strong Southern flavour of various sorts but isn't easily categorised (which is good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average!, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Civil Wars (MP3 Download)
Bought the album for the 1st single. Somewhat disappointed by the rest if the tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get some in!, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Civil Wars (MP3 Download)
Fantastic. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album ever, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Civil Wars (Audio CD)
I came across The Civil Wars whilst watching breakfast telly. I enjoyed what they did so much I bought the album and it has become a favourite with the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 April 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Obrien (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Civil Wars (Audio CD)
Really love this product, arrived very quickly and was exactly what i wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 April 2014
By 
Miss Walterson "V M A Walterson" (Shetland, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Civil Wars (Audio CD)
Pure brilliance! After hearing Barton Hollow, I struggled to believe that this new album could be any more brilliant. I was proved wrong, greatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful, 21 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Civil Wars (Audio CD)
I was watching Nashville and thinking how wonderful it would be if Gunner and Scarlet sang together in real life – and then I came across The Civil Wars and realised that’s probably as close as you could get. Their music is deliciously melancholic, and their acoustic sound and haunting harmonies have a good bit of bite. I loved both of their albums, but their second album, The Civil Wars, was just exquisitely done, with so many hypnotically good tracks. I was sorry to learn that they had split up – their music is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime follow-on to Barton Hollow, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Civil Wars (Audio CD)
If you know Civil Wars then buy this CD! If you don't know them then buy their 1st album and this second album too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Civil Wars
The Civil Wars by The Civil Wars (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews