Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cane's Model
Sutter Cane is a phenomenally best-selling horror writer with hundreds of millions of fans worldwide who, according to media tales, are so affected by his writing that some of them are beginning to descend into a kind of madness.

When Cane suddenly vanishes, just after the submission deadline for his next bestseller, an investigator is hired by the publisher to...
Published on 17 April 2012 by Green Man Music

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good effort at filming the unfilmable
Concept: An HP Lovecraftian 'Elder Gods' story of someone being driven insane by seeing the world as it really is.

What's good: The 'something's not quite right' sections are very good, and the samples of other Hobb's End storylines are all good stuff.

There's more intelligence here than the vast majority of horror films. The issue of what's reality...
Published on 2 Nov 2012 by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cane's Model, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sutter Cane is a phenomenally best-selling horror writer with hundreds of millions of fans worldwide who, according to media tales, are so affected by his writing that some of them are beginning to descend into a kind of madness.

When Cane suddenly vanishes, just after the submission deadline for his next bestseller, an investigator is hired by the publisher to find him and bring back Cane's completed manuscript for publication - millions of dollars' worth of sales are counting on it.

The investigator follows a hunch that Cane is living in the town referred to in his horror novels, and arrives there with one of the publisher's reps.

However after experiences in the town gradually get stranger and stranger, it appears that they have walked in to a Cane's final horror story - and with Cane having written them it, it is down to the twisted genius whether or not they - and indeed the rest of the world - survive.

A classic John Carpenter film that seems to pull some unusually good acting even out of the likes of Sam Neill and Charlton Heston, as well as its interesting premise this film has some genuinely creepy moments.

A homage to Lovecraft, as well as the blatant Lovecraftian hordes of chaos towards the end there are some nice touches - the hotel receptionist being called Mrs Pickman for example, a reference to Lovecraft's Pickman's Model, a similar tale of a piece of art becoming reality.

Wonderful, imaginative, full-on fantasy horror, with a typically Lovecraftian ending of futility and insanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SLOW DESCENT INTO MADNESS, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Mouth of Madness [Blu-ray] [1994] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
THE MOVIE

I admit, I had my problems with this movie. IN THE MOUTH OF MADNESS starts out slow, REAL slow. Many Carpenter movies do, but this one particularly, and I must say the movie lost me between Sam Neill's character being hired by Charlton Heston's character to investigate the disappearance of a famous author and the car ride to Hobb's End.
There however the story begins to unfold brilliantly. John Trent's gradual descent into madness is well executed and believable. The boundary between reality and fiction begins to fade and once the end credits roll you are left with a very satisfying movie experience that will occupy your mind for a while after.
The direction is good, some scenes could have been paced better, especially in the first third of the movie, but overall a job well done.
The star ensemble do a fine job as well: Sam Neill, Jurgen Prochnow, David Warner, Julie Carmen and Charlton Heston.
If you are a fan of the works of H. P. Lovecraft, you will very much appreciate screenwriter Michael De Luca's references to Lovecraft's works throughout the film.
Not a brilliant movie and not Carpenter's best work, but a very well done psychological thriller nontheless.

RATING: 7 / 10

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2013 New Line/Warner Bros. US Blu-ray
Feature running time: 95 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.39:1 / 16:9
Audio: English DTS HD 5.1, French (Canada) 2.0, German 2.0, Italian 2.0, Spanish (Castellano) 2.0, Spanish (Latino) 1.0
Subtitles: English HoH, French, German HoH, Italian HoH, Spanish (Castellano), Spanish (Latino)
Chapters: 28
Extras: Commentary, Theatrical Trailer
Region: A, B, C (region free)

Picture quality: A-
Audio quality: A-
Extras: D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mouth of Madness, 22 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember seeing this film on BBC2 years ago when I was a little kid and I've always wanted to see it again but could never find it anywhere. I have no idea why it isn't in production in the U.K but I'm glad I was able to get hold of this all region DVD, it works no problem. It arrived within two days of placing the order.

The plot centres around Sam Neill who is an insurance investigator, he is sent by a publishing company to track down their biggest selling horror writer who has gone missing. He tracks him to a small town called Hobbs End and ... well I dont want to give it away, lets just say that it gets interesting.

It scared the hell out of me when I was a kid and it did a pretty good job of it now I'm an adult. Ha. It has some great moments of creepiness while they're driving and its got plenty of the Carpenter gore that we all love. All in all 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this not available on DVD?, 28 April 2009
In my opinion, this is by far John Carpenter's best film. Certainly his cleverest, wittiest, and downright enjoyable. Paying homage to both H P Lovecraft and Stephen King, it's a film where you can never predict what's going to happen, full of weird goings on, and lots of creepy, slimy monsters in dark places and people going mad. Sam Neill is excellent in the lead role, I think this is one of his best performances, and the mind-bending plot where you never know what's reality really gets under your skin. This is such an underrated film and I can't praise it enough. It's one of those films that gets inside your head and refuses to leave. I love nearly all of John Carpenter's movies, but this is by far his best, and the fact that it isn't even available in the UK on DVD is a crime. Worth buying on VHS, it's that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Flawed Masterpiece, 30 Jan 2010
By 
G. Meldrum (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
`In The Mouth of Madness' is probably Carpenter's last great film, but it's definitely not an unqualified success: uneven and inconsistent, it is saved by some wonderfully atmospheric sections that make up for the weaker elements in the movie.

Sam Neill is John Trent, a fraud investigator sent to investigate the disappearance of Stephen King-a-like Sutter Cane (Jurgen Prochnow), a man whose horror novels are having a disquieting effect on the psyche of the world. Tracking him down to a town that shouldn't exist, Trent is plunged into a maelstrom of evil from which there may just be no escape.

First, the weaker points. The first half of the film is not fast-paced, but instead of a slow-burn build up of tension and menace, contains one or two fairly cheap shocks and hammy moments. The framing sequence with Neill in an asylum is probably the weakest part of the movie, hampered by Neill's inability to act convincingly insane or dangerous. He's much better as the urbane cynic he portrays for the bulk of the film, but even then I can't help feeling there must have been actors more suited to the role than him. In fact, the acting in general is not the film's strong point: Carpenter refers to this as the third part of an `Apocalypse' trilogy begat by `The Thing' and continued with `Prince of Darkness', but doesn't have access here to the compelling, intense cast of the former nor the endearing oddball players of the latter. Julie Carmen is fairly insipid as Neill's sidekick (though her character does get one of the best and most literally twisted scenes in the film) and Jurgen Prochnow is merely passable as the author who now does the bidding of Great Old Ones. (The exception is the always-wonderful David Warner, though he is rather underused, with a fairly minor part.)

But... at round about the halfway mark, the film starts to turn into something special. In fact, the exact moment is pretty easy to pinpoint. It's when Neill encounters his landlady in her `real' form that the movie kicks into high gear and really starts to become disturbing (in the best possible way.) Indeed, the sequence in which Neill flees the hotel while blasphemous abominations start to emerge is irresistibly reminiscent of what for me remains the most terrifying moment in Fulci's equally Lovecraftian `The Beyond': Lisa's flight from her own hotel and the appearance of shambling shadows at each of the windows. Neill's frantic and futile attempts to escape the fictitious town in which he is trapped becomes the stuff of explicitly Cthulhoid nightmare, culminating eventually in a sequence in which Neill is pursued by ungodly horrors (is that Shub-Niggurath?) just as unpleasant as any of the Thing's manifestations. And given that I regard `The Thing' as one of the greatest horror films of all time, that's high praise indeed.

The DVD itself is strong: the picture looks great and there's a Carpenter commentary, though maybe not his most enthralling. Overall though, this is definite must-have, despite its faults, though probably not the best starting point for a Carpenter virgin: it strikes me as very much a film for the Carpenter fan.

(And on a random note, I can't help but feel that video game `Condemned 2' owes this film rather a lot.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank the Spoony One!, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came across this movie as a result of a recommendation from Noah Antwiler, aka "The Spoony One". He was talking about John Carpenter movies and mentioned this one which I'd never come across before and described it as "The Best Lovecraftian Horror Movie ever made" and I have to admit it's hard to argue with that. John Carpenter has tried his hand at Lovecraftian horror before with his fantastic remake "The Thing", which in many ways is a loose adaptation of Lovecrafts "At the Mountains of Madness". So when he came to make this clear homage to Lovecraft you can see him use some of the same techniques. From the fantastic special effects, to the growing sence of paranoia, it's a movie that very quickly grips you into it's mad world. It also uses a fantastic "meta" narrative as it both sends up and praises the horror tropes of the past. A thoroughly fun film for anyone who enjoys John Carpenters sense of tongue in cheek horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good effort at filming the unfilmable, 2 Nov 2012
By 
Concept: An HP Lovecraftian 'Elder Gods' story of someone being driven insane by seeing the world as it really is.

What's good: The 'something's not quite right' sections are very good, and the samples of other Hobb's End storylines are all good stuff.

There's more intelligence here than the vast majority of horror films. The issue of what's reality and what's in Neill's head is left nicely open: 'Reality isn't what it used to be!'

What's not so good: The reveal isn't as good as the build up. Other films have this problem too, of course. By far the best bits of the Kubrick version of The Shining are the shots of the boy cycling around the hotel: you know something horrible is going to happen, but not what or when. In contrast, Jack Nicholson finally going wild with an axe is amusing rather than frightening. Here, we're treated to some not terribly convincing wobbly tentacled beings which are supposed to send you insane just by looking at them. They don't.

The structure doesn't quite work. There's a fanedit that recomposes the film into a linear story, losing the occasional flashes of the other bits of the story, and it works much better that way.

The casting isn't quite right either. Neill does cynical investigator much better than madman, while Carmen is better asleep (or as a model head on an acrobat's body!) than awake. In contrast, Prochnow doesn't really get a chance to show his talent.

Overall: It's just a pity that it doesn't quite work. The 'it can't be true... but it is!' genre has produced some better films than this and similarly the twist has been done better too. Part of the problem is that no-one's done a good commercial 'Elder Gods' type film. The best effort is from the H.P. Lovecraft Historical Society, who were behind the 2005 b/w silent Call of Cthulhu, and no-one's going to spend $20m on making that.

This has a surprisingly high rating on IMDB.com, so clearly there are people who appreciate it more than I do. It is certainly striking and memorable, but I'd just like it to be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A homage to Lovecraft and some fine twists at the end, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For too many years the horror genre has been stuck in the doldrums and the formulaic trash that is spun out year after year - particularly the slasher films - are a cynical safe bet for producers who simply do the maths and churn out sequels and overused plots to make a calculated profit. In The Mouth Of Madness is refreshingly different and tells the tale of Sutter Cane, horror novelist whose books have a troubling effects on his readers. A homage to Lovecraft and some fine twists at the end, the movie is well-paced and on a higher level than some of the stuff Hollywood have distributed, nicely-packaged, from their old factory conveyor belt. Top marks for originality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good !!, 7 July 2014
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seller, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent picture, excellent film, and the original English language a doddle to find.
Thoroughly recommend the film and the seller....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Mouth of Madness [Blu-ray] [1994] [US Import]
In the Mouth of Madness [Blu-ray] [1994] [US Import] by John Carpenter (Blu-ray - 2013)
£14.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews