Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Rock n Roll!!
Never having heard the bootleg nor seen the TV show,i approach this 'New',you know what its excellent,a worthwhile release,yes the sound isnt perfect,how many live albums are?,still its a worthy 4 stars for this release.

Once the intro's over its top drawer Rainbow all the way,with a couple of Purple classics thrown in,sensibly 'Stargazer' is missing(only...
Published 15 months ago by Mr Blackwell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great potential, but ...
Let me first say that I'm a big fan of Blackmore and especially of his Rainbow days.
This is a live album from the last incarnation of the band, the one that released the "Stranger in us all" album, a quite good album indeed. What would I expect from a live album from this band? Its interpretation of the Rainbow classics plus some tracks from their new (then)...
Published 2 months ago by A. Vergotis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great potential, but ..., 15 Oct 2014
By 
A. Vergotis (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Masquerade (Audio CD)
Let me first say that I'm a big fan of Blackmore and especially of his Rainbow days.
This is a live album from the last incarnation of the band, the one that released the "Stranger in us all" album, a quite good album indeed. What would I expect from a live album from this band? Its interpretation of the Rainbow classics plus some tracks from their new (then) album. What do we have here? The "Stranger in us all" almost in its entirety, plus four and a half (one verse of "Since you've been gone") tracks from the Rainbow back catalogue, three Purple songs and one silly rendition of the traditional "Greensleeves". You can add to this, the introduction with Germany's national anthem (!!!), some boring keyboard and drum solos and some silly interventions to the songs.
It is a pitty, because there are some brilliant moments here, where the band is showing its true potential ("Temple of the king", "Perfect strangers", "Hunting humans", "Ariel"). With a better song selection and flow,we could have a really great live album.
That is not to say that I've regretted buying this, not at all. But it's more for having everything under the "Rainbow" logo and less for the music itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Rock n Roll!!, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Masquerade (Audio CD)
Never having heard the bootleg nor seen the TV show,i approach this 'New',you know what its excellent,a worthwhile release,yes the sound isnt perfect,how many live albums are?,still its a worthy 4 stars for this release.

Once the intro's over its top drawer Rainbow all the way,with a couple of Purple classics thrown in,sensibly 'Stargazer' is missing(only Ronnie for that one!),surprised they didnt throw in a 'Starstruck' or 'Run With The Wolf',still cant have everything.What we do get is expertly dealt with by Doogie White,the only singer ,after Dio,that could handle tracks from all era's,he puts in a superb performance here.

I've docked a star,as the sound isnt perfect as previously noted (and the little 'error' on Spotlight Kid' is a little irritating),Bass and Drums dont, really, standout as they should but we're here for the man in black,the legend that is Blackmore!,he never lets me down,his performance is a joy. Listen to the ferocious ripping solo on the likes of 'Spotlight Kid,the ad libs on 'Man on the Silver Mountain,enjoy the delicate, playful 'Temple of the King',I could go on and on,just buy it ,its a fantastic release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackmore's rock farewell, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Masquerade (Audio CD)
Great document of the last Rainbow tour (well, first part of it). Ritchie fires at full speed and Doogie White's voice is strong enough to hold a candle in old Rainbow and Deep Purple classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars three for the sound, 5 for the show, 30 Aug 2013
By 
R. M. Davies (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Masquerade (Audio CD)
Blackmore's final rock tour before his shift to more acoustic material with Blackmore's Night proves one of his best for several years. The set-list was cherry-picked from his entire Rainbow career, and when sprinkled liberally with Deep Purple classics proved highly entertaining. The shows were hugely popular, tasteful and full of astute dynamics courtesy of some emotive guitar playing from the man himself. The backing band on this tour also gained plaudits; principally the efforts of vocalist Doogie White, who covered the varying styles of his predecessors with competent and professional aplomb.
This show was taped by German TV so the pure audio sound, stripped of the visuals, leaves a little to be desired, but if you consider it more as a `superior bootleg' and you won't be disappointed! ( The DVD is also available) Highlights are `Temple of the King', `Hunting Humans' and `Ariel' (with future Mrs Blackmore Candice Night on backing vocals).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good recording, 13 Oct 2013
By 
R. Wilson (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Masquerade (Audio CD)
Needs a few listens but grows and grows, Ritchie as great as ever and Doogie Whites vocals have such a range and power for a live act that's hard to compete with by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rainbow, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Masquerade (Audio CD)
rainbow at there very best a must for any rainbow fan great live album must get the dvd as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy Garland Was Not In The Next Studio, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Masquerade (Audio CD)
This is a great release by a great line up of Rainbow. The above reviewer has got it all wrong.

This show is not from the bootleg at all. The reason you can hear a woman singing in the background during the intrumental section in the middle of Spotlight Kid has nothing at all to do with another radio station breaking in.

Anyone who has been to a Rainbow concert over the years will know that when the show finishes, a tape of Judy Garland singing "Somewhere Over The Rainbow" is played in full while the crowd are leaving. It is this outro tape that you can hear in the background during "Spotlight Kid" One of the sound engineers switched it on by mistake. If you listen carefully you can hear quite clearly that it is Judy Garland singing this song.

As this was a live recording it was recorded exactly how it was heard on the night, it can only have been recorded with this song in the background. It was there, it was part of the recording even if it was a mistake.

Anyone who is thinking of buying this should not be put off by this minor blip, this is a great album and Duggie White is a great singer. This is a great Rainbow line up and Blackmore is on fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Realistic Expectations Met, 2 Sep 2013
By 
milphogg (Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Masquerade (Audio CD)
In contrast to other (negative) reviewers I am happy with this CD release - I would rather listen to a band obviously on form (Blackmore close to,if not at,his best), playing a great set list, albeit with less than pristine sound (it's not that bad!) than have a sterile, remixed, cut/paste contractual obligation such as Purples Nobodys Perfect.

I'm just grateful that this performance is in the (legal) public domain at last.. .

One warning however - Whilst the DVD version is good, beware the strobe effects early in the set(Spotlight Kid in particular)- unwatchable in places!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Masquerade (Audio CD)
Classic Rainbow and Ritchie doing what he does best.
A fine live album featuring Doogie who is for me Rainbows 2nd best singer.
A must have for all Blackmore fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great listening, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Masquerade (Audio CD)
Real rock music played by the master of the electric guitar to show what a miss he is to the rock scene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Masquerade
Black Masquerade by Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews