Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read
Kwani is the central character in this book set in 1270 AD in North America. She is cast out from her clan because of her blue eyes, probably inherited from a Viking ancestor.

We follow her journey, physically and spiritually as she becomes ‘She Who Remembers’.

The beginning seemed a little slow, probably the first couple of chapters,...
Published 12 months ago by Mrs. Sally P. Stackhouse

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She Who Remembers
A pleasant enough read,surprisingly well written, although more a book to while away a few hours on a journey or the beach than a great novel which you would want to savour & read over & over.
The heroine is, of course, beautiful & has "powers" (although they don't seem to do her much good). She hooks up with a remarkable number of men, but as much of the author's...
Published 12 months ago by Sekhem Ma'at


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars amazing story of the ancient (red) indians, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Who Remembers (Kindle Edition)
The descriptive writing took me right into the story immediately. I couldnt wait to get to the end and onto the next two books of the trilogy. Amazing amount of work delving into the history back to the 1400's and then weaving a story around it! In my mind I can see places still....and I believe they actually remain as ruins to today! Get all three!! You will need them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Who Remembers (Kindle Edition)
I was totally engrossed from the first chapter, the in-depth characters and descriptions of situations/surroundings filled my imagination - I could see what I was reading- such a rare talent for an author. Having read the series now, (took 3 very late nights!), I feel that Linda Lay Shuler has given part of her soul to give this beautiful, time immemorial lesson and wonderful journey a voice.

So rare to find a trilogy, which you can pick up exactly where the last book finished (each vol can be read as individual book, as prose/history so well interspersed), I was desperate to carry the story on & honestly think that there is a huge future for the characters still remaining & their children.

Please, if you read these reviews Dear Author, carry this story on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She Who Remembers, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Who Remembers (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. It gave insight into ancient history. There were many twists to this story and it kepy the reader enthralled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She Who Remembers, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Who Remembers (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, certainly learned a lot too, lots of history of the life of the Natives of that time. Now reading the second in the series. I hope there is a third book to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Read, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Who Remembers (Kindle Edition)
Different. Interesting, and a great story. I couldn't put the book down, and when I got to the end, couldn't wait to start book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars She Who Remembers (Kwani, Book 1) Review, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Who Remembers (Kindle Edition)
Good book, cannot put it down once started reading.
Reminds me of the series (Earth's Children) by Jean M Auel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She who remembers, 4 May 2014
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: She Who Remembers (Kindle Edition)
Kwani is a southwest-American girl whose father was blond with blue eyes, probably a Viking, and she has blue eyes. The story is entirely realistic about the bargains women had to make with men to get food and shelter.

When Kwani travels to a cliff dwelling town she sees how corn is grown to feed large numbers of people, the women doing the work of growing and grinding the corn, making pottery and baskets, while men hunt for a deer to add to the pot.

Kokopelli is a travelling musician whose flute is rumoured to bestow fertility. He is welcomed at all the settlements. When Kwani decides to go with him she is taking herself away from the jealous settled women and from some good friends.

At the time few books of prehistory were available and Jean M Auel called this the book of southwest America's prehistory. Of course it is only a part of the picture, and no great tribal movement is shown, but we do see fine depictions of the culture and people. I enjoyed this read and there are further books about Kwani's daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kwani books 1,2 &3, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Who Remembers (Kindle Edition)
If you read one you must read them all .Follow her life from childhood to old age . Live through the eyes of the pueblo Indians .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Who Remembers (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't sure when I started reading this book, however, it was quite a change from what I would normally read. I ended up enjoying it immensely. Now thinking of getting the 2nd book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love the life, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: She Who Remembers (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book going through early history. The book is set around know facts and a story of how it could have been is fascinating. Not quite Jean Auel who delves even deeper, but a most enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She Who Remembers
She Who Remembers by Linda Lay Shuler
£1.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews