Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THEN PLAY ON - JUST AS IT SHOULD BE...
For this particular music buff, this new edition of Fleetwood Mac's expansive 1969 album THEN PLAY ON is quite possibly the key reissue of 2013. Having had to put up with that awful butchered version for all these years and thinking that the genuine UK version of the record would never come out on CD, I gave up the ghost and some months ago forked out some fifty quid on...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. L. F. G. Ballinger

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Well, maybe they'll get it right next time....
First off, why do Amazon still persist on lumping all the reviews for a particular album together? The older reviews for this album pertain to the original CD release of Then Play On not the new 2013 CD issue. Just makes it more confusing for the casual fan who may be trying to find out about a particular version!

Anyway, rant over (almost!). I've been waiting...
Published 14 months ago by Stratpack


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, Mac before they became a West coast ..., 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Extended Edition) (Audio CD)
Brilliant album,Mac before they became a West coast band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece and a huge turning point in the mac's career!, 29 Sep 2011
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Audio CD)
this is the first of the truly great fleetwood mac albums in my opinion. up until this time, they had functioned mainly as a blues band but certainly one of the greatest in the history of british blues music.
then after the release and unexpected success of "albatross" at the end of 1968, it was to become a different situation for all concerned.
on this, their breakthrough album as far as american sales were concerned, i regard peter green's compositions as being amongst the most original and talented in his song-writing career. classics like "rattlesnake shake," "underway," closing my eyes," "before the beginning" and "oh well" have all stood the test of time and they sound just as fresh as they did back in 1969 when this album was recorded.
for his part, danny kirwan has contributed well as the opening song, "coming your way" clearly demonstrates. i love that opening guitar riff that kicks off the whole number, a bluesy sound but with the added ingredient of rock thrown in.
that sums up the style of this entire album and the style that fleetwood mac would adapt whilst peter green was still part of the line up. all songs on here have much more of a rockier sound but still maintaining a blues feel at the same time.
it seems to me that fans are slightly divided over which part of "oh well" they prefer, the first part or the second one. personally, i love both just as much but the song does consist of two completely different styles of music and also the tempo is vastly changed when the second half of the song begins.
i rate "underway" as being one of my all-time favourite fleetwood mac songs as the guitar arrangements and riffs have been woven together marvellously well. it is also quite a touching number.
"before the beginning" sounds quite a haunting tune as peter green describes via his lyrics, his inner turmoil about his feelings for this woman in the song and that he wishes to find somewhere so that he can sing his songs. a great number but maybe this possibly coincided with how peter green was beginning to feel in his own life at this point? to me, "before the beginning" has shades of "man of the world."
i hope that in the not too distant future, that "then play on" receives the deluxe treatment as it is surely an album that deserves such an honour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The long lost CD, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Extended Edition) (Audio CD)
Having sold me LP version many years ago I bought the CD version. Unfortunately it did not have the original tracks on it. This one does. For FM fans this is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars danny kirwan's stellar debut even without 14 other of his wonders, 22 Feb 2014
By 
James S. Prichard "texan" (houston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Then Play On (Extended Edition) (Audio CD)
this great disk has nearly nothing by jeremy spencer, and his solo 1970 disk could have been an interesting addition to the deluxe addition. but it is inexcusable that it lacks 14 brilliant danny kirwan songs from the time he joined to this release . exactly the same time frame of 1968-1969, so it is unforgivable of fleetwood mac, management, and the record company . meanwhile, unlike his fabulous hybrid blues songs here on ''then play on''( ''when you say'', ''although the sun is shining'', ''like crying'', ''coming your way''), the missing songs are mostly blues greats , but with a superlative buddy holly song (''when i see'', better than anything i have ever heard by holly) , and a gorgeous tribute to peter (''farewell", fit for a king ), a stellar cover of j. roger's ''worlds in a tangle'' (lovely anti -communist war song), and another 40's style gem called ''tell me from the start''. his superlative blues songs are ''only you'' ( not lionel ritchey's song of the same name), ''like it this way'' ( here is the #1 song of dueling guitars ever and it is , guess , yes, it is danny kirwan's .), ''something inside of me'', ''talk with you'', ''mind of my own'', ''blues with a feeling'', ''early morning comes'' , ''loving kind'', '' jigsaw puzzle blues'', and ''love it seems ''( this one is so wonderful i could listen thousands of times ) . ''jigsaw puzzle blues'' is the b-side of ''albatross'' . since peter said ( about 10 years ago) that there would not have been a #1 hit ''albatross" without danny , i expect that danny should be credited from now on. ''without you'' is back again on this release( it is the best blues song from texas to the end of the universe and back). , ''one sunny day'' has returned too.. all of these missing songs but the j. roger's cover are kirwan originals, all feature his words ,his voice , his guitars, and at 18 years comprise a staggeringly magnificent and exquisite debut , but those songs are not here. peter wrote his first songs witha cg adams, or clifford davis . in any event peter's reputation rests more on his guitar skills, than his songs, and i am just letting people know that peter did need help with lyrics and music. i wrote earlier that danny's songs are superlative. they are superlative compared to all i have heard from lightning hopkins to hubert sumlin to albert king, or buddy guy , or peter green. kirwan's blues songs are to me great blues songs and they are the bulk of what blues i listen to. whenever i made playlists on cassettes in the past i always added peter's ''albatross'' and ''underway'' to a mix of only danny kirwan's songs. same goes for today , now burning cds, so it is comforting to know all these years later that peter credited danny on ''underway'', his second most wonderful song. interestingly , with ''albatross'' they are peter's 2 greatest songs . danny' s ''my dream'' is another super instrumental . meanwhile ''green manalishi'' and ''man of the world'' are peter's last songs with fleetwood mac. one is an Lsd song( manalishi) , and the other is his best song without danny , as his best songs we now know included some help by danny. he has one more song with danny ; danny gave him a completed ''world in harmony '' , and asked peter to put a solo on it . peter is credited. i wish danny had added his own solo, though . i think there is a kirwan only version that is better. imo , peter went on to create, but nothing remarkable . danny continued to create a sublime magical world of my favorite beautiful songs, maybe 18 more with fleetwood mac, and then 32 + as a solo artist. also, danny plays the lead on ''oh well part 1'', peter's song. moving on, imo danny could have dominated blues and country /western ('' i can tell'' is cool and confident as in ''coming your way'' ) or led the way for a western film style / cowboy music , which is i believe preferable to c/w . peter called danny 'ragtime cowboy joe' . danny's later pastoral songs are pure bliss and timeless( they do not grow old) . finally, it seems to me that coupled with guilt and drugs peter realized that danny was not just a 'wunderkind ' beyond peter's capabilities, but that danny could eclipse everyone in modern music if he wanted to. so peter left . in my world , my little world i have and hold and love danny kirwan , and always welcome him, couldn't ever leave him . he didn't want to eclipse everyone in modern music, but i think that he did. and then he left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last of Peter Green before he surrendered to his demons., 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Audio CD)
The finest live gig I have ever experienced was Flettwood Mac at Leeds University in 1969. Peter Green was a soulful guitarist and fine songwriter and then he disappeared into mental illness. This is the last of his work with his band and it is tinged with restraint and sadness. "Showbiz Blues" and "Rattlesnake Shake" are his last great performances on record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. P. H. Jones "Plymouth2" (Melton Mowbray Leics) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Then Play On (Audio CD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Extended Edition) (Audio CD)
Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars purchase of cd, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Extended Edition) (Audio CD)
item as promised delivered fast well packaged and good price would check sellers site for more music items again thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Replaced my vinyl copy., 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Audio CD)
I have this album on vinyl but I do not currently own a record deck so I decided that despite some reviews saying that the CD version was poor quality I had to have it for mainly for the wonderful song "Closing My Eyes." If you listen to this and "Man Of The World" you can hear the despair in Peter Green's lyrics obviously showing his mental state at the time. The opening track " Going My Way" is brilliant as of course is "Oh Well." There is some great Blues guitar as well but the rest of the album is not great. Worth having just for those three track though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greeny, 13 May 2010
By 
Roger E. Long "ROLO46" (Stroud,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Then Play On (Audio CD)
The original UK Tri - Coloured Steamboat LP is what we want.
However this will do.
Its quite sublime
I can hear Hank B Marvin all over it.
But Greeny is magnificent....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Then Play On (Extended Edition)
Then Play On (Extended Edition) by Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews