Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars644
4.4 out of 5 stars
Flavour Name: LambSize: 14 kgChange
Price:£21.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2014
Have a look through the ingredients on this rubbish dog food. 'Oils and fats' and 'various sugars' are two ingredients specifically added to improve food palatability but neither do the dog much good. As everyone knows, too much sugar or too much fat is not healthy and can, in-fact, play a big part in the development of a wide range of health problems. Excessive levels should therefore be avoided.
To top things off, Bakers includes unspecified artificial preservatives and antioxidants - another group of ingredients that most nutritionists recommend avoiding due to their links to health problems.
As with all low grade foods, you have to feed quite a lot to get enough nutrients into your dog. This means that a bag doesn't last very long and the price per day goes up considerably. In fact, Bakers cost about as much per day as many far higher quality dog foods.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
It saddens me how many people buy this for their dog thinking they are getting their dog 'the best'. CLEARLY nobody has read the ingredients list?! Of course the product advertises itself as healthy, and the packaging looks nice and colourful, and so does the food (lots of e-numbers, perfect). WHY would they tell you that it's junk? Their money goes on advertising and marketing, not the ingredients. Unfortunately it has a shockingly low meat content, and the meat is 'animal derivatives' which is the slush/pulp off the bones- google it and you will be absolutely disgusted. The rest is wheat, which is the worst carb for a dogs digestion, its completely unnatural for them, and vegetable DERIVATIVES. Not even vegetables, the pulp!! They put fat and flavourings in to make dogs like it. Please for the love of god do what you'd do for your children and see whats INSIDE the product not just look at a packet. If you get a good food, they need to eat less of it, get less wind, firmer stools, no skin allergies, less hyper from colouring, and will give you less vets bills in the long run. Go for a food of around 30% meat, not meat derivatives, and the carb should preferably be oats or rice. They are clean on the digestion. Examples are Burns, James Wellbeloved, Wainwrights, fish4dogs, Beta sensitive- lamb and potato (other Beta is low in meat and nowhere near as good). Pedigree is also appalling. PLEASE DON'T BE IGNORANT, JUST LOOK AT THE INGREDIENTS IT'S THAT SIMPLE. If you choose to ignore this then I just feel bad for your dogs. I saw it being made in my training and it made me wretch....

Proof if you need it:
[...]
11 comment19 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
With all the junk in this food, I don't know how it is even on the shelves for sale. If this were fed to kids on a daily basis there would be outrage, yet its OK to feed it to dogs?

Anyway, my experiences. I ran out of my usual dog food one day, the only thing my local shop had in stock was Bakers. It was this or not feed the dog, so I got her some. Well, never again, she would have been better off going hungry. She was absolutely bouncing off the walls (no wonder with 6 e-numbers per box), she had horrible nuclear coloured poo, and she was still hungry after eating.

Bakers number one ingredients are cereals and derivatives, and for the price especially, this is NOT aceeptable. You can buy foods like skinners with a higher meat content cheaper than you can buy Bakers, and no e-numbers either!

I would never ever touch Bakers again, it just stuns me that people do absolutely no research into what their dog is eating and feed this. It contains known carcinogenics!
0Comment31 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
If you love your dog you won't feed them Bakers.
Just have a look at the ingredients and google them for yourself.
E102 - Tartrazine and E110 Sunset Yellow are strongly linked to hyperactivity and are banned in some countries. Sunset Yellow has been found to damage kidneys and adrenals when fed to laboratory rats. It has also been found to be carcinogenic when fed to animals
E320 - BHA or butylated hydroxyanisole is a known carcinogen that has also been linked with urticaria, angioedema and asthma, also banned in many countries.
E321 - BHT or butylated hydroxytoluene causes liver damage.
E310 - Propyl Gallate. Banned from children's foods in the US because it is thought to cause the blood disorder methemoglobinemia, linked to gastric disorders and skin irritation in animals.
E104 - Quinoline Yellow is one of the colours that the Hyperactive Children's Support Group recommends be eliminated from the diet of children. Banned in Australia, Japan, Norway and the United States it is also linked to the occurence of dermatitis.
E171 - Titanium Dioxide. Banned in Germany
E153 - Carbon black. Banned as a food additive in the United States of America. Suspected as a carcinogenic agent.
E490 - Propylene Glycol, linked to occurence on eczema, particularly in white dogs and bull-breeds.

Bakers isn't a dog food, it is a cynical and profitable dumping ground for additives deemed unfit for human consumption.
Your dog can't use google, it's up to you to make sure that he or she eats proper decent food.
Go and look these things up for yourself and please, please, please don't feed this horrible stuff to your best friend, your dog relies on your judgement.
1818 comments84 of 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
You would not eat junk food every day, why feed your dog it? Please don't buy this rubbish for your dog, you are doing them more harm than good. Read the ingredients, for the sake of your dog! Dogs don't need cereal or low quality grain, they need meat and high quality proteins. This food is junk and will give your dog a shorter, less healthy life. Have a look at websites that compare dog foods, google 'which dog food' for example. I cant say strongly enough, Bakers complete is utter rubbish, low quality ingredients, many of which are not even specified. You dog gulps this stuff up because it is loaded with extra fat and sugar. I feed my dog a BARF diet, but that not for everyone, but this junk should not be allowed to be on sale. Just because it looks good to you (which is what the marketing people have made it to look like) does not make it a good meal for your dog. Its cheap for a reason, you may indeed find that if you buy a more expensive, higher quality food, with a better nutritional content then this cr*p you need to feed less, as its more nutrient packed. Look at the cost per day, not the cost per kg of the food. The cost may end up the same.

Read the ingredients that go into your dogs food, a named meat should be the number 1 ingredient, preferability the number 2 and 3 too. 'Meat derivatives' basically could mean anything, and with Bakers, its not even the main ingredient, an unnamed 'cereal' is!

Your dog deserves better then this, surely?
0Comment24 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Please do your research on dog food this is just about the worst food you could buy. Yes its cheap and your dog might love it but That doesnt make it good for them. I may aswel go pick them up a mc Donald s and be done with it. Ignore what people say about this food Being good and do your research first .
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
I used to feed our 3 year old rescue GSD on Bakers when got her and she absolutely love it. However, after having a home check to enable us to have another rescue GSD it came up in conversation that we fed her Bakers and were informed how bad Bakers is for dogs because of the colourings and additives within this product. After doing some research I was horrified to ascertain that the information that we had been given was actually correct and gradually swapped her onto high quality dry dog food.
I don't want to put dog owners off buying Bakers for their dogs, as I know dogs absolutely love Bakers and every dog owner allows their dog to eat what their dog prefers. I just wanted to make other dog owners aware of Bakers to enable them to make their own mind on this brand.
22 comments21 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
Just saw a kennel club booklet and found out that certain characteristics of our dogs behaviour and health may be related to food allergies, eg pale soft poop, hyperactivity, repeated ear infections.
Bakers contains colours and sugar.
Changed to another famous brand. Bland looking, costs 20% extra, but the dogs love it. No longer hyperactive and clean-up is easier. Waiting to see if it cures the repeated ear infections.
Bakers fed the dogs - but it wasn't good for them.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
I use to buy this on a regular basis from amazon but it is now cheaper to buy it from many large superstores. this flavour was only £18 but all the other flavours are between £30 & £35 and you only get 14kg when it use to be 15kg
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
This food makes my dogs fat and constipated with foul smelling stools. Not for me I'm afraid as I can resist the urge to give them something they like especially when I am woken up by 1 whining bloated dog.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Real Meat Crafted Without Corn, Wheat Or Soy. Try It Today!
  -  
Feed Your Dogs Natural Choice® Dog Food & See The Real Difference!