Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Return To Their Original Sound
'Tales of Us' is the sixth studio album from the seminal Goldfrapp.

Looking at the spread of reviews so far (not just on Amazon) it seems that this record has divided opinion and for a band that has expressed such eclecticism in their career this is not too much of a surprise. As a return to their original Felt Mountain sound fans of the more upbeat...
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Its good in parts but just dull in places too and the the tempo doesn't change much throughout the album
Published 6 months ago by Mr. P Branley-Cook


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Return To Their Original Sound, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tales Of Us (MP3 Download)
'Tales of Us' is the sixth studio album from the seminal Goldfrapp.

Looking at the spread of reviews so far (not just on Amazon) it seems that this record has divided opinion and for a band that has expressed such eclecticism in their career this is not too much of a surprise. As a return to their original Felt Mountain sound fans of the more upbeat euro-pop-synths (Head First) are ultimately left disappointed. This, in my opinion, is a great shame.

I have to admit my allegiance for now - I have always preferred the earlier works - this is the sound I seem to identify with much more. Rich textures of (sometimes cliché) arpeggiated guitar, sweeping synth and downtempo beats. A backing track that is reminiscent of the mystic escapism of Massive Attack draped in haunting poetic vocals.

Throughout this record there remains a folk undertone that mostly takes control of the lyrics and Alison Goldfrapp commands a brooding sincerity that acts as the backbone for the ambience. But the word ambience is perhaps too emotionally soft. Aside from a couple of less memorable tracks, the majority of the record is poised precariously in the more haunting side of chill. Icy, misty, foggy are words that come to mind. Evocatively cascading melodies print images of fairytale lands - the production in the English countryside bearing a clear influence on the production.

This is not a new concept album but Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory have returned to what they do best - whilst the record lacks a diversity in sound or pace it is entirely effective.

I finished this record with shivers. And a desire to tell a lot of people about it. To let people know that Goldfrapp are back.

Listen to: 'Alvar', 'Clay'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Late Night Tales, 9 Sep 2013
By 
Rough Diamond (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tales of Us (Audio CD)
Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory's sixth album is a huge stylistic leap away from their previous release, 'Head First'. Much less immediate than anything they've brought out since 'Felt Mountain', the subtle, seductive, understated 'Tales of Us' is nevertheless also possibly their most rounded and satisfying album to date.

Anyone expecting the poptastic sparkle of 'Head First' or the crunching Eurobeats of 'Supernature' will be bored to death. These are slow, reflective, late-night songs, whose sonic landscape is dominated by acoustic guitar, piano and lush, symphonic strings. Will Gregory's electronica is buried deep in the mix, contributing mainly at the level of texture and atmosphere. The producion is warm and velvety, but still with an edge of dark, slightly pervy menace. Alison Goldfrapp's smouldering vocals are a breathy delight, dripping with deep honey, and still capable of running an icy finger down your spine when she hits the higher registers.

So, the album sounds great, but what's probably most impressive about 'Tales of Us' is the lyrical sophistication of the songwriting, which is a quantum leap ahead of anything in Goldfrapp's earlier canon. The songs operate as oblique, crepuscular character sketches of broken, damaged demi-mondaine men and women. Across the span of the album they cohere together into the aural equivalent of some kind of a Euro film-noir - an impression further reinforced by the cinematic sweep of the music. It's an album that unfolds slowly, and which demands patience and close attention, but which won't let go once it has you in its sinister grip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Felt Mountain to a Velvet Mountain, 3 Sep 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tales of Us (Audio CD)
I start by confessing that I prefer Goldfrapp's more synth-based euro-pop music, when they sound like a cross between Pet Shop Boys and Kate Bush, rather than their more introspective, slower paced, acoustic guitar based music. Their album Head First is perhaps the prime example of their more boppy, joy-filled, up-tempo music, whilst this album harks back to the far more atmospheric and haunting Felt Mountain (a seminal album which I have always loved). Unfortunately, I hated this album when I first heard it, and initially I didn't go back to it. However, I then saw Goldfapp at the Hexagon Theatre in Reading earlier this year. The first half of the show was exclusively strings and acoustic guitar based songs, including several tracks taken from this album. The stage was then plunged into darkness and silence for a couple of minutes. There was then suddenly an explosion of light and colour, and the second half of the show was the more rousing pop canon of this band. Given that I'm a long time admirer of Goldfrapp, the concert encouraged me to go back to Tales of Us and persevere with it. I'm glad that I did, because this album is what one would call a grower, like, for example, Never For Ever by Kate Bush. These songs are tales of love affairs, with luscious strings and beautiful acoustic guitar riffs, with the occasional hint of electronica in the background, in a style reminiscent of Felt Mountain. Alison Goldfrapp's vocals are, as always, seductive, pleading, mysterious and magnificent. Nobody sounds quite like her, which I think puts her right up there with the likes of David Bowie and Kate Bush, or at another level, perhaps Marc Almond, i.e. her voice is so distinctive and unmistakeable, so quirky and full of feeling, that if you love her music, you really love her music, and if you don't, you really don't. She's a torch song singer, who can sing whisper quiet and move you to tears, or hit the high notes until your speakers might explode. She has a deftness of touch with her voice which I never tire of hearing, and all I know is that her voice moves me, in a way that a singer like Kate Bush or Paddy McAloon or Marc Almond can move me. When she hits certain notes, it's almost as if you can feel a change in the flow of the blood rushing through your body. Suffice it to say, this album is a work of beauty, far from instantly accessible, but stick with it and it will burrow its way deep inside your thoughts and feelings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of Us on vinyl, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Us [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It arrived earlier than expected (just before Christmas) and included a cd in addition to the vinyl album which was an added bonus. Great album full of haunting but sweet melodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great piece from Goldfrapp, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Us (Audio CD)
My husband loves Goldfrapp - took me to see her at Leamington Spa a couple of years ago - she is pretty marvellous. This album takes on a slightly different turn from her disco stuff and it works really well. Would love to see her again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, inspiring, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Us (Audio CD)
I fell in love with Goldfrapp's music about nine years ago and I love each and every album the band have produced. Tales of Us is very much a contender for the very best. I have listened endlessly to the album over the past week and I find the beauty of the music and lyrics absolutely stunning. All of the tracks offer something special and Alison and Will have obviously crafted this album with great care, love and attention. Never stop making great music Goldfrapp, my life just wouldn't be the same without your wonderful, inspiring music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intoxicating mood piece from the eclectic duo......, 9 Sep 2013
By 
TCH (Cambs, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tales of Us (Audio CD)
An outfit as schizophrenic as Goldfrapp are always going to divide opinion and sure enough those who liked the execrable Head First (which Alison Goldfrapp has gone on record as saying she dislikes) thoroughly object to the mature & low-key tone of this latest opus. Well as far as I am concerned they can eat bingo since this is a superb piece of work and is finally the album hinted at on 2008's "Seventh Tree". Alison sings beautifully with an ethereal undertow which occasionally brings to mind her work on Goldfrapp's classic debut, "Felt Mountain". The backing in the main consists of lush strings and acoustic guitar with the sole exception of "Thea" which lays down some fairly strident beats but nevertheless STILL manages to sound otherworldly! Be aware that this is not pop music, it is mood music but without the dodgy new-age connotations that might bring to mind. Alison is now into her forties I reckon she sounds much more comfortable singing this music which frankly is more appropriate to her age rather than trying to self-consciously sing over something more suitable for someone 15-25 years younger as she attempted to do on Head First with less than stellar results.

Rather than a collection of individual tracks the album works by slow osmosis until you are thoroughly intoxicated by the whole rather the sum of the individual parts (very rare in this iTunes age) and that is part of its overall strength. I hope after the misstep of Head First and perhaps Alison's realisation that going back to the disco is probably not what she or a large portion of her original fanbase (who'll also be in their mid-late 30's/ early 40's) would want that she'll continue in this atmospheric and introspective vein whilst continuing to evolve in the patented Goldfrapp fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning return to form, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Us (Audio CD)
Cinematic is an over-used term, but it applies to Goldfrapp because their hinterland is so full with references from film, art and literature that it creates light as subtle as dawn or dusk over their songs, and never more beautifully realised than on Tales of Us.

From the first taster it was obvious this was going to be something of a landmark - all the elements from Felt Mountain which make Goldfrapp special (a flawless knowledge of musicianship as opposed to pop tunes) distilled for an immediate escape into something mesmeric and beautiful. Anyone who's ever felt the hairs on their neck prickle at a score by Ennio Morricone or John Barry - to name just the obvious - cannot fail to be grateful for this album. There's no meandering - the songs are as consistent as a beautifully shot film yet driven with inspired hooks and melodies that flash and surprise and get caught in your mind.

It's also utterly contemporary - sparse, dark and intoxicating. `Thea' drives through the quieter waters with deep, dark rhythms... I don't mean to reference Kate Bush musically, but if you imagine the impact of something like The Ninth Wave in one sitting, you'll get an idea of how Tales of Us casts its spell. Just remember it's not pop - it's timeless and shining and masterful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb revisit of their first album., 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales of Us (Audio CD)
One of my favourite albums for this genre and this is as good as their first album. I hope they do more good stuff like this. They use different sounds and styles from different eras of the last few decades. Perfectly arranged, finely crafted songs. It is sensual, romantic, and beautifully melancholic. I think it is top class music for people with taste and musical inclination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldfrapp at their best., 9 Sep 2013
By 
Steven Burns (Middlesbrough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tales of Us (Audio CD)
Tales Of Us is where I think Goldfrapp are at their best.

Those reviewing the album by saying it's pretty much a copy of Felt Mountain are, perhaps, slightly lazy reviewers. Yes, the tone and style of the album is toned down and has a similar feel but apart from Laurel, which borrows the most from Felt Mountain, the album has clear vocals and less obvious signs of distorted, electronic music.

Yes, the album is reminiscent of Felt Mountain and Seventh Tree in style and tone, but Tales Of Us is more like an acoustic (for want of a better word) album with strings and the occasional drumming. You will probably like this album more if you are a fan of those two albums. You're not going to find dancey club hits on Tale Of Us.

There's very little of the camp-electro you find on Black Cherry, Supernature or Head First on this album (Thea comes closest; a song which wouldn't be out of place in the Head First era). Although they do their electro stuff really well I am glad they have opted for a simple, stripped down album with Tales Of Us.

Highlights of the album for me are Alvar and Clay, the latter being the best they have made in a long time. I think you'd need to listen to the full thing a few times to capture how great this album is. It's one of those albums which takes time to click (especially if you favour the likes of Oh La La and Strict Machine)

The album sounds like it was made for Goldfrapp and their fans rather than a record made to please their record label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of Us
Tales of Us by Goldfrapp (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews