Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
72
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change
Price:£10.75
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2015
This is one of my favourite books in the series, and as you can guess from the title, introduces a man called Oystein and his team of zom heads, otherwise known as Angels.

It introduces most of the major characters in the series, including Master Zhang, B's room mates and Doctor Oystein, who has brought his team of revitalized zombies together in the hope that they will be able to destroy the clown and hand the reins of power back to the living. Personally, I don't trust this man. I mean, his intentions sound good, but he never reveals much about his past and when B questions him on his surname, he brushes her off and changes the conversation. What is he hiding and why?

Never the less, he takes B under his wing and offers her protection in County Hall when she needs it the most. He is willing to help her change her ways and to become an 'Angel', and B can't help but accept his generous offer.

This book is slower than the others, but it gives us key information about the zombies and starts to delve briefly into Mr Dowling's intentions, though we only hear these from the mouth of Doctor Oystein.

I enjoyed learning more about the apocalypse, and I really liked Oystein as a character. He seems really nice, though I'm still a bit unsure about his intentions....B is beginning to develop into someone other than the rude, racist girl we first met in Zom-B. She is starting to see that she needs others just as much as they need her, no matter where they come from. A must read for any Darren Shan fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
'Zom-B Angels" ! Another GREAT read from Darren Shan.
Darren's gripping style and "F1" speed plot action keeps him at the forefront of writers in this popular genre of fantasy-fiction-horror writing!
This latest addition to the "Zom-B" series carries the line of the Undead into more new and uncertain futures. New characters emerge from the shadows of the Zom-B vaults - just who is this 'Ivor Bolton', the mysterious but cleverly-named keeper of the keys to the Zom-B vaults?! I'm sure that we shall be hearing lots more of him in future Zom-B writing!
Look out for Daren Shan's appearances on his reader tours! His performances are as great as his stories because he really CARES about his readers, and works hard to meet and please them. How many other authors do you know who do that? Jacqueline Wilson does her best! JKR ? No chance ! Check out the Darren Shan website for the programme of Darren's appearances.
Zom-B Angels! Another GREAT Darren Shan read at a great Amazon price!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Was waiting ages for this release and it didn't disappoint. As an adult I consume them in a day and it was nice to see Becky finally united with her own kind and forced to interact with others and learn about the greater plan. Shows glimpses but doesn't reveal all about where this will end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
its just epic. theres no real emotion to describe it, darren shan is just a GOD.
awesome
didn't want it to end
the best book series eva...

(This is my son's review as this book was bought for him)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
I'd recommend this to all Shan fans (after reading the first books of this series of course)
There isn't much action in the book but still a very good read and I like how some old characters have been reintroduced
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
I love this series, which I'm told will run to 12 books. Keep 'em coming Mr Shan.
The plot is developing most finely and the various characters are starting to
come into their own. The 'baddies' are still very much in the background but
are hovering just around the corner...planning and waiting. Can't wait for the
next installment. Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
This books is a must for all fans of Darren Shan and anything to do with Zombie Apocalypses. It is the 4th book in the Zom-B series and continues the journey of Becky Smith, where she meets the Angels - a reformed group of revitalised zom heads who are working and fighting together to stop Mr Dowling and his antics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
The next great instalment of the series, completely lives up to those before it. Can't wait for the next one to be released.
Would recommend to any Darren Shan lovers like myself, anyone that loves zombie stories, or even anyone that enjoys a series with a few interesting twists.

Great prices available too, no reason not to buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Darren Shan, successful children's horror author, has just released Zom-B: Angels, part four of his 12 part zombie series for kids (and discerning adults). The time for avoiding spoilers is over, so beware! Here they come.
In the first novel, we met young B, who at he end of the novel has been turned into a zombie and we learn that she is a girl, which comes as a surprise given the way in which it was written.

In Zom-B Underground, we read about the teenager's first encounter with the strange Mr Dowling. At the beginning B is trapped in an underground military facility, part of a series of experiments on the zombies. But B is not like your normal everyday zombie, because B Smith can think and feel and reason. She is a complex character, reminiscent of the likes if Danny McCoyne from David Moody's Hater series; flawed, yet likeable. At the beginning of Zom-B: City, B has escaped the underground bunker but will only survive the city if she can find human brains, and she can only retain her thoughts and humanity if she feeds on these brains. The cruncher is however, that B has a finite time limit on her continued existence. No matter how many brains she consumes, B will die within 18 months. So, B decides to use her time wisely. She is searching the city for a government presence, looking for scientists who can use her blood to find a cure. But along the way, she has to survive against all odds.

The end in particular, like its two predecessors, ends with a cliff-hanger. The great thing about this series is that the books are released frequently enough so the reader doesn't lose track of what's happening, the price is affordable, and if you do forget what happened in the previous books, Shan provides a two page summary reminder titled 'Then'.

As with every installment so far in the Zom-B series, City, the 3rd book in this engaging 12 book series ended with a climax. And as with all the other books, if you don't want to read all the other books (though I suggest you do) there is no need to read the preceeding books. Shan gives a short, snappy summary of what has happened before at the start of each installment under the section entitled 'Them' .

In the abandoned building B flees to she meets Dr Oystein, a coherent adult zombie like herself; with thoughts, memories and freewill. Dr Oystein has been expecting B and knows her real name. She isn't the first to arrive at the County Hall refuge centre and the doctor calls the zom-heads Angels. The future saviours of humanity - revitaliseds. From the doctor, B discovers some of the things she was told underground were all lies, such as her limited lifespan. On her arrival B is put inside the 'Groove Tube' for a number of weeks, which is a formula that heals her injuries - a synthetic substance to stimulate the recuperative effects of eating brains.
Their greatest enemy and threat is not the humans, but Mr Dowling, the evil 'clown'.
There is a particular piece of art work on p.34, which is splendid and will leave the reader 'hungry' for more. Shan absolutely nails the narrative tone, presenting a confused yet slightly egotistical and brave teenager, who has to adapt to shocking news at every turn.
Through an Arab character, Shan manages to educate his young reader about Arab Christians and the Crusades without it coming across as a lecture.
In short, this is an intelligent, thoughtful, funny and adventurous book; a must read for any zombie fans out there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
This book moves away from the grounding the first book had, and even for horror fiction moves into the absurd. If you're looking for a classic zombie series this isn't it, but can be enjoyable to some
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)