Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She eats it!
It's the only dog food that agrees with her (and she agrees) and best of all she eats every bit of it
Published 12 months ago by MRS D S TRELING

versus
55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst dog food money can buy!
If you love your dog you won't feed them Bakers.
Just have a look at the ingredients and google them for yourself.
E102 - Tartrazine and E110 Sunset Yellow are strongly linked to hyperactivity and are banned in some countries. Sunset Yellow has been found to damage kidneys and adrenals when fed to laboratory rats. It has also been found to be carcinogenic when...
Published on 11 Oct 2012 by M. Molyneaux-Swann


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst dog food money can buy!, 11 Oct 2012
By 
M. Molyneaux-Swann (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you love your dog you won't feed them Bakers.
Just have a look at the ingredients and google them for yourself.
E102 - Tartrazine and E110 Sunset Yellow are strongly linked to hyperactivity and are banned in some countries. Sunset Yellow has been found to damage kidneys and adrenals when fed to laboratory rats. It has also been found to be carcinogenic when fed to animals
E320 - BHA or butylated hydroxyanisole is a known carcinogen that has also been linked with urticaria, angioedema and asthma, also banned in many countries.
E321 - BHT or butylated hydroxytoluene causes liver damage.
E310 - Propyl Gallate. Banned from children's foods in the US because it is thought to cause the blood disorder methemoglobinemia, linked to gastric disorders and skin irritation in animals.
E104 - Quinoline Yellow is one of the colours that the Hyperactive Children's Support Group recommends be eliminated from the diet of children. Banned in Australia, Japan, Norway and the United States it is also linked to the occurence of dermatitis.
E171 - Titanium Dioxide. Banned in Germany
E153 - Carbon black. Banned as a food additive in the United States of America. Suspected as a carcinogenic agent.
E490 - Propylene Glycol, linked to occurence on eczema, particularly in white dogs and bull-breeds.

Bakers isn't a dog food, it is a cynical and profitable dumping ground for additives deemed unfit for human consumption.
Your dog can't use google, it's up to you to make sure that he or she eats proper decent food.
Go and look these things up for yourself and please, please, please don't feed this horrible stuff to your best friend, your dog relies on your judgement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgusting food, 2 Sep 2013
By 
S. Kay "lochmaddier" (Western Isles, Scotland) - See all my reviews
With all the junk in this food, I don't know how it is even on the shelves for sale. If this were fed to kids on a daily basis there would be outrage, yet its OK to feed it to dogs?

Anyway, my experiences. I ran out of my usual dog food one day, the only thing my local shop had in stock was Bakers. It was this or not feed the dog, so I got her some. Well, never again, she would have been better off going hungry. She was absolutely bouncing off the walls (no wonder with 6 e-numbers per box), she had horrible nuclear coloured poo, and she was still hungry after eating.

Bakers number one ingredients are cereals and derivatives, and for the price especially, this is NOT aceeptable. You can buy foods like skinners with a higher meat content cheaper than you can buy Bakers, and no e-numbers either!

I would never ever touch Bakers again, it just stuns me that people do absolutely no research into what their dog is eating and feed this. It contains known carcinogenics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please don't feed your dog this rubbish!, 13 Jun 2013
By 
Rob L London (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
You would not eat junk food every day, why feed your dog it? Please don't buy this rubbish for your dog, you are doing them more harm than good. Read the ingredients, for the sake of your dog! Dogs don't need cereal or low quality grain, they need meat and high quality proteins. This food is junk and will give your dog a shorter, less healthy life. Have a look at websites that compare dog foods, google 'which dog food' for example. I cant say strongly enough, Bakers complete is utter rubbish, low quality ingredients, many of which are not even specified. You dog gulps this stuff up because it is loaded with extra fat and sugar. I feed my dog a BARF diet, but that not for everyone, but this junk should not be allowed to be on sale. Just because it looks good to you (which is what the marketing people have made it to look like) does not make it a good meal for your dog. Its cheap for a reason, you may indeed find that if you buy a more expensive, higher quality food, with a better nutritional content then this cr*p you need to feed less, as its more nutrient packed. Look at the cost per day, not the cost per kg of the food. The cost may end up the same.

Read the ingredients that go into your dogs food, a named meat should be the number 1 ingredient, preferability the number 2 and 3 too. 'Meat derivatives' basically could mean anything, and with Bakers, its not even the main ingredient, an unnamed 'cereal' is!

Your dog deserves better then this, surely?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this rubbish - full of nasty ingredients!, 29 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. P. S. Gale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bakers Complete with Tasty Chicken and Country Vegetables 14 kg (Misc.)
Don't be fooled by the marketing and text on the pack!

We fed our two border collies for their whole lives on this stuff - until I researched and read up on the ingredients - a list of E numbers that are banned in many countries + fats, oils, cereals and other fillers + meat derivatives of unknown origin.

Unfortunately we lost both Beth (year and a half ago) and Tom (3 weeks ago) to hemangiosarcoma (a very agressive malingnant cancer of blood vessel cells) at exactly the same age (11 1/2 years) which is pretty unusual in two unrelated dogs. Both our specialist surgeon and oncologist at the referral centre we had Tom treated at (splenectomy followed by chemotherapy for 4 months) said that we were very unlucky to have two dogs die of this at the same age.

Of course, it's impossible to say for certain what caused the cancer in them both but I have a horrible feeling that the list of E numbers in this food may have contributed, particularly as many have been proven to be carcinogenic and subsequently banned in human foods.

It's cheap and dogs love it due to the oils, fats and additives but I emplore you to do some research before buying this. We were completely devastated that our gorgeous dogs had their lives cut short by a horrible disease. I've now switched the food of our little 5 year old collie, Ellie to a good quality all natural food (Millies Wolfheart) and little Sam, our new puppy will be moving to that too in due course. A little more expensive but not by much. It really is worth feeding a good quality diet. Bakers certainly isn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dogs loved it I hate it, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This food makes my dogs fat and constipated with foul smelling stools. Not for me I'm afraid as I can resist the urge to give them something they like especially when I am woken up by 1 whining bloated dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars why is this double the price it use to be, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bakers Complete with Tasty Chicken and Country Vegetables 14 kg (Misc.)
I use to buy this on a regular basis from amazon but it is now cheaper to buy it from many large superstores. this flavour was only £18 but all the other flavours are between £30 & £35 and you only get 14kg when it use to be 15kg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ... research on dog food this is just about the worst food you could buy, 8 Aug 2014
This review is from: Bakers Complete with Tasty Chicken and Country Vegetables 14 kg (Misc.)
Please do your research on dog food this is just about the worst food you could buy. Yes its cheap and your dog might love it but That doesnt make it good for them. I may aswel go pick them up a mc Donald s and be done with it. Ignore what people say about this food Being good and do your research first .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy your dog this if you actually care about the whatsoever, 21 Jun 2013
Do not buy your dog this if you actually care about the whatsoever, It's possibly the worst quality food available on the market. For a start, you would have to feed DOUBLE this food compared to a suitable food. Never mind killing your dog with artificial preservatives and colours known to cause cancer. The main ingredient is 'cereals', which could be anything depending on what they decide to throw in that day, from rice to corn - the leading cause of food allergies in dogs. Esentially it consists of filler to bulk it out to make it look like more than it is, but you'll have to feed a lot more to get any nutritional value at all, and food colouring to make it appeal to the ignorant. If you feed this your either highly ignorant or you just don't care about your poor dog's health and wellbeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bakers Complete with Tasty Chicken and Country Vegetables 14 kg (Misc.)
The dog loved it, but so do kids love sweets.
Having looked into the ingredients of this product, I will never feed my dogs this commercialized rubbish again.
For a couple of pounds more there are far better foods available for your dog
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars total rubbish. we love our dogs....., 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bakers Complete with Tasty Chicken and Country Vegetables 14 kg (Misc.)
I am shocked still at the amount of people on here that still use Bakers. - and see no problems with it. Thought this might be of interest to some.

Quote:

Below is some info that is widely available on the web, please have a read and make your own judgement.

The law has recently changed and animal foodstuff manufacturers can no longer list 'permitted colours/additives' on products sold in quantities greater than 10 kilos.

Well, Bakers and the like can no longer say "permitted X Y Z", they now have to TELL us the crap they put in their food and, at last, I can now show it to the people who doubted it.

At the end of the day, dogs don't give two hoots if their food is bone shaped, heart shaped or brightly coloured; this is done as a marketing ploy for the buyers. As a responsible pet owner and rescue worker, I am not happy to feed dogs in my care THIRTEEN E numbers:

E320 - has been found to be tumour-producing when fed to rats. In human studies it has been linked with urticaria, angioedema and asthma

E321 - banned for use in food in Japan, Romania, Sweden, and Australia. The US has barred it from being ...used in infant foods. So bad McDonalds have voluntarily eliminated it from their products.

E310 - Banned from children's foods in the US because it is thought to cause the blood disorder methemoglobinemia

E172 - Banned in Germany

E132 - Can cause skin sensitivity, a rash similar to nettle rash, itching, nausea, high blood pressure and breathing problems. One of the colours that the Hyperactive Children's Support Group recommends be eliminated from the diet of children. Banned in Norway.

E102 - TARTRAZINE - A trial on 76 children diagnosed as hyperactive, showed that tartrazine provoked abnormal behaviour patterns in 79% of them

E110 - Sunset Yellow has been found to damage kidneys and adrenals when fed to laboratory rats. It has also been found to be carcinogenic when fed to animals

E104 - One of the colours that the Hyperactive Children's Support Group recommends be eliminated from the diet of children. Banned in Australia, Japan, Norway and the United States.

E171 - Banned in Germany

E153 - Banned as a food additive in the United States of America. Suspected as a carcinogenic agent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews