Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THEN PLAY ON - JUST AS IT SHOULD BE...
For this particular music buff, this new edition of Fleetwood Mac's expansive 1969 album THEN PLAY ON is quite possibly the key reissue of 2013. Having had to put up with that awful butchered version for all these years and thinking that the genuine UK version of the record would never come out on CD, I gave up the ghost and some months ago forked out some fifty quid on...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. L. F. G. Ballinger

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Well, maybe they'll get it right next time....
First off, why do Amazon still persist on lumping all the reviews for a particular album together? The older reviews for this album pertain to the original CD release of Then Play On not the new 2013 CD issue. Just makes it more confusing for the casual fan who may be trying to find out about a particular version!

Anyway, rant over (almost!). I've been waiting...
Published 10 months ago by Stratpack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Extended Edition) (Audio CD)
AI must have album one of the best bands still sound fresh after all these years if you are a fan buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Then play on, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Extended Edition) (Audio CD)
An essential for the cd shelf - this has some great tracks and I certainly wouldn't want to be without it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine album improved., 7 Nov 2013
By 
P. L. Wightman (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Extended Edition) (Audio CD)
So glad to hear the whole album on CD plus the last 2 singles featuring Peter Green all in remastered clarity. I'm already playing it to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good reissue, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Extended Edition) (Audio CD)
I was pleased to have purchased this extended edition since it always adds much more than just the extra tracks ,plus the accompanying updated sleeve notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past., 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Audio CD)
Wanted a CD version of the very 1st album I ever bought. Now I can sing along in the car when I'm feeling nostalgic. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars although the production isnt great this is a underated classic easily on par with anything of its time, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Audio CD)
i chose this rating because this came fast and was packaged well
i liked the album itself and how fast it came. i disliked the production, it should get a remastered deluxe edition.
i would reccomend this album to anyone into late 60s rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remaster?, 19 Aug 2013
This review is from: Then Play On (Extended Edition) (Audio CD)
Just bought the 2013 version of this classic. It is great to have all the songs, including the rare ones, in one place finally. However, I wonder about the "remaster". This one sounds almost identical or at least very close to the previous release. My guess is that this was not mastered from the original analog tapes. Normally, "remastered from the original analog tapes" is clearly stated in the CD notes and in the record company publicity. In this case, there is only the words "Mastered by...". Therefore I am guessing it was mastered from a digital source or a copy of original tapes. This of course, if I am correct, is a big disappointment... Hello Rhino, can you please shed light on this? Then the next question: what about Kiln House, Future Games and Bare Trees? What was the mastering source for the LPs in the box set? Sigh and alas...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Then Play On, 17 Jun 2009
By 
J. Sneddon "taddy" (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Then Play On (Audio CD)
This C.D. is in my mind, can only be descibed as one of Fleetwood Mac's best. A must to listen to, more so with the great sound of Peter Green,my fav trak has to be "Oh Well" just a pity it's not played more on the radio in it's full. You have to listen to this C.D. it's a must for YOU!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed thoughts, 20 Aug 2011
This review is from: Then Play On (Audio CD)
I brought this CD for the classic track 'Rattlesnake Shake' and 'Oh Well' and based on other reviews describing this as the best early Fleetwood Mac album.

There are some great solid tracks such as My Dream & Coming Your Way and some real clunkers such as Searching For Madge & Fighting For Madge amongst others really don't do the band justice.

There are some brilliant moments that show the incredible musicianship the band had but the production values do let this down in my opinion. The 4 track sound doesn't do this band justice especially the sound on Rattlesnake Shake compare to the 'Live In Boston' Live CD absolutely kills this by sheer brilliance in sound and performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece and a huge turning point in the mac's career!, 29 Sep 2011
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Play On (Audio CD)
this is the first of the truly great fleetwood mac albums in my opinion. up until this time, they had functioned mainly as a blues band but certainly one of the greatest in the history of british blues music.
then after the release and unexpected success of "albatross" at the end of 1968, it was to become a different situation for all concerned.
on this, their breakthrough album as far as american sales were concerned, i regard peter green's compositions as being amongst the most original and talented in his song-writing career. classics like "rattlesnake shake," "underway," closing my eyes," "before the beginning" and "oh well" have all stood the test of time and they sound just as fresh as they did back in 1969 when this album was recorded.
for his part, danny kirwan has contributed well as the opening song, "coming your way" clearly demonstrates. i love that opening guitar riff that kicks off the whole number, a bluesy sound but with the added ingredient of rock thrown in.
that sums up the style of this entire album and the style that fleetwood mac would adapt whilst peter green was still part of the line up. all songs on here have much more of a rockier sound but still maintaining a blues feel at the same time.
it seems to me that fans are slightly divided over which part of "oh well" they prefer, the first part or the second one. personally, i love both just as much but the song does consist of two completely different styles of music and also the tempo is vastly changed when the second half of the song begins.
i rate "underway" as being one of my all-time favourite fleetwood mac songs as the guitar arrangements and riffs have been woven together marvellously well. it is also quite a touching number.
"before the beginning" sounds quite a haunting tune as peter green describes via his lyrics, his inner turmoil about his feelings for this woman in the song and that he wishes to find somewhere so that he can sing his songs. a great number but maybe this possibly coincided with how peter green was beginning to feel in his own life at this point? to me, "before the beginning" has shades of "man of the world."
i hope that in the not too distant future, that "then play on" receives the deluxe treatment as it is surely an album that deserves such an honour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Then Play On (Extended Edition)
Then Play On (Extended Edition) by Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews